The ironies of steem-engine and hive-engine

in #hive4 years ago

- an under-rated consequence of the recent hardfork

Hello Hive!

Earlier today I wrote a post to publish to hive. It was about FUD - FUD in general and FUD in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and its second-order effects. It was also quite personal and I decided last-minute not to post it.

So anyway, I find it incredibly ironic that the steem-hive-steemit dramas have played out at the exact same time of the world-wide COVID-19 FUD.

I’d also been wondering for a few days about the steem-engine ecosystem and tribes with the move to hive. I hadn’t noticed anyone talking about it. Admittedly I haven’t been very engaged lately but steem-engine and tribes used to be all the rage with the cool kids on steem. I googled “steem-engine” “hive” and came across a post from @aggroed in which he outlined his plan for ‘hive-engine’. So my understanding of it is:

  • steem-engine will continue to exist as a side-chain on steem
  • hive-engine will launch soon but tokens from steem-engine will not carry across so we all start again at zero.

I was curious about tribes as well because I know tribes such as the City of Neoxian are up and running on hive. From the wording of this post it seems that posting via their dApp goes to hive but users still earn steem-engine-powered NEOXAG tokens (correct me if I’m wrong please). They also seemed uncertain about what was going on and probably had not read @aggroed’s post when they posted theirs.

I’ve since started unstaking all the steem-engine tokens I’d accumulated (also powering down SP - going to sell the liquid STEEM to diversify into hive to power up, BTC and one or two other alts). In the meantime I still plan to use s-e tags when posting on hive in the off-chance that I get s-e token rewards I can sell during the unstaking periods.

Again this is ironic because the establishment of hive as a hard-fork from the evil Sun-infested-steem blockchain was a triumph for the (ex-steem) community (see Vitalik Buterin on twitter!), yet tribes which became a cornerstone for communities on steem have been forced to start again on hive. Maybe hive just needs a settling-in period before the community overtakes #oldsteem and becomes better than steem ever was!!

Sort:  

Interesting times all round.

You're commenting on something I am also looking for an answer to @mrhill.

The SCOT tribes are Steem sidechains, and they have their own unique URLs, and some (like SteemLeo) went to considerable lengths to develop their own separate identities.

How does this work? Can the SCOT tribes choose which sidechain they attach to? Or are they stuck with Steem? And if they are, does it make any sense to have (for example) TWO CreativeCoin chains running?

Moreover, are my 13,000 CreativeCoin tokens — not that they are worth much — fungible? As in, they are the same thing, regardless of whether they were bought with Steem, or Hive. Or in my case, LTC.

Questions, questions...

=^..^=

You're commenting on something I am also looking for an answer to

Great minds think alike ay cat!

SCOT tribes can't work on Hive without a Hive sidechain.

That's why @aggroed is planning, and hopefully preparing a separate Hive-Engine and a sidechain to support it. Then the tribes will have the option to switch over and, yes, start anew. The tokens will not be the same. They can choose to do their own airdrop under their rules. Hive-engine can't and mustn't do the airdrop since it doesn't own any tokens.

My 0.02 tokens entirely :)

Thanks for clarification.