Day One: Introduction Post (again)

in #hive4 years ago

hiveselfie.jpg

Hello, my name is Nate.

Two years ago, I joined Steem.

Since then, my life has changed dramatically in so many amazing ways.

It's been a blast.

But this post isn't about Steem.

It's about Community, and what a passionate, dedicated community is capable of in the age of blockchain.

The last couple of days have been intense. People from all over the world collaborated in so many different ways to make this happen. It's absolutely mind-boggling.

For my small part, I did what I could to participate in aspects of branding, design, and marketing. It was a drop in the bucket compared to most. But I was honored to play my small part in such a historical event.

I saw sooooo many people sacrificing sleep and sanity to build the foundation for our new digital home.

Speaking of which, we had the daunting task of trying to have the Keychain browser extension ready in time for the launch today. From opposite sides of the world, @stoodkev and I partnered up via Slack to share graphics, layouts, specs, ideas, and concepts. @stoodkev went ULTIMATE BEASTMODE on it. I'm tellin' you. He was coding as fast as I could throw pixel dimensions and color values at him. He's absolutely amazing, and the HIVE community is lucky to have him.

It was 2 AM, and we were gettin' crap done.

A big thanks to him for helping to develop an important tool that makes all our lives easier. Not to mention @yabapmatt and @aggroed. Without them, Keychain would not even exist.

But here's the beautiful part. Nobody was treating this like "work" or a "job". Nobody was complaining about the challenges and tribulations of squeezing in massive amounts of effort into a tiny time frame.

It was go time. It was the last play at the end of the fourth quarter in the biggest game of the season. The community was united with one purpose.

We were one team.

Today, HIVE was born.

It's friggin' awesome.

Can't wait to see what comes next.

sig.png

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive :)) Exciting times ahead!

Oh, hello there, Mr. Nate...nice to see ya, friend. :)

Great introduction post :)

Looks like you know stuff!

Glad to see you join in too, Nate! And many thanks for all the hard work!