Happy Hive 5th Anniversary: How I leave and Come Back

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

This post is like a bastard in Westeros, was created under the influence of alcohol due to inattention. The drunken lord confused the buttons and, deciding to correct the situation, confused them again and again. First, the wrong community, then the crooked editing and voila, this ugliness appears and spoiling my sense of beauty.

My blog is not perfect for you, but it is perfect for me, so I can't leave everything as it is. Especially after the enchanting congratulations from @hivebuzz with my 5th anniversary. I just have to make something decent out of this pile of shit.

1619508593-орехи.jpeg
image.png
source

5 years is serious. Of course, I haven't been here all these 5 years as an active user. I will try to restore the chronology of events and tell you why I come back here every time.

August 2016 - February 2017

Oh, I remember where I was when I published my first post. At mom's house. I haven't been there for almost 4 years and decided to leave the metropolis for a couple of weeks. Moreover, a huge dark cloud appeared on the horizon of relationship with my wife. It was a difficult time. And publications allowed me to escape from sad thoughts.

Well, compared to hundreds of other intros, my intro "Why is not cool to be a space booster developer" was not exactly a success, it completely failed.

In fact, I was not as upset about the failure of the intro as I was about the failure of my second post: "A Comparison of Our Society with the "Mouse Paradise". I spent quite a lot of time creating it and still think that it is quite good. But my mother whispered to me, "Don't give up, sonny! Or, I'll kick your ass." So I continued...

I remember my first really successful post: Charles Bronson: Anarchy in British Prison, it took me almost a month to achieve the result here. I've never been able to repeat such a success again. However, this motivated me to continue writing.

At this stage I made it clear to myself that I'll write about what is interesting to me, and not about what may be potentially interesting to whales. That period was a real job for me here. I spent a lot of time studying various materials, because many articles were on scientific topics, and I'd to read a lot of sources. Approximately 15-25 publications for fact checking and creating high-quality material. Honestly, today I don't remember almost anything from what I studied, it's a bit insulting.

33333.png

In February, I stopped. Fucked up in family life. The darkest period in my life. My wife and I were thinking about getting a divorce. We didn't talk, we just lived as neighbors under the same roof. I decided to change my job so as not to go crazy, so that my brain would not continue to look for negativity in our relationship. I believed that we could still be saved, at least somehow, the main thing is not to let the physical distance appear between us.

May 2017-January 2018

In May, the sun came out from behind the clouds of the relationship. We overcame this terrible storm and I came back here.

Oooh, I remember it was a wonderful time here to build up your power. The activity of many users decreased, because steem cost something around $0.1-0.2, but there was also a second side of the coin: because of such a cost of steem, you received a huge amount of steem power.

I tried to publish almost every day, lost in quality. Then I finally returned to serious scientific articles, because I liked it. Tried to enter several thematic headings: the scientific picture of the day, #sciencepop with a selection of news from science, mythology and something else.

In June 2017, I sold steem coins for about 2.2 BTC at the rate of $2500 for 1 BTC :D

image.png

The money earned then helped me a lot. I think I wouldn't be where I am now without it (I repeat it to myself every day).
In January 2018, I got a serious promotion at work, it was time to build a career in real life. Damn it, I don't remember much about that time, project after project, I worked about 100 hours a week. Had only 1 day-off a month. And I even liked it.

I tried to return here in July 2018. But I was scared off by the changes in the form of buying votes, all these @minowbooster and stuff. I couldn't understand which content was paid for, and which received attention for the real quality. It wasn't much time to deal with this. It looked as if instead of the tree to which you came to ride on a swing, they suddenly installed an oil rig to pump out money.

The next time I remembered about Steemit almost a year later, in April 2019. It was like meeting an old acquaintance in a crowd and moving on. Echo of The Past: How The Small Internet Proved To Me That Steemit Is Alive.

My friend sent me a link to the article in a local internet magazine with an audience of 700k subscribers. It was my intro for Steemit, translated into Russian. It's funny, because initially I write my posts in Russian, and only then I translate them into English. These dudes once again translated my text into Russian.

Today

And I’m here, again. How and why, you can read here, a short "detective" story. And so, in fact, I spent about 17 months here as an active user. Published 194 posts and earned 2.2 btc and about $1000. I learned a lot of scientific facts and forgot them. Improved my English a little (I hope), and I installed photoshop on my laptop. I liked these 5 years, 5 years here and 5 years on the other side of the monitor.

2434343434.jpg

I have achieved a lot in my career, I have a wonderful wife, a son was born recently, priorities and paradigms of thinking are changing. I guess, I can safely say that I’m sincerely happy now. And for the first time I came back here with the opportunity to just be here and do what I like.

Thanks to everyone who is here, creators, witnesses, authors, ideological fans of the concept. I can't say that this place has radically changed my life, just as I can't say the opposite. It just runs like a thread through the last 5 years of my life. And it is joyful to know, that there is where to leave and where to return…

Sort:  

Congratulations @natord! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation