Happy Birthday, Hive Blockchain!

in #hive3 years ago

hive.png
Image credit: @quantumg

Wow, I can't believe it's already been a year since Hive's inception! I'm really glad I'm here, but I almost wasn't! Sorry, folks but no Hive origin story can be told without mentioning Steemit. That's where it all began. I don't even remember how I heard about it but I very much liked the idea of earning money while blogging. That's how I discovered crypto. I got pretty comfortable on that blockchain, until the hostile takeover.
When I learned Hive would be born of Steemit, I was considering not getting involved in "the new blockchain". At this point, however, I had a decent grasp on cryptocurrency and decentralization.

MG5aEqKFcQi6ksuzVh6JJptBJCL6eFwx2gvRnpcRhTRKgmTKc5WMfwE42A2MpNK8bxiVGCogjK45vUCbN21f8EqEN841sZ8PG.png
Image credit: @quantumg

I particularly remember one Steemian speaking his mind about the hard fork and saying something along the lines of, "So if you have your money in a bank and that bank splits in two, now you have double the money? This is stupid and sounds like a scam."
I wanted to go off and seriously school this ignorant dude. His logic was flawed because of course, blockchains are nothing like banks. In fact they couldn't be more different. This person obviously did not comprehend decentralization or hard forks and I don't think I could have won the argument, not even if I had cited famous examples like Bitcoin (BTC) and Bitcoin Cash (BCH).
Steemit had been starting to leave a bad taste in my mouth. The censorship, the ignorant, all the hate...
This was when my mind became made up on making the migration, with no hope of 'dual citizenship'.

MG5aEqKFcQi6ksuzVh6JJptBJCL6eFwx2gvRnpcRhTRKgmTKc5WMfwE38Gf5RnSPLv5dMoWEDY6ifTggyJxZBLtJ79HT4iwNv.jpeg

Look! I even went back and found a picture from my very first post on the Hive blockchain! Since I mostly post about plants, I made a screenshot of a little succulent I found on a remote desert world in the game No Man's Sky for PlayStation 4. I then edited on the the ShareFactory app to add the text and border. That seems like so long ago. We've all come a long way since then. My Hive Power has nearly doubled, I discovered the game eXode, Hive-Engine is now smart-contract enabled. There are too many milestones to name! I've met a lot of interesting people on this platform and I hope to meet more, perhaps in person someday too.
Here's to many more years on Hive! 🥂
Long live Hive!

Sort:  

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge