You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Hive have a Future? Perhaps ... but it will need an Alliance.

in #hive2 years ago

I dropped in on Thanksgiving to say Hi to some old friends and decided to publish a few posts while looking around to see if anything had changed. Earlier today I came across an admonition from "an authority figure" warning people against "buying or selling votes." Two years ago this same fellow was in my comment sections railing on about why bidbots couldn't, and shouldn't, be banned. So, the bidbots are gone ... but the BS remains.

This recent price spike has boosted confidence levels ... but I wonder if that's a good thing. Hive had, and has, structural problems, not least of which is its inability to be strategic. And, unfortunately, the motivation to address that which ails seems to directly coorelate with levels of euphoria/depression. I'm a big picture guy and do what I can to filter out the noise in search of a signal. Although I don't want to pre-judge, I'm struggling to see a path forward for Hive. Things are not as they were. As I wrote in my article, The Great Powers are forming and their marketing budgets (much of which are being directed at Hive's core business) are substantially more than Hive's entire market cap.

Anyway, I've sponsored a marketing contest to see if coelescing strategic initiatives is any easier now than before. I hope to be surprised.

BTW, are you still in touch with Jaynie? If so, say Hi to her for me. I miss you guys.

Quill

Sort:  

I think there will always be BS. It's one of the problems of decentralisation, free speech, etc. on which we have both opined before. I think that some of the bid bot peeps have seen the error of their ways and have changed their MO - they've seen the benefit.

The decentralisation is what will always hamper Hive as it moves forward as an entity and part of it is the schisms between the devs, the marketers, the gamers and the also rans. IMHO. As a total lay person (and also ran) in these matters.