Can anyone explain why steem is rising faster than hive?

in #hive3 years ago

Screen Shot 20201201 at 04.29.41.png

Please correct me if I am wrong but wasn't steem declared a centralised platform recently? Censorship & witness manipulation led to the mass exodus of users over to hive where we still have the freedom to vote in the witness we want and make posts on whatever subjects we like without any chance of censorship.

Yet here we are months later in a very familiar postion with the price of hive barely moving, alongside the price of steem which is making some decent gains.

Screen Shot 20201201 at 04.32.23.png

I have been through a bull market before and I know the social media tokens tends to pump after the bulk of the alts, so I am not in a hurry but I cannot help but ask the following question:

Are we looking at price manipulation?

I am imagining if Justin Sun is rich enough to create Tron (which in his own words is a "shitcoin") and somehow pump it up to #16 in the crypto ranks (as listed on coinmarketcap), he is likely rich enough to pump steem all the way to the moon while manipulating the price of hive to remain where it is.

Could it be that the man with the shitcoin has the power to spread his shit upon other coins?

Or perhaps I am missing something?

Thoughts anyone?

Sort:  

Can you handle the truth?
Sunny boy have money, Koreans have money, Chinese have money.
Westerners are broke.
Connect the dots, my friend.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Therein lies a lot of truth.

Noble intentions don't pay for groceries. Money does. The biggest volume exchanges for both Steem and Hive are Asian... Steem has a substantial Asian bias... so between two similar projects they are going to lean towards Steem.

Right. All makes sense. Oh well... I suppose this is when it is good to have eggs in many baskets!

Thanks for the message and all the best to you :)

Agree this is an satisfactory answer

DEAR @oldtimer you are any where for satisfaction any Client

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Appreciate the breakdown. Dots connected.

It can be possible. But to give a second thougt all the other alt coins are also showing some progress with the bitcoin movement, whereas Hive is going reverse.

Such is the power of manipulation. Rich people can make coins go down. And they likely take a lot of pleasure from this when they are in direct competition with them. No worries. Diverse investments is the solution.

Are there really more members on Steem than on Hive? The last time I was on Steem, really all posts were in Chinese. Nothing I could do anything with.

But then I will have to search for the corresponding numbers, intuitively I would have assumed that Steem would become a ghost town.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

haha! Excellent info. I understand Spanish is a popular language on steem now too.

Reminds me of a German expression: I only understand Spanish here.

Means: I understand nothing at all :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sounds typically German. I used to live with a sausage maker from Bavaria who had a great sense of humour.

Ah with Bavaria you have to be careful. Some bad tongues would question whether this is really still Germany :P

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Most definitely manipulation, though I couldn’t tell you what kind. It probably isn’t that hard for someone like him to manipulate the price. That’s why I kept some money in steem for a while but in the end I felt I’d rather be upvoting good hive posts with that money

The kind which involves lots of money I imagine! haha.

Great to see you around here. Feels like ages.

All good in your hood?

Are we looking at price manipulation?

A meme made just for you - to wind you up....

social justice  Copy.jpg

Wind me up? haha. Not a chance.

I am nothing but proud to receive such an award! The world is full of sunshine & rainbows as far as I am concerned and it's only Justin Sun letting the team down ;)

....yeah, I didn't think it would work - it just came into my head, so had to get it down...

I thought it was obvious.

It's a Trap!

~ Rebel Alliance Admiral Ackbar

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

haha! Gotta love the starwars quotes ;)


For some strange reason the Gif wasn't working yesterday. It is today!

Wasn’t there some new development and investment about Tron which could benefit the old blockchain?! Sorry I couldn’t remember the details but I was quite impressed at that time. Lots more new and highly committed Spanish speaking people on that blockchain too.

People here are powering down on to get some Bitcoin!!?!

Cheers.

Wasn't it some kind of steem/tron merge? Can't remember exactly.

It is a tough call with the powering down to invest in other things. Personally I won't be doing that but I do already have a decent variety of bags from my powering down in 2017. Important to not put all eggs in one basket.

Yup! You are right! There’s going to be a Tron airdrop for people having SP.

Crypto world is in a turmoil at the moment.

What's the turmoil? Was not aware of any?

Oh! The swings in Bitcoin a few days ago! Black Friday!

Whatever Tron Boy manipulates or not....the quality content is @Hive
Asian dominated Steem becomes a cheap...whatever you wanna call it...
Still, Hive could do maybe more than just Twitter Campaigns concerning
marketing...

The most successful campaigns are the ones which tell everyone how our token is going up! So yes, currently it is a tough sell, despite this being the home for quality content. Things will work themselves out in the end...

I met people in the park who heard about Hive, but not about Steemit...
Then the price went down of Hive 😜
Time will tell , but i really appreciate Hive as a more conscious community...

Steem has still more members then hive when hive have more members then steem then sure the charts of hive rise soon the momer then members the more the prize will rise its a simple math

I don't think that's true. Our numbers are a little higher and most of steem is bots

Then why is steem prize are high then hive ????

Lots of people feeling chatty today cuddlekitten! And what do you have to say?