HiveFest⁵ will be extremely accessible this year - will you be there?

in #hive3 years ago

Screenshot 20201129 at 21.54.11.png

Damn, I wish I looked this glamorous in Real Life! Say HI next time you see me :-)


So, in case you missed it: @roelandp decided to organize a last-minute HiveFest this year! Having organized four of them in different countries all over the world (yes, yes, they were called different then, but in spirit they were HiveFests from day 1 ;-)), this year obviously posed some serious challenges. But not for Roeland, who has a creative brain and tadaaaaa! Simply decided to do a virtual event, called HiveFest⁵.

First things first: what to expect?

HiveFest⁵ is a VR event taking place in AltSpaceVR, which basically a piece of software that lets you walk around a virtual space with all your friends, in this case your Hive Buddies.

While first being a bit shy about the Virtual Reality part of it, as I have no VR glasses and have some experience with the nausea that comes from wearing them for about half an hour in a Virtual Reality Cinema, I quickly learned that this all can be experienced in 2D as well!

YAY!

So, basically if you have a PC/Laptop that runs Mac OS or Windows software there's a way to join in the fun :-)

I decided to join a 'Pump It' pre-event just about an hour ago, so I could see if I could make everything work technically, and DAMN that was cool and weird at the same time!

Screenshot 20201129 at 21.54.35.png

The room in front of what I guess will be the 'main stage' during HiveFest. Yes, there's a real stage and people will be speaking on that stage too!


First I hadn't figured out my Mic and navigation yet, but people I know from Hive or a previous HiveFest were already walking towards me, sticking out their hands (yes, really!) and adding me as a friend. It's super weird to see an avatar walking towards you and realize that this is a person you've spoken to IRL at some point or simple know the username of.

COOL!

After a very overwhelming and confusing 10 minutes I got the hang of it a bit more and said hi to a few people and spoken to a few others. Sorry @steevc, took a while before I realized it was YOU!, and thanks for NOT pouring me a beer @adetorrent!

Screenshot 20201129 at 21.54.23.png

Talking with @detlev :D


The funny thing is you can hear everyone talk so while walking around the room I could hear the calming voice of @themarkymark, and overheard @roelandp speak with @arcange, while also hearing someone complain that this is SUCH a sausage fest, there's only ONE girl!

Well, that girl was me I guess :D


How to ease yourself into preparing for HiveFest:

  1. Join the Telegram group via this link. This way, whatever happens and whatever questions you have you'll be able to find help :-)
  2. Follow @hivefest and @roelandp so you won't miss any of the posts coming out the next few weeks
  3. Put 18th and 19th of December 5PM UTC in your calendar, or at least one of those two dates.
  4. Sign up on hivefe.st - you can sign up for free (or with a voluntary donation!) until DECEMBER 7th, so don't postpone this very important act!
  5. Read this post and read it again. Then start installing AltSpaceVR and accept all will be fine in the end even if it's overwhelming for now :-)

Those are the most important steps. After that:

Is it REALLY accessible to everyone?

  • If have a PC or Laptop that will run Mac OS or Windows it will be accessible to you
  • If you have vision or other problems that make VR an unpleasant or impossible experience than you can still join in 2D and join in all the fun
  • If you don't have VR goggles: you can join in 2D and join in all the fun
  • Timezones matter - both 18th and 19th of December the start is at 5PM UTC, so check your time zone converter to see if you can join - or have to wake up in the middle of the night :P

Speakers

All the cool people have already promised to tell a bit of fun during HiveFest - and more might still join in the next 3 weeks!

Screenshot 20201129 at 18.03.09.png


All in all I believe this will be a crazy special edition of HiveFest, where the barrier to join is insanely low because there will be no need to fly to a different part of the world, take days off of work, pay for flights, hotels, food, entrance, etcetera.

It was bound to happen someday that we had a Virtual HiveFest, even if just a 'halfway towards HiveFest type of event', but during a pandemic which would have lead to have No HiveFest At All I believe we're in a unique place to experience this - and I'm happy to join in the fun :-)

I hope I can get some #ladiesofhive to join so it will become less of a Sausage Fest. I also hope I've made you at least a bit curious about joining and you'll consider my 5 steps towards easing yourself into it :-) Don't be shy, this is going to be fun!

hivefest_attendee_card_soyrosa.jpg

Cool huh? You can make one too once you have your selfie! See ya at HiveFest⁵!

Sort:  

It was cool and weird at the same time. Nice to see you there even though we hardly talked. It is strange seeing people you have met in virtual form, but if this is the best we can do for Hivefest then so be it. I'll see you again in a few weeks.

I'm just using the PC screen as I don't have a VR headset. It works, but I'm still getting the hang of the keys.

!BEER

I'm only using a screen as well - I might try to see if someone can miss their VR headset for a weekend and experience it the way it's 'meant to' as well, but I didn't hate the 2D experience actually!

And yes, from a Pandemic standpoint I'm kind of excited we can meet up anyway! :D See you again in a few weeks! Let's try to sing a few more people up for all the fun :-)

It was great to hear your voice !!!

It's been too long. We should do more of this or just use Zoom or whatever to have virtual meetups. There's lots of ways to do it these days.

Looking good there sister! I especially like the hat!

I'm going to try to be there. In 2d. I can't use the goggles due to my vision and may have a problem because I don't have Windows OR IOS :) roelandp has promised to help me get set up...

Wh00p! I never wear hats, but I wanted as much HIVE RED as possible during HiveFest :D

Cool that @roelandp will help you set things up despite your lack of Windows/IOS anyway, he is always very motivated to get people to join in the fun :-) Hope it works out for you and we can meet in the Virtual space! :D

I am using just the desktop version with no VR glasses and it works reasonably.


Hey @soyrosa, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Great post.

I hope to make it for some of it although its mostly in my sleeping hours.

I saw your avatar last night but didn't realize it was you!!! 😂

Very cool. See you there in a few days and a !BEER from me 2 U


Hey @soyrosa, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The only girl! Clearly you need company. I'll see what I can do. ;)

just downloaded. it works in 2d. so everyone should join :D

Sounds like an epic event, really happy to see the community coping with the current harsh times in such a cool fashion :)

Nice hat :)

'Twas nice bumping into you in there :)