Follow Friday - Opportunities

in #hive3 years ago

Happy Friday everyone! I hope things are good with you. The UK is well into another lockdown, but life must go on and our online life with Hive should not be affected by pandemics. If anything many people will have more time to engage online and this can help when we are lacking face to face contact. Make the most of it.

The HIVE token is holding fairly steady in price, but has dropped a little on the @coingecko rankings. What are all these other coins that people seem to think are worth more? We know Hive as a platform has value to those who engage here. Just need more to know about what it can do, so tell your friends.

The current discussion of alternatives to platforms that can censor you ought to be good for Hive, but I have yet to see if have a major effect. As well as earning we have a lot of freedom here and that should be emphasised. I just hope it can continue to be a fun place to be. Of course bullies and trolls can do what they want, but I believe they are a tiny minority and the community can act to discourage them.

The main sites are doing okay with @peakd on the rise. It has overtaken hive.blog on Alexa. It would be great to see it break the top 20k this year. It is improving all the time.

Hypestat

Here are my suggestions of people to check out for this week. These are based on what I see on my feed as well as suggestions from others. I cannot keep track of all the cool stuff, so let me know who I should include or do your own #FollowFriday post.

  • @zo3d is a new user from South Africa. Sounds like she is into baking.
  • @iikrypticsii is a young artist recruited by his friend @bozz. I hope to see some of his work soon.
  • @pugdebass is a professional bass player from Nigeria. He plays some great tunes and always seems to be smiling.
  • I have known @dickturpin for quite a while. Like me he is into open source, but we differ on some other topics. He is a funny guy though.
  • @scarlet-rain is the daughter of @katharsisdrill and artistic talent seems to run in the family.

Engagement is crucial for everyone on Hive as it encourages people to stick with it even if they are not making much for now. The value of HIVE should increase if we have more people involved with it in blogging, vlogging, gaming or just curating.

Make your Hive experience fun and you will keep coming back.

Hive five!

Sort:  

Thank you soo much for the mention! I really appreciate it! You also showed some really good information even for me, being a noobie. The engagement and community I've seen in such short time on this platform is quite amazing.

No problem. Hive is a bit different to other social media, but it's all about the people and we have a good community, even if it's still small. It's a good time to be joining.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi man, thanks for the post, it is quite interesting to know the information about peakd.
I wanted to ask you if you use @ecency soon, with the mobile app. I downloaded it yesterday and I'm doing very well, they also give points for publishing, reposting, voting and commenting, which can be used to promote the post.

Regarding the nomination, I would appreciate looking at the only post from @journeylife my sister, I am explaining everything I know about the platform #Hive and trying to be consistent with its publications.

We haven't done her inteoduceyourself yet, for various reasons, but it will be done soon.

Hope you are ok in UK.

I do use @ecency on my phone, although it has a few issues such as not showing post comments. I have the desktop version too. I did not use it for this post as it does not seem to let you set other beneficiaries for the post. I have been sharing rewards on these posts with people I mention.

I will put your sister on my list for people to potentially add to the @tenkminnows trail. I like to see some consistent quality posting before I do that. She needs to be engaging with others too, but it is still early days. We need to look after our new users, but I am sure you will help her out.

Thanks @steevc thanks for answering.
And yes, in fact my sister is already editing her second video, a cooking recipe.
Total consistency, it's like me, but female version, but improved.

You can set beneficiary on both desktop app and website, you can set it on mobile app too. As for posts and comments, you don’t see them in your profile page? Can you share screenshot? it is there...

I have desktop version 3.0.9, which seems to be the latest for Linux. Where do I set beneficiaries? Only option I see is the reward split

image.png

Please download latest: https://desktop.Ecency.com

Ah, your main site offers the older version. Installed 3.0.12 and get the Advanced options now. Thanks

On mobile I can't scroll down to replies on a post

img_0.4050740687478749.jpg

My replies tab does not always refresh. Should really say hasn't rather than haven't for a singular user

img_0.9984495259482803.jpg

Best explanation as to why this happens is most likely due to server you are connecting to, if it is anyx, please change to rpc.ecency.com or api hive blog from settings page.

Hi @ecency, whats for windows x64 bits. the names are confusing, thanks
image.png

Wow!! Thank you for the mention!!! I love all things creative but yes, baking is a passion for me. Really honoured to be here. What an awesome community.

You will find plenty of creative people on Hive. Enjoy!

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you soo much for the mention! I really appreciate it! You also showed some really good information even for me, being a noobie. The engagement and community I've seen in such short time on this platform is quite amazing.

Engaging with people is crucial. Some get lucky and get big votes regardless, but most of us have to work for them. Need to build a following by seeking out those who share your interests.

Thanks for mentioning me :) I'll make sure to check out some of the others too, it's good to be back on the platform

It's good to have you back. I am eager for Hive to grow and that includes retaining the existing users. We've lost too many.

It is encouraging that the price has been kind of holding steady. Hopefully we will soon see the people start arriving in numbers. It may just take some time...

And then it drops again :( Ah well, just the way it goes.

As well as earning we have a lot of freedom here and that should be emphasised.

I think, the twitter promotions are rising well as well emphasizing free speech.

Thanks for sharing information... I like this data

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.