Follow Friday: Pull together

in #hive3 years ago

The News

I cannot resist keeping an eye on the crypto prices, but it is $HIVE I care most about. It has been holding quite well against Bitcoin this week and it catching up on 'the other coin'. This has meant a rise in the dollar value, so our votes are worth more.

Prices
From @coingecko

In terms of activity @splinterlands is racing away with around 50,000 daily active users. In that case the numbers of @dappradar seem about right, but it under-reports for some others.

DappRadar

It is a good time to be talking to people about Hive even if the time to buy cheap $HIVE has passed. The great thing is that you can always be earning it. Power up what you have and vote or put your $HBD in savings to get some interest with the option for a fairly quick withdrawal.

Friday Followings

As usual I will include some people who I think deserve more follows and support.

The Doghouse

This is not about abuse so much as my own preferences for what I vote on. We are free to do what we like on Hive and cannot directly control how others treat us. I vote to spread rewards where I think they do good. These are some of the things that may make me give a smaller vote. I do like to comment and if I do then I like to give at least some sort of vote on the post.

  • I have written about self-voting many times and it gets debated a lot. I see some people who give themselves a vote of several dollars on every post even when they will make a lot anyway. I decided long ago not to self-vote at all. If your own vote is one of the biggest on your post then it could have done some good spread around. I know in many cases people are doing this no more than once per day, but that could be up to 10% of your daily votes. For the extra rewards I would get I decided it was not worth it, especially as others may view it as I do and give me smaller votes. I do not expect people to vote on my posts even if they comment.
  • Some people, myself included, can pretty much guarantee to get good votes on every post. Many of these are likely to be automated and so have little to do with post quality. If your post is making $20+ then I do not think it needs much extra from me when I can boost a good post that is on less than a dollar.
  • There are some people who post content I like, but they almost never respond to comments. Whilst I want people to earn here I also want them to engage. I see little point in commenting if they are unlikely to read it and am less likely to give them a vote. Some of these people still do pretty well and I would hope that they see value in Hive. They ought to be getting their followers from other platforms over here, especially if they suffer from censorship issues.

I am not going to mention names for these categories and am not saying you have to do what I do. I am just making my methods clearer. My voting is not influenced much by what I might earn from the curation. I do okay on that as it is and maybe the recent changes from the last hardfork are helping with that. I want to see good content get rewards as that makes Hive a more attractive platform.

The End

I think in general things are looking pretty good for Hive. We are seeing good growth in various areas, but we still have a long way to go in terms of visibility. Various efforts are going on to improve that, but each of us can help by sharing across other platforms. That need not just be our own posts. If you see a great post that is exclusive to Hive then tell the world.

Hive five!

Sort:  
Loading...

I thought I got rid of the references to 'the other place', I'll have to take a closer look at my website haha

It's the links to individual accounts. Thanks anyway for advertising Hive.

I keep telling all my creative friends that they ought to at least get paid for all the free art and music they create! I think the time it takes to get your account set up may have been a barrier of entry to some, but I dunno.

Ok, we no longer link to the other place!

I don't how Hive is number 248 on coingecko but on coinmarketcap is in 184th place, which gives me hope we could come back in the top 100 coins which would mean Hive is playing with the big boys again. Also I've learned ages ago that not upvoting a post you comment on is bad manners so I always upvote in that situation even if my upvote is useless :P

I assume Coinmarketcap includes less coins. I don't set specific rules on what I expect smaller accounts to go.. I do recommend they don't vote on comments as it has no effect.

!BEER

thanks for the beer :)


Hey @cmmemes, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

It has always driven me a little crazy when I consistently vote and comment on someone else's stuff, but they never bother to visit mine. I think there needs to be a bit more reciprocation on that side of things. I get that some people just want to vote and collect the curation rewards, but engagement is such a huge part of this place. To ignore it is really a disservice.

engagement is such a huge part of this place.

Should be. Supposed to be. The reality is the opposite. Nowadays the engagement is rare on this platform.

I agree with the rest of your comment.

I give you some !PIZZA.

Connect

Trade


@bozz! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Absolutely agree mate. Too many big shots who post, have guaranteed big upvoted and then run off till they post again. As usual, I will blame the ability to auto vote. Its not in the spirit of things when there is no reply to comments and they never ever visit anyone else's blog but nothing to be done as Proof of the biggest stake ins every time here.
hVE great weekend. Hope you and the good lady are as well as can be :-)

I've given up on some people who never respond. It's not worth my time.

I have as well.

😘

Really nice post you made!!

And I couldn't agree more with what time said about self votes, and engaging with people in the comments


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.