Lack of engagement is hampering Hive adoption

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

I have seen some recent posts talking about 'the problem with Hive' being the inflation rate or how the reward pool is managed. I think for the average users who make up the mass of the userbase these are not really a concern even if they are for those looking to invest large amounts to get a certain return.

Much more numerous are people who have heard they can make money by posting stuff on this Hive thing. Many will be disappointed. They will struggle to get any attention and rewards may be cents at best. If I help someone create an account I impress on them that they need to engage with people to build a following. The primary way of doing that is to comment, and not just to say 'thanks' for a comment on a post. You need to start conversations. You are competing for attention and so you have to make yourself interesting to others.

Trending
These are some of the current top trending posts making $40-60. They get hundreds of votes, but just a few comments. The rewards are great, but people do value interaction. Some of these post authors have high HP and could give you a nice vote for a good comment. I think there is too much fishing for curation rewards. There are some people who are guaranteed to get some whale votes and so others pile in to try and benefit. The payoff may be low, but I guess they must make something. You make more if you find under-appreciate posts that later get big votes and you can help them get there.

I benefit from a number of automated votes that mean I make dollars on each post, but I feel bad if I do not get many human comments. This is partly why I mostly only post once per day. I give votes of a few cents for comments I enjoy.

One of the reason I do the Follow Friday posts is to try and get more engagement for accounts that I feel are under-appreciated. There are some great comic artists, musicians and other creative people who will have put many hours of work into what they post. I expect they will post it elsewhere to reach a wider audience, but they would appreciate getting more than just votes on Hive. One comic author said to me that I was about the only one commenting on their posts and so they rewarded me with some extra artwork that others may not see.

There is another account I comment on who are more political. They post videos through 3speak and have a large whale delegation that they use to reward comments well. I will leave it to you to find them if you want a share of that. I think they would like to get more comments. They do not often reply, but that may be due to dealing with far more comments on other platforms.

There are some efforts to encourage engagement. The Hive Engagement League by @abh12345 gives prizes for those who do the most. I am pretty active, but struggle to reach the top ten. I have been averaging over 150 comments each week since I joined four years ago. That is how I have built a following.

The fact is that Hive is struggling to grow. We lost a lot of users when we split from Steem for various reasons, but we ought to be replacing them. The Hive sites may have plateaued for now. Hive.blog and peakd get at least as many views as Steemit, but we should be way ahead give that we have better content (IMHO).

Stats

We cannot afford to lose users, especially the really good content creators who could attract more. If people feel that nobody is interested in what they do then they may leave even if they make a few cents.

Here are some things we could be doing to try and counter current downward trends:

  • Turn off automatic votes and give out more big votes each day manually. You may make less from curation on average, but you may also get lucky by causing a post to trend.
  • Leave a comment when you vote saying whaŧ you liked about the post. Try to start a conversation. You may even gain some followers.
  • Find a new person to follow each week.
  • Write about posts and accounts you have found and enjoyed. That could be in a #FollowFriday post.
  • Bring a new person to Hive when you can. Do not over-sell the earning potential to avoid disappointment. We have freedom, games and other aspects that matter. If they need delegation then I may be able to help.

Hive is supposed to be social as well as profitable. There will always be accounts that purely vote and never engage whilst earning well, but for the rest of us it needs to be fun to justify the effort we put in. People are willing to spend hours on other platforms for no rewards. Why not put in time here whilst making something? That relies on there being enough people and content.

If Hive grows then we all benefit, so instead of thinking 'what can I make from Hive?' think 'what can I do for Hive?'.

Hive five!

Sort:  

I'm brand new to Hive today but an old hat at social media. I'm under no illusions about making money from it though, I'm here because I'm a bit more hopeful that I'll get more engagement than on other platforms. And because I'm sick to death of character limits. Maybe I'm in the minority though, I've no idea.

As with most things, you get out what you put in, so I'll try to engage myself as much as possible.

Welcome to Hive. There are many ways to be productive and get noticed. As you have already said, what you put in is what you get out. Quality, transparency, honesty, personal touch... Nothing new except maybe this crypto stuff at the base 😀

Good luck!

!invest_vote

Thanks for the welcome, it's appreciated!

Welcome! Hive can seem forbidding as you start out, but there are a lot of cool people here. Some may be selfish, but a lot want to help build something amazing. These are still early days, so you can be part of that.

Thanks! I like what I've seen so far. It is a bit overwhelming at first (the whole crypto side is quite confusing to me!) but when I have more time later I'll seek out some guides and tips and people to follow etc.

There are people like @sidwrites who do good guides to how things work. I keep saying we need better how-to guides that everyone can easily find. The community could write them.

One tip I will give is to not bother voting on comments until you have a lot more HP as it has no real effect on rewards. Vote on posts instead. I have delegated you a little extra HP for now.

Oh, I got so distracted replying to comments on my first post I miss this! Ooops. Thanks for the tip. I was wondering about the whole voting etiquette, slowly figuring it out!

Some aspects of the algorithms are not obvious. Don't worry too much about the voting aspect to start with. You can do 10 full votes each day if you want to recharge by the next day. Spread them around.

@ervin-lemark denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@ervin-lemark thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I found a lot of times that if I don't share my posts in the Discord servers that I am on I hardly get any comments at all. It makes me feel like people are just commenting on my stuff because they feel an obligation to. Not because they actually enjoy it.

Please don't feel obliged to post on mine. It should be fun and not work. I do not base my own votes on whether people reciprocate votes or comments.

I don't really comment out of obligation. I think some people do though.

To be fair, that top post of @grindle's does have 5 comments, and he does respond which will take it into double figures. I hear the average post gets 2 comments which is abysmal.

I have been sending him FB messages, telling him about his post and he's delighted. For someone to top trending and have not invested in HIVE at all gives me hope that someone is looking and seeing something different and worth reading.

This is an isolated example but it's worth pointing out, that you can be seen by something other than your wallet size. At the moment, I'm buzzing that something from a minority community is doing so well.

But getting back to what @bozz says. Are people commenting just for the sake of it? I comment on bozz's post's only if I have something to say.

There are not enough people on HIVE to segregate them into their communities ... yet. I comment on most UX posts, as that is my interest. The number are not here and that has always been the issue.

Agree you can't force engagement it has to be natural interaction otherwise it comes across at best as false or at worst as spam. For me we need to get the killer mobile app that provides a similar experience to what is out there (FB/IG) and also deals with on boarding in a simple way (light accounts) and then I think people will come. I have hopes @dapplr might achieve this.
People need to be able to try before they buy so to speak which is why light accounts with no focus on the rewards pool are needed IMO. The pooled rewards from those light accounts could help fund the app that hosts them.
Once they see the potential they will invest the time to understand what a full account is worth and upgrade to one.

For what its worth I get more 'meaningful' comments from 3k followers on hive than I do from 45k on Instagram. So its all relative to what peoples expectations are.

For what its worth I get more 'meaningful' comments from 3k followers on hive than I do from 45k on Instagram.

I don't use Instagram so could not comment, and I have stopped sharing my links on Facebook. I don't see the point anymore, I do Tweet my stuff though.

What was eSteem have a mobile app though I don't use it, the text is a little small for me. Light accounts? I think peakd.com does those, but it's not really enticing people on. The expectation is high for newbies and when they get little or nothing they leave and go back to where the masses are.

If there are masses, you will get interaction.

Yes but you have to start somewhere. People should promote the fact that you own your own connections here rather than that you get paid. Plenty of influencers on Instagram or Youtube that have existing monetization models without the global reward pool; as long as they can reach their followers. The issue is that those platforms can cut their reach at will. So to have a distributed database of peer to peer connections which no one controls allows people to control their own reach. I know a lot of people on IG with this issue where reach has been cut and now they are being forced to use paid promotion to get it back. I had this myself with reach cut over 50% when I was forced onto a creator account on IG and now get asked to pay to get it back. The issue is that without a smooth user interface and onboard process you simply can't get your followers to move over here. In the mean time I think we are more suited to taking users from communities on reddit. But I remain hopeful we will get there.

I deliberately did not single people out in that image by hiding their names. Just trying to show the massive difference in votes and comments that implies a lot don't even see the post. Good to see @grindle is doing well as he puts a lot into his posts, even if it may be a minority audience. Mind you, if 1000 urbexers suddenly joined Hive then they could be the biggest community.

I try to add value with comments as well as posts, but when I see a good post with no comments I want to give some encouragement.

Mind you, if 1000 urbexers suddenly joined Hive then they could be the biggest community.

If they see the figure next to the post, then a few more might think about it. We keep saying that money should not be the motivator but with everywhere else it's username and password, and if they forget the password then the password reset in a few seconds.

It will need to be like that here to draw the masses, somehow done by someone, and in a de-centralized platform, how can that be done?

Having a $ sign next to the reward value might help as well. Peeps outside HIVE don't know what the HIVE symbol means.

image.png

Eg.. look at this, it says to me I received 42.38 HIVE. This is not the case, as I received approx $21 for it. We all know this as we are HIVER's. How about Mr Facebook?

If Mr Facebook looked at the price of the token he would see 22c per. So @slobberchops gets $9.24 for his post? (42*.22). Wrong again!..

image.png

This is what I got, it is approx $21. $21 means something to an outsider. 21.. of 'that funny symbol which is not actually what the post is going to get' is not!

Im getting back to money again, but its one of the crazy things we see here.

Don't some sites show a dollar value? Telling people you make $xxx each week should get their attention. The technical issues with passwords are something else. I think it's time people took password managers for granted instead of getting by with the same password on multiple sites. Keychain makes using the various Hive sites easy.

Hive.blog does, but the premier dapp (IMO) does not. Why the HIVE symbol on peakd.com? My links are all peakd ones, so people see that 'funny symbol'

Keychain makes using the various Hive sites easy.

It does but it's an extra layer of 'stuff that they don't want to do', and it works with Chrome and new Edge. What about phones?

The mobile experience is lacking. eSteem has changed to ecency now and so it being developed. We lost Partiko along the way. We need more options that make it as easy as other platforms.

Comments are a difficult thing at times. Some days there is just to much content to vote on and comments, at least for me do take some time and thought, so even though I want to leave comments, sometimes I am at a loss for words, or just plain assed talked out.

I have seen some of those "just for the sake of it" type comments @bozz mentioned myself, but there are or seem to be more meaningful comments being left lately, at least I the post that I read/view.

I have to admit, my engagement has gone down. I have a bit of an excuse though... my newborn. He is taking all of my time these days! You make some great points though.

It is sad to see us not way out ahead of steem. I expected them to have crashed and burned by now.

Life can get in the way and you have to focus on what is important. Hive is just a hobby for me. Steemit are doing a big power down, so if they sell that the price could drop more.

Hope the little one is allowing you some sleep.

I've been here three years this month. This is actually the first time someone wrote a post that explained the mechanics of how this platform should operate.
Thank you for bringing my attention to the Hive Engagement League.

Well these are just my opinions, but then I have spoken to a lot of people over the last few years. Of course the rewards matter, especially to people who make very little otherwise, but it can be fun too.

Genuine engagement truly makes me happy in a special way. My post may make good rewards but I always still long for comments especially on my medical posts. Most times, I feel no one actually reads them and that gets discouraging even though rewards are fair. Also, the fact that upvotes associated with most of the posts are from a similar source and trail makes it feel just like clockwork.

We speak about the need for engagement everyday on hive but I still don't think we are making any serious progress in that regard.

Do not over-sell the earning potential to avoid disappointment.

This right here I think is one of the ideas we need to kill completely. The rewards should be secondary.

If it were all just automated then what's the point of putting effort into posts? I would like to see Hive reach the respect that sites like Medium have, but everyone should have the chance to be seen. There is that pressure to keep posting regardless to keep the rewards coming in.

Exactly... there's a special feeling that comes with even a handful of regular followers that comment on your post. There are a lot of quality content out there on hive that dies unseen.
Another big problem is the fact that after the 7-day post time frame, a post literally dies, basically because rewards can no longer come in I suppose. Even some authors might not reply comments once their post is past seven days. The reward system unconsciously makes us "kill-off" old posts.

I believe though that with more popularity for hive, old posts will start to get revisited. On Quora for instance, most of the posts I even read are posts that are years old. Hive I think should be more Quora-like and less Instagram-like (short term post engagement that dies off in a couple of days)

I've even gone the extra mile by attempting to reward commenters for sharing my posts on other platforms and still, no kind of interaction for a few HIVE tokens.
I wonder what it's really going to take to get folks to focus on building community with their voices and not just vote percentages.

I agree about comments are important for engagement, but then that was always the number 1 rule for growing brands on social media isn't it? Post interesting content for your followers then engage with them, and make an effort to engage with other potential new followers with similar content.

And the comments I receive might not seem much, but they are still infinitely better than the levels of engagement I received on other sites. They at least prove that someone has read my content and found it interesting in some way.

I try to leave as many comments as I can... but its not always easy. Just as it takes time and effort to write an interesting post, it takes time and effort to write an interesting comment. And I refuse on principle to leave a Nice Photos! on someones post. If I can't think of anything genuinely interesting to say then I don't bother. The interests on here are SO varied, that I can't have an opinion on everything... If someone makes an interesting post about cactus plants (or whatever) I can vote to reward the effort of sharing the interesting content, but I have nothing useful to actually add to the discussion of cactus plants.


As a quick tangent:

It does seem to me so many people seem so determined to 'make Hive a success!' that they don't actually use it themselves? If the community is interesting enough then people will join, if it isn't interesting, the people won't join. Simple really. Continued speculation on the future of Hive or the value of Hive becomes very boring very quickly.

No amount of 'shouting from the roof tops' will change that. We need to focus on our community, make it interesting and exciting and useful and appealing, and new members will follow.

I just try to do what is fun for me, but it can turn into a chore if you are not careful. Everyone is different and some will be more desperate for rewards than to be sociable. I have been pushing Steem/Hive for years and it can be a hard sell. I think many people are happy enough with FB etc. They do not want to start somewhere new from scratch. This is why I think we need to somehow get more good content creators on board as they will make Hive a more attractive destination. It may just take a few key people for it to go viral. I am happy with what I have here, but how many others will keep waiting for 'moon'?

Well, usually a post got that numerical upvote when they are curated. Example, if your post gets curated by Curangel, or Qurator, then the number of upvotes will be by the hundredths. I think that is one big factor why the upvotes would have a striking difference from the comment itself.

But you are right, we should stop thinking about money. We need to engage more, and unearth the hidden talents we have here, before they leave. 😍

I understand that a lot of people follow what the big curation accounts vote on, but that does not earn you big rewards. We need more people who are willing to vote manually and leave comments to make it more fun. It is not just about money.

Yes, manual voting is also good. But those curation have teams that curate manually, I believe. I don't think they follow on the big curation account. I think that they are the ones who delegated for the curation account. (That's only my assumption). I don't know how it works actually, but I have noticed it. Once my post is curated, then I will have many, many voters.

If people are delegating then you will just see the one big vote, but people follow 'voting trails' with their own account. It's nice enough to get those votes, but those people have not seen the post. I care more about those who do see it.

Agreed on engagement. Also, the variance and quantity of content is quite small. Why do I mention quantity as opposed to quality? Because on Quello, for example, a simple question can motivate someone to post a high-quality answer that will interest many. I have take up answering a few questions on Quello every day. Content discovery is reasonably good on Quello as it is intended to serve as a repository of knowledge.

I've not looked at Quello much. Quantity is a factor, but it is still up to the community to decide what has value. Too many auto votes mean people can earn regardless of what they put out. I try to give all my posts some value.

Auto-voters tend to have limits in place. Also, you can set up an alt for asking questions on Quello. Answers are comments which is when autos do not apply.

Yeah. you have identified a vital issue. As you have shown the comment is very low compared with the upvote. The engagement is very much needed for the improvement of any community. Price and profit or Money should not be our goal only. Goal should be value creation hen money will be automatically generated

I consider myself a fairly low tier creator on this platform and I'm finding a decent modicum of success for an account my size. I think talking about reward distributions and whatnot is great and needed, but it's not my highest priority or what I try to focus on.

I attribute the meger success I've gotten to my engagement with other users and communities, however mostly I feel it comes from creating 'decent'-enough content.

People notice it, it doesn't get ignored. Especially if you get your tags and titles right. If you put in the time and effort into constantly looking at ways to improve yourself and the quality of your content, then success can only follow from that.

Improving the layouts, learning how to make your work attractive and great for your target audience, and always looking forward to the next thing. 'Okay I did this, now how can I make it better for more people?' and let the ideas flow. Be bold, take risks, but always try to emphasize good quality.

I'm not saying my stuff is amazing, but I think people recognize the grind and respect it.

That's not just whales with high upvotes, but normies and people offchain recognize good content and hard work too.

Also I wouldn't worry too much about the lack of comments on posts with lots of votes, or even few votes. People talk with their pockets on this platform. A high upvote is a comment, or a compliment - it's taken just the same, in my opinion.

I see an issue with most votes being automated as it means people are not seeing the posts. There used to be a view count, but it was found to be misleading. The numbers might be surprisingly low.

Good to hear you are seeing success. It does take work and people need to appreciate that. It's easy to post a picture of a cat from your phone, but is that of value to many?

I know people fish for votes from whales and curation projects, but that real interaction is nice to get and helps you build your account up.

Being so focused on the platform it must be easy to get mired down in thoughts like these. The negative aspects are like a chisel the longer you look at them. My advice would be to focus on what's important I guess. Just follow your passion and make it as good as you can, that's the goal

I spend far too much time thinking about Hive. I have my other interests that I should focus on really.

Have a !BEER


Hey @johneyreacko, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

All valid points.
I always try to urge new comers to engage; leave comments, vote things you like, don’t feel pressure to do anything you don’t want, follow accounts you like etc

Nothing can ever substitute real engagement. It’s priceless and can’t be bought, only earned.

Great post.

I think we need more efforts to reward engagement. The fact of the matter is that it is easy to stop engaging. It's hard to get past the idea that the upvote fits the bill for interaction. It doesn't. I think also that people get overwhelmed eventually with everything going on here. Communities are still pretty new here and I think people are just now considering how to utilize them more. I think they will eventually increase engagement, but in order to do so, the communities themselves have to be promoted.

Communities are definitely under-utilised, including by me. People need to find those who share their interests as that will make it more fun. Having already built an audience I may have less need for communities. I think people should enjoy Hive interaction as much as that on FB, Twtr etc.

I wish there was a way to adjust the default view for viewers in a community. In mine, I would change it to shuffle according to last comment, web 1.0 style.

That's a technical issue. We should be talking to the dapp developers to give them feedback on what is needed.

True. Unfortunately, I don't know how possible it is.

I’ve been trying to squeeze in a little more time to cruise around and do some more manual voting and commenting. Trying to find that balance of auto votes and manual that frees up some VP to dish out some manual votes whenever I feel like it.

People are willing to spend hours on other platforms for no rewards. Why not put in time here whilst making something?

Exactly!! Even it is just a few cents here and there it’s better than nothing. Making your time worth a little something...

Time is a limiting factor. We need the tools to make discovery easier.

Never enough of that going around .... time
40F742762F534877B80918BF815811AA.gif

Yeah, engagement levels are low, but what new? I do agree engagement will make users stick to the service, but the issues we face today, are not new to HIVE and whatever we were called before. Most of my time I've seen more a money game ongoing, then a formation of a social network. Whenever some of the algorithms are changed, we see the game changing/adopting to the new rules. We really have to change the whole setup in a way money is not dominant anymore. Maybe trending channels shall be removed as well, something used in none rewarding social networks, but in networks like HIVE, trending has no place imho, it simply makes the money game easier for users. I appreciate all you try to do for HIVE, being very vocal about it, also on Twitter and all. But my fear is this will not bring in many new sticky users. Sure, new users try, but they'll likely stop coming back after some time, as we've seen sooo many times in the past. A shame, but the reality :(

I think Hive is what we make it. If we make it more social then it's more fun for more people. The money is a nice bonus. Not everyone can make a lot, but everyone can make something. Of course some only care about the money, but they may be disappointed if they neglect the social aspects.

Agree 100% with you! There is a reason why I curate very single day and give Curie followed votes to users and try and engage with some to more of them. To keep them onboard, and to guide them as much as I can.

But exactly this what you are stating is what I've seen last three to four years over and over again, but nothing really changes. Still the UI people didn't adjust their UI's giving rewards a less prominent spot. We still have the exponential curation curve etc etc. That all doesnt help to give HIVE a boost.

That said, I'm still continuing my activities at HIVE since I still have the believe it can go places we can only dream of at this point in time :)

I don't have much influence on the technology of Hive, so I work with what we have.

very much appreciated :)

I am trying to up my engagement on posts. I value comments I received on my posts because that shows somebody somewhere is reading your write up. Meaningful comments are appreciation of your post. Upvotes matter as it gives you rewards but comments will make interactions more humane.
ra

Actually having people read what I write means a lot. It is about the people for me. Having met a lot of them adds to the experience.

Yes. As you said, the optics is not accurate when new users see these posts with fewer comments. Eventually they will think that this is the way you behave and engage on this platform.

We need to persuade them that commenting is one of the best ways to build followers. The trending posts are not at all typical. I would prefer to get rid of that page or make it less prominent. The Hot page is more useful.

I think maybe people are just getting stuck in a rut with Hive, it's all becoming a bit routine maybe?!?

Having said that I quite enjoy doing the rounds and chucking in a few comments as I see fit! But I never feel obliged to.

Maybe people post articles that are too long, it's often easier to read something really quick and respond to that.

I'm not sure people get much meaningful engagement on other platforms you know, at least not the average user!

The disturbing thing on here is that no one hardly ever comments on old material!

It can become routine and sometimes I feel I need to take a break, but then I will be missing out and won't be able to keep up with things. I don't really want it to become like work.

There should be audiences for long and short posts. I know people have issues with micro-blogging here, but ultimately we each get to choose what we vote on.

Old posts do get neglected and it's a shame they cannot still earn, although comments on them can.

It's not necessarily a bad idea to take a break from Hive every now and then! I should do really, maybe I will next week come to think of it, a few days can't do any harm.

Possibly engrave would be a way of breathing life back into old posts, you can organise everything into different categories there!

I personally am rather annoyed I can't reward comments because my stake to too low and everything just gets swept up as dust and deleted.

I would love that 'feature' to be removed or reworked.

Other than that I'm going to try get my engagement up, as soon as I'm out of the mental funk that's messing everything up.

You can still give value with your comments and if you have enough !BEER you can give that too. Some of these limits are needed to reduce the ability of people to milk rewards with lots of small accounts. Keep building your HP and you can do more.


Hey @shmoogleosukami, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I get a fair amount of interaction on my #MarketFriday challenge, one that does not have prizes, but, allows people to share their cultures with one another. They drop a link to their post or use my community tag, and I answer every single one of them. Not because I have to, but, because I want to. They are interesting and the fact that they have spent hours taking photos and putting together a post for ME, that is humbling. The payout for me is small compared to most of you, but, not as small as a lot.

I am behind on comments, but, I will get it done. I think engagement is key. I love the Engagement League and try to drag as many as I can there.

This is a great place. I am not sure why it isn't hopping.

Upped and Reposted

!tip .20

I try to respond to comments on my own posts. This one has gone a bit crazy, but we need to have these discussions. It is noticeable that posts about Hive itself get more engagement.

Good for you. I mean that in a kind way. :) I leave comments that go unattended and so why would anyone want to leave comments in a place that they are not sure are being read. Thanks for the reply. I do the same. Our mamas raised us right. ;)

Getting so many responses on this post does a lot to boost my faith in the community, but we still need to reach more people to get them involved.

Have a !BEER


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This is one of the thing that bothers me. The engagement problem is a two way problem. A problem from the whales in that they might not be trying to discover new users and also the newbies who believe that hive is a dumping site for quality content.
I told a user that dumping quality content on hi've us a gamble when it comes to upvotes. There isis a possibility that curators might nit, see you. However with engagement you build relationships that might give you some engagement and upvotes.

I am still thinking of a way to make new users get addicted to the network.
I mean Twitter doesn't pay but some people can't do without Twitter.
I intend on doing a test run with my referrals.

Finally, For hive to move forward everyone has to actively play a role

I tell new users not to use up all their good content too quickly. They need to build up a following gradually. You cannot rely on whales to support you and so I think it's better to get more of a spread of votes. I do not rely on any single big account with my posts. Of course it would be great to get multi-dollar posts, but I do not expect it all the time.

I do like that commenting seems to be a little bit trending right now, I hope it continues. Leaving comments is one of the best ways to build a following, new users need to try and not become fearful of commenting, I know some have heard all the bad that can happen by leaving a wrong comment, but if people leave an honest comment, it goes a long way.

I love comments and will what I can to encourage them. It worked with this post.

There are a few comment contest taking place, those help get people used to commenting. I've found a few nice folks through them, and some blogs I may have otherwise missed.

Contests are good, but people just need to be sociable. Too many treat Hive as work when it should be fun.

I don't comment as much as I should these days.

But you know, I always respond to comments on my posts.

Responding to comments is the least we should expect, but some big accounts don't do it. Some take their votes for granted and don't feel they need to actually talk to people. Okay, lack of time may be an issue, but it's polite to reply. I wish the whales would spread their votes more so people had to work for them, but they will do whatever they like.

Engagement is certainly important if the hive ecosystem is to grow.

Do you think that layer two communities have a net positive or net negative effect on overall engagement across the hive ecosystem?

My suspicion is that it may have a net negative effect since it effectively limits the content users will engage with. It seems to me that subdividing an already small community could have disastrous consequences in terms of the growth of hive overall.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Give the small overall number of users that could be an issue, but then communities also help people who share their interests. I think there may be too much focus on using them to fish for rewards rather than engagement.

Yes, I certainly agree there isn't enough focus on engagement.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Congratulations @steevc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

🎁 Hi @steevc! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: My Five For #Thriveonhive By @Dswigle Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.