My first livestream, Interviewed by Nathanmars

in #hive4 years ago

Today I did what I think is my first experience of livestreaming. This was inspired by @nathanmars wanting to interview me about my Hive experience as part of a series he is doing with various people. I am not sure I can embed the video, but the image links to it.

Stream

We did this using Periscope, which is owned by Twitter (I think). You can set it up so that the recording gets automatically tweeted.

I saw a few people watched it live and commented in the chat.

I had to look up how I could do this. I do not have space on my phone to install the app and so I needed to do it on my Linux PC. It looks like you cannot do it just from the web, but the videos I found suggested using OBS (Open Broadcaster Studio), which I had installed anyway. I need to experiment more with this as you can make videos that combine various sources including your screen as well as a camera. In the settings you can select Periscope as the destination and just need a key you get from the site or app.

OBS

We could not see how I could let Nathan join the stream to ask me questions, so he just posted them to the chat and I rambled on for a while over those themes. It can be fun to actually express your thoughts like this. I had to delete several tweets of failed attempts as we tried to get things working.

Other people @nathanmars has interviewed are:

Sort:  

I had to delete several tweets of failed attempts as we tried to get things working.

We didn't give up!

Thank you so much for your time today Steve.

Be aware more people might reach out to you for Hive interview now..

I hope so. It was interesting to play with the technology too :)

Congratulations on the interview with @nathanmars! It's great to see good community members, such as yourself, & getting to know your story. I wish you the best & sending positive energy. 😊🧚‍♂️💜🙏🏻

It's good to get to know people better and a video helps with that. I hope to see a lot more of these soon. I saw he did another with @jongolson last night.

Yes he did! As you know, I was the first one, then Sergio, Ade Torrant, etc. Today so far, he interviewed @snookatz. He is trying to interview as much of our community as possible. It's awesome to get to know one another & build those relationships. We really are family here. 💗🙏🏻

Nathan is amazing. He's working pretty much full time on this stuff. I hope lots of people appreciate that.

Oh absolutely! So true. He inspires so many people to look within & become better versions of themselves. 🙌😊💕

I'm sorry I missed this. Trying to get more into video myself, it is hard work that is for certain :) @steevc

I think, we have a live stream on 3speak ? Did you try ?

I haven't tried that yet. @nathanmars wanted to use Periscope as he is marketing through Twitter to reach a larger audience.

Got it, we all will take it to next level on twitter for sure.

its a brave new world for steevc! Good to see your face my friend : )

Hey mate! I have gained some confidence in front of a camera from all my music videos. Hope I didn't come across as some sort of obsessed cult victim! Hope things are good with you.

hahaha, you ARE an obsessed cult victim!
I think you were great. Figurehead, promoter of crypto-utopia!
Im not around much these days, but I still think of the blockchains incredible power to spread wealth, especially to those in poorer economies who are in desperate need. Check out the guy I just reblogged (his name is muzito). He is trying to help the needy in his community, but Im not sure to what extent he understands the nature of blogging. People like him need to be championed by people like us who understand this environment, so that he can gain more followers and generate more money for his community.
How active is the charitable branch of HIVE these days?

I think charities could be a bigger part of Hive. I'm not sure what the state of things is right now. Obviously we need a bit more proof that charity accounts are genuine. On the Tsu site they could provide their credentials to the company. Maybe we need witnesses or other trusted people to vouch for charity accounts.

I've been working with some Nigerians and others to help new people get started. I want everyone to have a chance to earn. We cannot afford for people to give up. There are efforts to ensure new accounts can get some delegation so they don't struggle due to lack of RCs. We also need people who will invest in Hive to give it more value.

There are some efforts going on to market the platform, but we don't have a single company to rely on now. It's up to the community.

I think we have to use our intuition to an extent and not lose faith when something we have supported turns out to be misleading. The opportunity to spread wealth directly to extremely poor communities is too good to miss...
The difficulty is that it requires a bit of training. Honest blogging can become proof in itself with enough photos, film clips, description etc, so that the community gets to know you and the good work you do. It could be possible to encourage community leaders to take on the role of blogging and wealth distribution as a primary job. But for that to become a reality, that person needs to be encouraged and rewarded and advised. Like you said in your interview, a few dollars means a lot in certain communities and its sublimely easy to dole out a few upvotes here.
I also feel like charity has lost a lot of impetus over the last decade or so, because people have lost a lot of trust in it. But maybe the idea of charity without a middle man would make sites like HIVE more attractive to wealthy 1st worlders than the idea of blogging themselves for a pittance.... Im just rolling on a thought train here, dont mind me!

You should do a post about this :)

OBS is pretty awesome. I have started using it quite a bit over the past couple of months.

I looked at it before, but had some sound issues. That may have been my interface. It seems to offer a lot of options.