Understanding words on hive - support needed or a begginers guide!

in #hive3 years ago

Ok, my first blog on this was a good thing for me to do personally and as I have been thinking about it I thought some kind of glossary would help others. This is in no way ehaustive but thought it might be a good start for someone who actually understand it to chip in like @nickyharvey or @gribbles!....here goes my current thoughts on some of the words I have encountered and my commentary! Thanks for reading.

Overall words

Blockchain - basically dont worry about it..i dont know how twitter works so I wont bother trying to understand this....
Crypto currency - some kind of money like real money but not real money but who uses much real money these days!
Witness - I think like when you are called to court and they have all taken the oath and are trusted to keep things running fairly.
Curators - not sure who these people are, dont think they make spotify playlists but maybe they make sure the quality is kept on the servers?
proposals - not sure, but I am not married so am guessing it is to do with peoples ideas and things like that.
NFT - like signed digital art thing thats cool and collectable.
Payouts - when someone upvotes your stuff you get a payout, like a sainsbury reward card or something.

My wallet

Master key - not actually a key a random series of numbers must be kept safe to connect things to your wallet
Private keys and other keys - very important to access your funds, do keep private!
Voting mana - like magic mana in computer games seems to be used when voting but recharges slowly.
Hive - the currency used around here, nothing necessarily to do with beekeeping - n oidea between hives and Hive backed dollars?
Hive power - how much your vote is worth not how much damage you can take.
Resource credits - this I have no idea what they are....
Tokens - these are like money but not money and can be turned into hives and vice versa.
Stake - nothing to do with vampires but seems to be needed when exchanging things.

Websites

PeakD - seems to be a site for blogging has lots of different communities.
**3Speak **- A place to share videos .
Musicforlife - a place dedicated to music seems to have its own tokens "Vibes" which sound cool.
Hiveblog - seems to be like a place for blogs? but is like PeakD but not PeakD?
Discord - lots of people use it to share things and ideas, good place to ask stupid questions and share ridiulous GIFS.
Hive engine - nothing to do with cars...seems to be a place to buy/sell/exchange tokens. Bit confusing as you seem to have to stake hives or something to buy tokens....
Rising star - one of the idle games that is available, good fun and concept especially for musicians!
Dapplr - an app you can download, feels more familar to look at blogs and stuff - would recomend.

Well that is my start for now and will add to it later! Any comments or suggestions are very, very welcome! I think the next one I do will be a list of stupid questions I have!

Sort:  

Post this kind of content with leoFinance.io to earn Hive & Leo

thanks for heads up, still not sure where to post things!

LeoFinance.io

thank you!