You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Exchange Listings and Communication/PR Proposal

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

In my opinion, you deserve to receive money for your work, I know you are one of the people in the frontlines and from reading through all the comments I know you did an awesome job with the listings, there is one thing I disagree with though, the amount...

The amount of money you are asking is way too much in my opinion... I know that 30k is not much for Americans, but 30k is a lot for other countries, and Hive is a world-wide blockchain, so the salary is a little too much in my opinion... many doctors in my country don't earn that in 1 whole year working only at the hospital(most have to work at multiple places)! And I live in Europe, which isn't exactly poor... so, I will fund it, but not to 30k(still not sure how to fund it up to a certain amount), I think 15k for all that work is more aligned to what I believe you should earn, especially since, like I said, this is a worldwide blockchain and many countries and investors are represented here, the salary should have that in mind.

Ofc, if the community reaches the consensus that you deserve 30k, I'm fine with it ofc...

This second point is more of a rant, but after reading some comments on different post regarding this proposal I have to say something...

It seems some people are diminishing the importance of all the people who tweeted and fought on tweeter to give exchanges and big crypto people bad PR for the hostile takeover, which pisses me off a little, especially since the bad PR was probably one of the reasons that so many exchanges decided to join in on the fight, and even made CZ and binance realize they must have done something wrong, the bad PR also made your job a little easier. I took days out of my time, and even tried to multitask while studying for an exam, to tweet and fight the hostile takeover on tweeter while many people only tried to monetize the whole thing on Steem(which I never did since the fight was more about values for me) ... it's kinda sad to see that some people are diminishing that "work".

Sort:  

I don’t think anyone is trying to diminish the work of the community, rather point our the unfair claim that the work I’m describing is the same as tweeting. They aren’t.

Yes the community was a huge part of this and without them we wouldn’t be where we are. But I hope some consider how the initial story broke to even make people pay attention to the tweets, rather than it just go by as another JS takeover ignored by the space.. sort of like what happened to popnetwork.

So I’m not sure how to say any of this as I don’t at all want to diminish the amazing work the community did, but perhaps people should consider if any of those tweets would have even mattered without the wide news coverage and the calling out of exchanges in them. That didn’t happen by accident or luck. Implying such is diminishing the work of those that insured it happened.

Both sides did great work, like I said, "some people" I wasn't referring to you specifically, it was more of a rant because I've seen some people saying that the only reason big exchanges listed us was because of you guys and the tweets by randos had no part in it, which I disagree, I do think we had a some part in it(even if small)... not as big as yours ofc.

Regardless of that, I do think you should be paid for your work and am supporting the proposal, however 30k is quite a lot, you are going by a normal American Salary, but Hive is a worldwide blockchain with investors and content creators from rich and poor countries, the average worldwide salary isn't an American Salary, and we should think about that and put ourselves in a poor Nigerian's perspective or Venezuelan, they invest the little amount of money they have on Hive and then the inflation gives it all to you times 10x... in my opinion it's quite a lot Justine.

PS: I also disagree with some of the other proposals amounts, it's not just yours, if we are a community here we should think about everyone, and not everyone that is on hive has the same economic benefits of living in a developed country, the salary should reflect that imo...

Ofc, if the community reaches the consensus that you deserve the full 30k I'm all for it...