A CALL FOR HELP ... WHO WILL LEND A HAND ? ... ARE WE REALLY COMMUNITY MINDED?

in #hive4 years ago

Yesterday, with a look of great concern on her face, @farm-mom pointed out an article to me on @hive that was very disturbing. It was a short post that only took a minute to read and after reading it, I could feel my own emotions welling up inside of me.

For those of us that have been involved with @fff, orchestrated by some really awesome dudes, @dandays, @jlsplatts, and @idig, we have met some really good people. One of the most talented chefs in our group, one that would have the rest of us contenders yearning for just one mouthful of her dish, has asked for a helping hand.

In these hard times, all people are being threatened by this ugly virus. Most of us just need to follow the rules, stay at home, practice social distancing, and the odds are in our favor that we will come out the other side in pretty good shape. But for others, the hardships that have been placed on their shoulders because of COVID-19 go far beyond self-isolation.

Here is the article that haunted me last night as I tried to sleep.
https://hive.blog/quarantinelife/@denissemata/i-need-a-little-help-from-you-please

My worries pale in comparison to the hardships being faced by so many. As is the case with everybody we have befriended while blogging away, we really don't know each other except as virtual pen-pals. We get to know each other in a small way. We choose who to follow and support. Some folks we get to know a little better than others, and in some cases, the true essence of a person will come shining through. I don't know #denissemata any better than you, but every time I had a chance to interact with her, her sweet and caring personality would transcend her words.

It can't be easy asking for help of this nature, but she has.
There are so many people out there suffering and I know it is impossible to lend a helping hand to all of those in need, but we should support those who catch our eye as being a genuinely lovely soul!

I like to think that #hive is a community of caring people, a unified body of individuals.
We have been asked for help as a community, now the question is how will we respond.
If just a few of us step up to the plate and lend our support we may be able to lighten what has got to be a heavy load.

In giving, the return will show up in your heart.
If you have never met his truly wonderful soul, down the road apiece, you should!

A few #hive folks have already shown exactly what community is really about, @nelinoeva, @barbara-orenya @melinda010100

Sort:  

I had to read this post 2 times and both times I couldn't stop crying. But with joy and thanks! You are all wonderful people and not because of sending money. But because they have a huge heart and they know that although I don't know them in person, they are very important to me. And if making that post yesterday was difficult. Many times it is difficult to accept such a situation, I sell cakes at home but they have been very difficult days for me. And having food at home has been my priority and it is not putting my mother or me to this virus ... But there are days where it is so uphill.

Being part of this platform has been my greatest blessing. I feel that you are all little Angels on my way. I have had the help of as many as my dear @melinda010100 and I always tell my mom that Mel is like another mother to me. My dear Wanda @sunscape, a being of light that I love so much and who has been a great friend. My dear @karenb54, a woman who, like me, has known what it is to have needs and has always reached out to me whenever she could. Like @cpol, @nelinoeva, @barbara-orenya and they know every help every word every little detail has given me back my faith in humanity. In that there are such wonderful people and if I think I am a little crybaby but how not to be. If all of you have taken a minute of your life to read and help me and I will be eternally grateful to you and with the life that allowed me to meet you so be it through a screen.❤ Thanks so much for all

Next time I log in to Steem I'll send some her way! Thanks for putting this out so I didn't miss it. 💚

Thanks dear, You are wonderful. 💕

No problem lovely lady! Just sent it now. 💚

Thanks so much dear💚💕

ARE WE REALLY COMMUNITY MINDED?

Based on the statistics, not really. Nowadays the real human comments are rare both on the Steem blockchain and on the Hive blockchain. And even if people comment, they comment mostly to get attention to themselves. The majority of the Steem blockchain and Hive blockchain users are selfish and greedy. There are a few people, who actually lend a hand, but that is all.

@xplosive, before commenting on this reply I wanted to see how things turned out. Despite some people stepping up big time, much of the community just ignored becoming part of the solution. It made me both a little sad and very mad. As some people are posting several times a day, both on steem and hive and raking in
hundreds of $$$ a day, their only real concern is for their own wellbeing. At this point I would have to agree with you, most people are selfish and greedy. Your honesty is refreshing.

@thebigsweed Thanks so much for writing this and bringing @denissemata and her mom to the attention of the community! There was once a time when I could order from Amazon and send packages containing some of the daily essentials that they needed. I was never allowed to send food or medical supplies, but I could send shampoo and cake making supplies like stainless bowls and spatulas. At one time I could even send sprinkles, until they were listed as food and banned.
It was always difficult for Denisse or her mom to collect the package once it arrived, but then delivery to the island was stopped and arrangements had to be made for someone on the mainland to claim the package.
With these days of quarantine collecting a package would be even more difficult.
Sending Steem will be helpful and I know that they will sleep better knowing they have food in their cupboards for the hard times ahead

Thanks for being this to people’s attention.

Your call is a beautiful and (hopefuly) helpful one @thebigsweed,
1sgfgi.png for making it for @denissemata 😊

I think all of us can make a difference here, even if it's just a small boost. If lots of us give a little, it becomes big for our friend @dennissemata.

Life shouldn't have to be this hard.
We are all in this mess together, let's try to uplift each other.

Exactly! I shared this post on Twitter.

Oh that’s great 😀
Good going

Thank you for showing me this @thebigsweed.

This damn autocorrect!! How long’s it been since I’ve messaged you on here and the frikkin thing still wants to type “Bug,” @thebUgsweed. Stupid azz autocorrect.