Hive. A Future? A Conspiracy? P.2

in #hive3 years ago

Behind the curtain.

The Hive Name.png

Overall, my opinion about Hive is a positive one. I think I have done quite well on Hive. The blogging side of things that is. Although I have had a couple of run in's and debates in the comment section. That were controversial to a degree. I have been left to do my own thing to the most part.

I did start up a lotto game. Well I use the €Euro Millions lotto and have a small syndicate of players. For a weekly subscription of 0.25 Hive per week you get entry into a the syndicate. Run by the @yeswecan account.

I am also trying a Silver initiative. Using the SilverQuest we have been able to buy a American Silver Morgan coin. Though it has still to be delivered to Mr C0ff33a, we have it. The first part of that idea proved to be successful. On a small scale the theory works. (Won't get rich on it, But it is a passing interest of possibility exploration). I would like the price of Hive to rise a bit before making the second purchase.

While the value of what I hold has not increased in FIAT terms. Well not by much, the fluctuations between price up and down is much bigger. Where at the beginning, I found it hard to get a 0.02c reward. I did get help from others (there is good people out there) and I started to get some growth. Over 8,000 now in the main account this one "thehive".

The majority of people do not have the same vision of opportunity as I can see. They do see the vision of how the digital side of things can be though. Something in the details of why certain things cannot be done is beyond my understanding.

Overall, it has been a good experience. The best is the couple of friends who chat with me regular.

By this time next ,,,,, We'll be fishing somewhere.


border 1.png

Holding the voting power of 16,500 HP. Gained without any massive support over a 3 year period. With no profit after a year, value wise. The amount of stake held has grown. Various reasons for this, not one singular reason. So no there is no conspiracy holding us back. What holds us back with the highest frequency, is ourselves and lack of willingness to help one another get ahead.

If, to reach the top, along the way you need someone to help you up the ladder. What happens when you reach the top and there is no one to help you get higher?
If, we raise each other up, we constantly are reaching new heights.

At the top though. The same as in most parts of life. There is a few who do hold a lot of power of control. Hive is guilty of the same thing, the rest of the other parts of your life are guilty of too.

The systems we create are open to manipulation. In many cases greater manipulation over time as one group of ideas gain positions of control. Elections or votes do not seems to negate the power held.

The biggest problem I see with Hive currently. The same people hold all the positions. They are the witness the coder and decision maker. The choices made will always be to the benefit of the decision maker. Things are not, well not completely chats behind closed doors. There is openness on the gitlab. But there is a concentration of HP that does talk with each other constantly.

The essence of a cartel, not so much a conspiracy.


border 1.png

Holding back the Hive.

The main thing holding back Hive is the people here now. There is no focus point. Nothing but writing code. There are many individual projects going on. Very little collaborative effort though. (Not that's clearly visible anyway.) Everything is bring people to Hive. Get the HIVE or HBD to more people.

Truth comes down to. No matter what is in place. There will always be a view of a better way to do things and a willingness on some to change things to benefit themselves, regardless of the effects on anything else.

A collaborative ambition to make Hive more than it is now is not there. There are many individuals pushing their own projects, all claiming it will be great for Hive.

Myself, I strongly believe part of a future survival solution is to begin developing the use of HIVE as a currency. After all, is that not the intent of Crypto currency, to remove the power from financial institutions already in place.

The success of any and all crypto currency is in removing the power financial institutions hold over us. Removing that hold means establishing an alternative currency accepted by a wider range of people.

Right now. I earn HIVE I power it up because there is feck all else to do with it. I do not have much interest in art to begin with never mind digital art or NFT's. There is no place online I know of that I can go and spend HIVE. Yes I can go to an exchange, turn it into FIAT or another crypto. For a free transaction token that seems defeatist though. A real and genuine effort has to be put into market creation for the use of the token outside of what is developed here on the Blockchain. Dapps are just not enough.

It is great having all these other opportunities that have evolved on the blockchain. It would be even better if I could do even more HIVE transactions without the need for a third or fourth party to carry out those transactions. Right now I need to send HIVE to an exchange, Trade it, send it to a card or bank and then use it. In both cases going back to a financial institution controlling the money.

BTC is so aptly named. Break The Chains.


border 1.png

Crypto Excahnge:
Ionomy:
https://ionomy.com/en/aff/d0afaf8f56804ce181c5ef5db43d4a21
Bittrex:
https://bittrex.com/Account/Register?referralCode=DHH-RXK-11E

Crypto Card Visa Blockcard
https://dashboard.getblockcard.com/i/SMvuCfUG

Discord Servers
Bro SGN: https://discord.gg/W2pdeDa
Hive Block chain Server: https://discord.gg/QxbgScK

Games
Free to play:
One Arm Bandits: https://brosgn.net?ref=923
Poker: https://brosinopoker.com
Music game: https://www.risingstargame.com?referrer=thehive

Sort:  

Well written man, I concur :) . mmm don't I owe a new subscription for lotto? Goes to your point of unfocused I have no clue half the time what I am doing let alone what is actually happening around here apart from the obvious ones that stand out like LEO etc. **will renew my sub when I get payout, I just spent 22 hive on Dcity because I had nothing else to do with it haha.

While like you I would like to see a direct option to use HIVE verse FIAT, I think crypto coin days will get here one day. One thing I have gotten into lately is the Index type funds on Hive-Engine. I even get some EOS and DOGE coin drips, slow drips but a little bit none the less. One of the newest funds is LBI, very new and based solely on the LEO Token. You can take a look at my wallet and see all the little bright green drips. So if you are looking for alternative style investment things they may fit a long or short term growth bill for you.

You know I do not really like leaving other peoples links, but this one may give you an Idea of where LBI fund is heading, and heck you and @penderis would make good guest authors when they get that up and running. https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@spinvest-leo/2021-s-vision-goals-setting-and-kpis-for-spinvest-leo-part-ii

I would have the same issues on Leo, Unknown and not mainstream.

Bitcoin, ETH, and LTC were at one point non-mainstream. If the world of cryptocurrency is to remain non centralized then at some point people are going to have to look beyond the top three. I have watched over the years as local banks have been swallowed whole by big banks in America, I have seen the beginning of World banks take over American Banks.

Will there ever be a real world use case of HIVE verse FIAT, maybe one day, will that use ever expand beyond the borders of the Hive Block Chain, I think it already is with LEOFinance, and a few of the games. Hive is being used to purchase tokens and crypto currencies and then being used as a Mutual type fund that pays dividends from value outside of the Hive Block Chain.

Yes it is small scale yet the concept has been running for a couple of years via the SPI-Token, and starting now with the LBI-token. One use of HIVE is as an investment vehicle, will it work? not sure. Should we try? I think so. It is one use case for HIVE that does not totally rely on the price of HIVE to grow.

For most people right now the only real significant use for HIVE is to convert it into their local currency and use it to supplement their living experience. This means that there is, for some, a very real world use case for HIVE.

For me learning about Crypto currency and about some investing is a use case for me. I do not have a lot of investment knowledge other than buying and selling of homes I have lived in. 30 years or more ago I tried to learn about investing and mutual funds and other investment vehicles. I have learned more in the last 8 months than in those 30 years, and there is very little risk to any collateral I currently own in the walking side of life. HIVE has allowed me to learn with out fear of loss of things I own other than of some HIVE that has been gifted to me over the last 8 months and before that of Steem that was gifted.

Congratulations @thehive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update