You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's going on?

in #hive3 years ago

The reason I believe Hive is lacking behind, is because much of the work that has been done on Hive after the launch has been on a fundamental/technical level. This work is massively important for the project, but it can't really be used to hype up the price.

Only work done on Steem has been censorship, stealing money, and integrating Tron.

Sort:  

I think the point being made was just that: we haven't done enough to set HIVE apart from STEEM.

On the other hand, I do think that the "massively important" work done IS something we can use to leverage our image, the brand name, so to speak. If what you've got under the hood is greatness, why can't you market that?

Really, with everyone looking for the silver bullet, why not focus on what really sets us apart? It's the foundation that no-one else has!!!

(And they're still plugging away with that ...)

My point being Steem has done nothing good and in fact has done a lot of evil and has gone up 20% or so. Logic is out the window.

Markets are irrational. STEEM is also manipulated, don't doubt it for a minute. I don't pay the slightest attention to the comparison because, I my opinion, there is no comparison anymore.

That's what I think may be causing a lot of confusion on the part of users, market participants, everyone. I'm strongly of the opinion that we need to make just as big an effort to set HIVE apart in public perception as has been made to set it apart in reality. The work has been done. We know what's been done. We know just how important it is. But what good is that if no-one else knows? That's a perception that has to be changed and it's our job to get that across to the world. HIVE is all that we dreamed it could be, but to the outsider, what does that mean?

Do you remember the "show me the beef" slogan? We need to aggressively show the world the beef.

I think the point being made was just that: we haven't done enough to set HIVE apart from STEEM.

My point was that the work being done was important and crucial, but can't be directly used to hype up the project. It's the "boring", below-the-surface, tech-debt-clearing kind of work, which is required for Hive to thrive & scale.

I disagree. I think that "'boring', below-the-surface, tech-debt-clearing kind of work, which is required for Hive to thrive & scale" is what best represents the glory of what HIVE is [at present] and is exactly what we should be putting out there.

Tomorrow there will be more, but we shouldn't overlook everything we have already put in place in the meantime.

We just have to explain it in an easily understandable way!

Edit: How about something like this as a starting place?
https://hive.blog/hive-175254/@cryptographic/one-of-a-kind

I don't really care what Steem does. I think we should be proud of what Hive has already become.

There you go! That's exactly what I'm saying! And I think that is perfectly leverageable!

And tomorrow there will surely be more, thanks to all the great ideas being brought forth in great posts like this one.