Don't forget to review your list of witnesses

in #hive3 years ago

This is something I used to do regularly in the past but I have to admit that it has not been a priority since long time ago because I thought that the majority of the remaining witnesses after all what happened with this blockchain since our independence from Justin Sun Claws were really supporting and taking care of our beloved project.
However, it is still good to check the list from time to time and touch here and there if it is needed.
Since I have nothing better to do today, I went to the witness page on peakd and, in addition of discovering very few changes on the top 20 list I also spotted that a couple of my selected witnesses were not so active in terms of maintaining the blockchain and neither supporting the community.

image.png

One of them is @jesta who was really a reference as a developer not only on HIVE but also back in STEEM since the very beginning.
The first thing I discovered is that his node price feed was not updated since 7 months ago which indicates me that the node was really running unattended... second thing I did is to check @jesta activity in the blockchain... NOTHING THERE, last post July 2019, last comment January 2020, last upvote...I could not find when it occurred lastly.
So, yes, even if I still appreciate all the work done by him and hoping he is not struggling with any personal issue, my decision here is to remove my vote on him and try to give it to a better or more dedicated witness.

A very similar case for @kevinwong , but in his case he is still supporting and upvoting Hive posts, despite its node presents a delay on the price feed update as well. I am keeping my witness vote on him but I will be vigilant to see how is going.

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

This is good idea, agree. I even think the system should reset our votes from time to time and invite us all to vote again. That way, the work of both sides would be better. 😎

That reset would be a good tool, yes

The node data is interesting and useful to know. “Nodes” are probably something that I should educate myself in. In the meantime, the bit of insight you provided may prove to be helpful.

Thank you.

LeoFinance is not on the list?

Posted using Dapplr

YES, IT IS IN MY LIST

Hey Eddie, what is the equivalent of steemd on hive?