What I learned while time flew

in #hive2 years ago

Time flies and when you least expect it, 5 years have passed...

image

I remember like it was yesterday when I joined HIVE, aka STEEM at that time...
I found it by chance, I think it had been a while since I had made my first forays into crypto, the coinmarketcap page was my spiritual guide at that time and I remember that I was looking at the top cryptos then almost daily...

img_7097

Believe it or not, at that time or a little before, HIVE (aka Steem), was fighting to maintain the 16th position of the rank and had been among the top10 for a considerable time...
So it was not difficult for me to find this blockchain and I was totally fascinated by the possibilities and potential of it...

Today it is possible that not being in the top100 could harm us when it comes to being visible to newcomers, but the really important thing is that we are here and we maintain ourselves in a sustainable way, with time I hope that we will be among the top100 again while dozens of cryptos that were once there have simply disappeared or sunk into the catacombs...

I'm not going to deny it, the beginnings for me were dramatic and frustrating but over time I managed to establish a routine of sustainable growth.

If you let me leave you some advice on how to achieve relative and sustainable success, I will tell you the following:

  • Be yourself, do not pretend to be something you are not, share what you like and find your like-minded people here
  • Help the new ones who come after you, some will survive and be part of your social circle
  • Engagement, engagement, engagement... Interact with others. This is really the key. Comment and reply and, if possible, reward (upvote) everyone who interacts with you, don't leave anyone.
  • Use your voting power in a fair and rational way, do not seek only personal benefit but the general one, let's keep HIVE as a sustainable place.
  • Understand HIVE BLOCKCHAIN: if you are a NEWCOMER, read all the FAQs and understand the mechanics of the blockchain. It will help you to understand the technology as well involved on BITCOIN or ETHEREUM or any other one. On top of anything, HIVE can be seen as a pedagogical utility or an "academy" for crypto newcomers.
  • Participate in opinion and discussion posts, be critical but friendly.
  • Be proactive and not only point out the problem but look for solutions and apply them... others will join.
  • Invest in HIVE if you have some capital in times like these when the price is low. Build your HIVE POWER not only by interacting with the blockchain but also by "buying" from other sources...
  • Invest in other services, DApps, communities and HIVE Tokens (Layer 2) that are really worthwhile, avoid those who promise you the moon in the short term.
  • Keep a minimum level of HIVE POWER: it costs a lot to build it, don't destroy it totally in the next BULL Market. Always think in the LONG TERM.
  • If you are able, do something useful for the HIVE community, create your own community, your own token, or if you have a developer skill, create a service.
  • Keep learning: HIVE can be used in infinite apps and services, you have to be prepare for it.

There are countless good practices and tips that I could cite, although I think I have cited the most important ones, for the moment I think these are enough.

If you have any questions or need clarification let me know in the comments...

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

Congratulations! I will hit six years soon :) It is a learning experience, but people are very helpful to each other. Keep having fun!

!PIZZA

Congrats man on your successful tenure of 5 years on Hive. I hope the next 5 will be even better ☺️

Thank you man!

Congrats !!!!!! may the next 5 years be way better

Congrats eddie!
You have been as consistent as it can be! Doing your thing all along :)

Yep, thanks
I have to admit some of things I advice are easier to say than to do. Definitely, Hive is not for everyone

Congratulations! Half a decade of Hiving is indeed something.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Yeah, a lot of work done 😂

Happy Hive birthday day br, 5 years and still here is no joke. Congrats and best of wishes towards another 5 years.

Those are valuable tips you gave bro,

HIVE can be seen as a pedagogical utility or an "academy" for crypto newcomers.

Haven been here these years, Hive still serves as an academy to me, the learning just don't stop.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For me too, it’s a source of information for learning

Such great tips, thanks for sharing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are welcome

First of all, happy Hiversary of course, congratulations! And to the next 5, even better!
You and the running community have been a huge support for me, so thanks for that!
Have a great week end!
!PIZZA
!ALIVE

@toofasteddie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @manuvert. (10/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you bro!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @toofasteddie ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
steevc tipped toofasteddie (x1)
@manuvert(3/5) tipped @toofasteddie (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @toofasteddie.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more