My Hivewatchers blacklist. My apology to the HIVE community.

in #hive4 years ago

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@varunpinto/just-be-happy

For those who don't know, if you notice I have an orange or red number near my name.. Well, that is solely because I had copied a write up on my above linked post and did not give due credit nor add the source to the original author..

I am not going to defend myself because this is totally wrong on my behalf and is not acceptable.. I am apologetic for this incident and assure the Hive community that I shall stick to writing my own contents and tag the right source when it's needed.. I understand that taking credit for someone else's work is wrong and I have been guilty of it.. Incase I fail to do so, I am ready to face a complete ban on HIVE..

Being a blockchain user for a long time this was my first mistake and I'm am sincerely sorry about it..

@guiltparties and @hivewatchers, thank you for taking my appeal into consideration and giving me a grace period to rectify my mistakes..

I shall not let the hive community down :)

Sort:  

That's cool man. Accidents happen. You can't be banned from Hive. Don't need to stress out.

I'm wondering what's with the attitude of whoever manages that hivewatchers account on discord. I remember going in to check what was up with your issue and why they put you on the blacklist and then seeing how unnecessarily rude the account was in responding to you. They need to reconsider how they respond to users who make a mistake unknowingly.

It's important to try and resolve issues with users who have contributed to the growth of our community. You have been a big help not only with SteemFests of the past but with helping grow the Indian community back in the day.

Not everyone comes into Hive knowing what to do and what not to do. Infact, the underlying tech remains too complicated for most old users to understand or even remember.

Even after these years if this differentiation between a good and a bad actor on this chain cannot be made especially with users who have been around for a while then this is probably the wrong line of work to be in for whoever that has taken up this responsibility to maintain the standards for content creators here.

If these guys can't figure this out then they are probably going to drive out users more than they bring in themselves-which is how many exactly? This isn't 2016 and there is no alt coin mania anymore to drive mainstream users to using Hive overnight.

Just my 2 cents on this issue.

Yes, there is a lot of RUDE behaviour happening.. I'm just glad I was guided right by @guiltyparties and I can rectify the errors that have happened and be off the blacklist soon :)

!hw unban

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. It has been noted. We will improve how the Discord replies are being managed.

Glad to see your apologetic about it. People here are forgiving but show little tolerance to repeat offenders. You have some nice photos in your blog.

I'm glad the issue got sorted in a peaceful way and my account is back on track.. Sometimes mistakes happen when we go to do things in a jiff.. I stopped doing that.. I post whenever I have enough time and enough battery back up these days.. And fired my social media handler too 😂

I am shocked that if you only did one offence that they decided to ban you??
Varun many of us who know you in person won't ban you definitely.

来自于 [WhereIn Android] (http://www.wherein.io)

Well, I can't argue with that.. Just glad that I got a response and can rectify the error and do the needful :)

Thank you for your kind words and support :)

don't worry Varun, the great thing is, no one can give you a complete ban on HIVE :)

Warning! This user is on our black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #appeals channel in our discord.

If ya'll are reading this, you need to sort this shit out soon and while at it get the person handling the discord account to speak a little politely to users genuinely asking for help with their issues. Other than that, please keep up the good work on this platform as always. Cheers.

Hello,

We will improve the communication.
If there is any reason for this, it may be because there had been only person been dealing with dozens of abuse cases in last few weeks, and has been put under stress.
Many appelants repeatedly lie, manipulate and try to psychologically intimidate with threats or ad hominem to get their blacklists or comments removed.
It is every day situation and it was probably tought for the person dealing with appeals to be calmly assertive and look at some appeals with better reflection at times.

My apologies for how it has been dealt with.
@varunpinto

@logic, I totally understand the pressure on hivewatchers.. But they need to know we are human too and sometimes mistakes can happen.. I'm just saying they should first clarify things and then take action..

They are the guys who asked us to appeal on discord if blacklisted.. But when I appealed initially, all I got in return was "This is not steem, this all could happen in steem and not here and don't try and use your reputation".. I don't know what "reputation" they were talking about.. And someone tried to scam me on discord by using a popular account name.. And when I asked about it on discord, I was banned for asking about it.. It felt more of a personal vendetta against me..

But that's when guiltyparties got involved and removed my ban from discord and recently told me about the process as to how to appeal and get off the blacklist.. And that's why I did this post..

All this tension wouldn't have arised if hivewatchers would speak in a decent tone.. There is no need to be rude.. And if you look into the discord channel you can notice they behave rudely with almost everyone.. Even I could say that don't come up with such stories "Many appelants repeatedly lie, manipulate and try to psychologically intimidate with threats or ad hominem to get their blacklists or comments removed.
It is every day situation and it was probably tought for the person dealing with appeals to be calmly assertive and look at some appeals with better reflection at times."

That's how hivewatchers respond.. Oh and yeah, they do have an amazing solution for some blacklist people.. they suggest to create a new account.. Like that's an amazing solution they give..

But mistakes from them is "OK" as they are human.. But if we do one mistake, WE ARE SCAMMERS!!

By the way, just to inform you, hivewatchers still has serious issues with me and even were rude when guiltyparties took care of my appeal and asked me to do the needful to get off the blacklist..

It's really sad to see the way this entire thing goes.. I could literally have used my so called "reputation" and get off the blacklist.. But I have/had done a mistake.. So I was ready to accept it and face the consequences.. But the way hivewatchers treated me, it really felt like a personal vendetta against me for have being a active member of steem and fests associated with steem..

I'm really sorry again for this outburst.. And glad that guiltyparties handled the situation well..

About how this has affected my use of HIVE.. Well, I know now that I need to be very careful about what I post.. I can be taken apart for any reason because of "Mental pressure of handling scammers" stories..

Hello Logic,

Glad to see your response and that you acknowledge my point. I understand the situation you and hivewatchers are in as I've faced these challenges when a bunch of us folks fighting these issues individually came together to form Steemcleaners back in the day. So, I understand the challenges of running this initiative non-stop over the years.

I appreciate your response and for looking into this personally. While we're here, I sincerely look forward to seeing this minor issue resolved soon. :)

Cheers!