Hive and Coronavirus: Unpredictable Times

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

HIVE

So I'm here to try out Hive with this short post. I haven't really looked into Hive yet as lot of things are going on. I have only followed the previous events in Steem and the Steem Hostile Takeover in Twitter.

However, the previous Steem even before Sun was not really that supportive to small people here like me and TravelFeed where I'm part of (this line is not representative of TravelFeed). My question here is, how will Hive support content here? Will there be circle jerking like before? Powertripping? I was disappointed with Steem before and just continued posting anyway because I'm a blogger, that's what I do.

IMG_20200304_11304701_copy_1843x1037_1.jpegpeaceful view from our guesthouse in Udaipur

Coronavirus

I also can't think clearly yet because things are getting more unpredictable with the COVID-19 situation and I am not in my home country. I am in India with @jpphotography. Just last night, we can still hear people partying until late in the evening but the situation is changing fast.

Today, we are sort of quarantined in our guesthouse, and we're the only foreigners in this guesthouse. We can still buy stuff outside or have food delivered and we have already limited time outside since days ago after the atmosphere has changed due to Coronavirus.

We are not yet sure what we should do next, we can't get a flight soon, we are also advised to stay here in Udaipur until the 31st and we've heard of foreigners being declined of hotel/ hostel bookings so we're lucky they let us stay here. We are the last foreigners in the guesthouse and they will not accept foreigners for now.

The whole day my head has bombarded me with questions and I can't say the best answer because a lot of factors are beyond anyone's control:

Should we stay in Udaipur until the 31st? Should we move somewhere like Pushkar where there is a traveler community? Should we wait until the 31st? Will things get worse after the 31st and we can no longer get out? Should we find a way to get out when we can, go to Thailand? Go back to the Philippines when I can? Going home to the Philippines is only for visa convenience since I'm a passport holder but I do not have a home there so I would be in the same situation of finding for a place to accept me. Oh well.

I will write about the Coronavirus situation further in TravelFeed.io and @invisusmundi's writing Contest - What's the situation in your country?

Sort:  

I disagree that you say Steem wasn't supportive of small users and dapps. Everyone starts off small, and one's journey depends apart from other things, content quality and engagement. Your output has always been top quality and have recognition from many curation guilds. Maybe like many people here, you have been occupied by real life commitments and have not been able to engage as much as you have liked hence perhaps haven't grown as much as you can. Hopefully now you are travelling, that will change.

Under the current conditions, personally I think going back to Philippines is preferable for more than just visa convenience. You'll probably get better medical assistance if the need arise, and some stability even if it means renting your own short term place which you have to do when you're travelling.

Anyway, please take care wherever you are.

Sorry for the late reply, lots of things happened since the lockdown in India and I don't think the PH embassy have the power to arrange an evacuation flight for just a few Filipino travelers.

"Maybe like many people here, you have been occupied by real life commitments and have not been able to engage as much as you have liked hence perhaps haven't grown as much as you can." - Looking back, you are right. My first year in Steem was really busy for me and that's where I'm getting most of my frustrations although this new account has gotten some recognition even if I did not engage as much when I started (due to real life events).

Stay safe!

I'm still catching up with things so I just found your post. I still haven't posted anything on Hive.
I don't think that many issues that we struggled on Steem will magically disappear on Hive. It all needs a lot of work and improvements, but all those who care about our platform are here to make that happen and there's no longer Steemit Inc. shadow over us.

I think I would chose to go back to home country, only because I know the surrounding, processes etc. the most.

As of the moment, there's no chance to go home because only embassy arranged flights are allowed in India. The PH embassy can't give us a guarantee and I personally don't think they have the power and we're not priority as only 30+ Filipino travelers are stuck all over India. Unlike Europeans, there are thousands of them and their embassies have sent evacuation flights. Which is fine for me, I'm in a safe hostel with other foreigners and a couple of fellow Filipino travelers.