It Looks Like I Flummoxed My Account

in #hive3 years ago

Well folks, It looks like I flummoxed my account. I had been playing with hive-engine and some of the new token based web sites. I used Hivesigner on a large number of sites. Hivesigner stopped working correctly on hive-engine (it won't let me claim tokens).

Worried that I may have compromised my keys during my explorations. I changed my master password.

The Hive Wallet will not let me see my new posting key. It looks like I can still use hive.blog. But, I guess that's it. Without the ability to reveal my posting key, I am limited to hive.blog and hive.blog alone. I hate when poorly designed password change systems waste my day.

The picture shows a crazy gate with three interlocked locks.

tri_lock.jpg

Sort:  

I think it is still an issue after the hardfork maybe try a different API. things are still a bit glitchy.

There are only two nodes in wallet.hive.blog: anyx.io and api.hive.blog.

It appears that anyx.io is letting me post with my old posting key. I wasted way too much time on what should have been a simple password change.

Thanks for the help.

I hope you are able to seek assistance from folks well able to provide it. I once was locked out of my account and several witnesses - whom I'd roundly and forthrightly been critical of in the past - stepped up upon hearing my plight and helped me secure my account. Turns out I'd exposed my active key inadvertently, and some script kiddy was able to steal my liquid tokens, but because of the quick help I was able to stop the powerdown and retain my account.

There are generally discords for most of the services and entities on Hive, so find appropriate chats and ask for help. This is my best advice.

Good luck!

Thanks for the concern. People need to change their password whenever anything strange happens.

Something really buggy happened when I tried to change my password.

I tried changing it again a few minutes ago and the process went smoothly.

The reason I wanted to change my password was that hivesigner and keychain started acting really strange. They kept demanding that I reimport my account.

Thanks again for the concern.