Recipe for success on Hive

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

Dear Hiveans,

Perhaps this title sounds like clickbait because there is no "100% recipe for success", but nonetheless I try to summarize what I think to be important parameters for success on Hive (as I already tried here: https://peakd.com/@zuerich/5-tips-for-beginners-on-hive):

  • Be prolific: Thomas Edison had 2'300 patents, Picasso produced 50'000 pieces of art, and Mozart composed over 600 pieces - and not all of these products were great. The more content you produce, the higher the likelihood that some of your posts will be great and/or receive engagement by other Hiveans (upvotes, comments, reblogs, or critique).
  • The more you write (or produce art), the more feedback you'll get and the more you can hone your craft. By writing and publishing daily on Hive, a virtuous cycle is set in motion: image.png

There are good writers (e.g. @chekohler or @acesontop) doing exactly that. They publish each and every day, getting instant and peer-to-peer feedback thereby improving their thinking and writing.

  • At the same time you can accumulate Hive Power and take a more active role as a curator, and in doing so you earn additional rewards PLUS catch the attention of these writers you upvote. If you use the tool of curating and commenting, additionally to writing daily, you can further increase the positive feedback mechanism.
  • One recipe from my older post: If you tell nyHers (not-yet-Hivers) of this great ecosystem and community and they come to Hive by your recommendation, they will probably follow you and you'll already have a small community. This not only grows your number of followers, but also enhances your motivation to be active here.
  • Here are 2 good articles on this topic: https://www.perell.com/blog/the-ultimate-guide-to-writing-online, https://medium.com/the-mission/be-so-prolific-they-cant-ignore-you-82d674e56194.

I don't know any other medium where activity pays as much as on Hive. There are multiple feedback loops in play, and the more you use these tools, the greater your likelihood to succeed.

Stay healthy and have a nice day,
zuerich

Sort:  

I totally agree with you plenty of my comments and feedback has sent me down new rabbit holes and I find new things I want to write about and explore, i don't just writer for the readers but for me too, as I research things its easier to understand by writing them down :)

FYI LOL "nyHers" in my country means "fuckers"

ooh, I didn't know that 😂 How is it pronounced?

Lol it pronounced something like "Nigh" "hers" so if you do meet a South African, I suggest avoid saying that to them lol

Good evening. I always read your publications, but I do not always comment on them. You write very competently and up-to-date, but I am still a newbie on the blockchain, and I am afraid to seem illiterate or, as they say, a teapot. Thank you for your hard work. I wish you success.

No worries mate, you’ll find your feet eventually i am still learning myself and trust me if you go back on my blog it wasn’t always this polished in fact it was proper shit back in the day

It helps more wow nice post 😍 THANKU

Thanks a lot for your nice comment 😃

Good advices, thanks ❤️. For me, interacting with others is a good way to grow and receiving comments is the greatest satisfaction because that way you can see that someone really reads you.

Thanks for your comment! I agree, comments are a great tool 😃

Thanks for the mention. I am 100% that my blog is far from being a great one, but as you mentioned above, whenever I have something to share with you guys I do it, and once in a while I do it in a great way. Perseverance is definitely a key factor to have a good experience on Hive and engagement as well, true organic, objective and constructive one, not ass licking of course. My view as a content creator on Hive for over two years.

Good evening. Thank you so much for this post, it will really come in handy for any Hive user. Personally, I love to learn, and it will be useful for me to view your publication. If I become the writer of the year, I will not forget you. Thank you so much. I wish you success.

For newbies, thoughtful commenting is probably the best way to drive people to the posts they’ve done. Posts zoom through the new page really fast, but comments linger.

Its true it’s the circle ⭕️ of truth and also applies on Hive and former platforms i do it daily and passed 20 k just last month so yes thanks for the article and yes @chekohlwr is an example just don’t tell hi. He will get it in his head he is a good blogger

Thanks for your comment and congrats for your consistency 🙂

I agree with you, i feel that commenting and reading to others is what makes you known and encourages others to visit you. But you have to give good comments for that, that they contribute something, maybe question and make grow he reader... and above all you have to respond to the comments that people write to us... many people do not respond because already did the ¨quota¨ is 1 comment, and there you realize that they only comment you for the earnings, not to know more about the topic.

I agree as well, and I agree with you @tripode about responding to the comment.
I think that it is a sign of respect, and engaging as well. If I comment a post and I get no response, and constantly ignored by the same user several times, I will not be motivated anymore to engage with that person, right?

Of course! Even if it's a thank you, or have a nice day to close the conversation... but do not leave them ignored, that's rude... there is people that doesn't even answer the comments on their own posts... so sad.

Yes, I was was thinking on that, if I comment on somebody's post, and never got any answer. Once or twice can be forgiven, but constant "not responding" is not engaging.

It´s selfish... and later they say nobody upvote or comment them hahahaha so funny

Yes, no recipes and magic stick, bit every tip and advice is very welcome.

I have to confess (please, don't laugh 🤦) that I didn't now that this a blogging-interacting platform. I knew, but was not aware to what extent. I thought you post your content (in my case me playing the piano) maybe comment something and that's it. Lol. It took me two months to realize that I am wrong 🙈
I assume that I am a slow learner or just didn't know how to find a guideline of "how this chain works".
Other slowing down factor is the language. I proudly can say now that I write faster, better, not without mistakes but better than in the beginning. I write every evening an Actifit Report, and that helped me a lot to gain confidence in writing.
Next step is to start to write a blog thing, or to express some thoughts , I don't know. Something will come.
Thanks @zuerich for this post, as we already agreed in an other post, it's super important for the new users to know how to start.

Congratulations @zuerich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project