Steemfest OG

in #hivefest2 years ago

I just got a mail from @roelandp, 'pinging' me.
In the mail he indirectly calls me a Steemfest OG.


image.png


memories

That dude I phshopped into the picture was part of my blog back then.
Most people from those days have left... not that many read my blog in the first place.
So there is really just a handful of people who remember those early days.
If that what it means to be an OG - It kind of sucks.
Being the last one to hold it down... for whom?

I feel like a Don Quijote trying to hold up a certain code of conduct trying to bring people to write real blogs and establishing peer connections, dreaming about the good old days before linear rewards. I end up fighting windmills and now I am going to Amsterdam of all places.

original

When this technology was new, blogging was wild and untamed.
You could get 30k $ for a few words.
It was reddit, but fresher and kind of edgy.

For a short period I was really inspired and met new people who had original ideas.
It was so refreshing to find people who came up with their own ideas and drew it on the empty canvas that this blockchain was back then. People who did not need a framework or someone to hold their hand, but could just create content by themselves.

farewell

I want to close this chapter after this trip.
I am not quitting Hive, but I want to move on.
In a way, I give up.
I will automate my account so I can quit manual voting after 6 years.
I will probably also stop reading posts, for the most part.


If you want to hear me talk about the good old days and what was better back then, meet me at Hivefest. I'll talk about it one last time and then I'll move on to other things.

Sort:  

I want to close this chapter after this trip.
I am not quitting Hive, but I want to move on.
In a way, I give up.
I will automate my account so I can quit manual voting after 6 years.
I will probably also stop reading posts, for the most part.

This is very sad, but I understand it at some level. You financially helped (gifted/donated money to) many people (including me) on the Hive blockchain in the previous six years, but most of them left the platform. They just disappeared.

I wish all the best for your future endeavours. Whatever they will be.

I would like to let you know that I am (and probably a few other people) very grateful and very happy for all the help you did to everyone. You are a very kind and very generous person.

I really hope that I am not the only one, who stayed on the platform, after receiving financial help from you.

I also hope that you will find other good people, who appreciate your (and other people's) help. And maybe other people, who also help others.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Wasn't this always going to happen as Hive gained traction...?

Be interested to hear more at the Fest anyways!

sounds disappointed

we will see if the chain is open for some surprises

still, hive fork seems like it didnt bring what it promised

We shared the same thoughts several times, this one is not an exception. Good luck in any case - cheers.

Allright then. Bye bye namensvetter

yes idea is great friend although it seems impossible now the important thing is to do the right things according to our vision. Have a lot of fun at Hivefest and I hope you can reconsider and not abandon #Hive completely since it has helped me a lot, but I understand that you must continue with new projects. Much success in the future

It certainly will be a great moment to meet as a big family.

I will probably also stop reading posts, for the most part.

You think I read many.. I don't!
I like old stories, see you in the breakfast room.

Ohhhh Boy. I would love to join that conversation too in HF. I still believe that manual voting is the real deal, but I stopped having/ allowing me time to read posts :(

Oh no, this is a sad post. I get it that the initial excitement of something new and fresh is gone. And also that there seems to be a lot of hand-holding these days. Yet, still, I so much prefer it here than on other social media. I like making connections, real connections. That I haven't made many is my own fault because - I f*uckin work too much to be here!

Anyways, I hope you continue to be around and share your gardening, farming, and harvesting pictures - I enjoy them.

I will actually be back in Germany in September but will leave on 9/15 to go back home again... oh well... I'm sure would have enjoyed hearing you talk about the good ol' days 😊

9/15 Hivefest begins in Amsterdam.
You can stil change those flightdates and arrange a layover in AMS.