1.2M Views: a bit about the music video spirit and engagement

in #hivefilm4 years ago

7v7zxa.jpg

I realised today that the three music videos I’ve been working on for gothic/doom/prog metal bands Paradise Lost (twice) and Katatonia (once) have clocked up over 1.2M views in over 2 months on YouTube!

0wmhml.jpg

tu7w11.jpg

7xkq9q.jpg

1.2M in 2 months is bananas.

(Well, for a low-fi-video-guy like me)

I do love working on music videos.
Punk, thrash, death, indie. All sorts.

They can however sometimes be stressful and unpredictable to get right, especially for the varied (small) budgets and potential restraints they put in place.

I got a bit exhausted of making music videos a while back, so I took a break.
I had been generally making them for local/lo-fi/independent rock bands for about 10 years. But I suddenly had kids with my wife and I needed to get a bit more serious for income.

But I recently had an epiphany.

I realised that when I make a music videos my hard work actually gets an audience.
An audience who care.
Who are excited to see and hear it.
An audience who engage with an opinion - good or bad.
Granted, it’s not always direct engagement with me - it’s usually on comments on the bands social media etc - but it still translates and makes me feel good.

I enjoy working on corporate stuff too.

It can be rewarding, creative work sometimes. It pays the bills and does what I needs to do.
But it’s not art, and it’s certainly not appreciated by an audience quite like a music video.

Don’t get me wrong; music videos can still be a corny and bland marketing device; a necessary evil in PR land and often a narcissistic ego stroking session at their worst - but ultimately they act as a connection between the fans and the band.

It’s that connection that I’m seeing more than ever.
Videos can bring happiness to some, and frustration to others, and escapism for the rest.

But I’m happy to keep making them, as long as they get seen.

Thanks for reading, @ashtv. :)

Sort:  

i just checked and all the videos i ever posted on youtube (+ some on other channels) are somewhere around 170k, 1M plus sounds crazy :D

music was always fun to work with. but everything i did is with my friends so it could be that :D

Mate, if things are fun to make and you get to do it with friends then you’re 100% winning.

That’s mega man, it’s a good feeling to know videos are being watched 😁

only thing is that there is no money in it, but fun is more important :D

Congrats!

Cheers dude! It’s not bad is it? Quite chuffed they’re getting seen and heard

Way to go man and yes, working with music bands is definitely more interesting and rewarding than working on corporate stuff! Same with skateboarding! I always find comments at the comment section on Youtube who praise the filmer's and editor's work!

I've never been in your position but when my videos get more than 500 views and tons of comments it just FEELS GOOD. Can't imagine 1 Million+ lol

Cheers man! Sounds like you totally get it.
Yeah it definitely feels rewarding.

It is 1M+ combined views but at the rate they’re going I wouldn’t be surprised if one or two hit a million each before Christmas!

Oh man, I never checked the views at the images lol! They are gonna hit a Milly and you are gonna be an awesome and proud for your work videographer man!
Keep up the awesome work!

Thanks man, love your positivity!

Congratulations @ashtv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges