Edit day

in #hivefilm3 years ago

I’ve been editing over the last couple of days

Cutting, re-cutting, colouring and finalising the new music video for goth band 1919 from Leeds, UK.

Great lads, and the song has really grown on me.
Not only the melody, and hearing new guitar parts of bass lines on each listen, but also the lyrics.
I like how the lyrics reveal themselves and are open to interpretation.
I’m often not too great at actually hearing what what singers are actually saying, quite literally. I’m a sucker for mishearing words (I can be a bit thick) and it can change the dynamic of the song in a massive way if you’re hearing something wrong.
The meaning changes. But this has been a great one to listen to numerous times during the edit process.

Anyway, I digress.

The video for the band has coming along really nicely. I think it’s done.

This frame is the opening shot of the video, and I think it’s really striking. Especially as the smoke is lingering oddly towards the upper half of the screen.

img_9425.heic

It’s like the opposite of what dry ice would characteristically do.
It’s eerie and a bit magic, which is what I was going for.
Off kilter saturated green and red colours really make it pop.

Same with this shot, I’m a big fan of spot lighting and smoke being captured in its rays.

img_9424.heic

I look forward to sharing the final video, although it’s release date is likely to be a little while off!

I’m shooting again tomorrow on another different music video.
So I’m getting ready for that tonight with an impromptu charging workshop at home going on.

img_9430.heic

Fingers crossed tomorrow goes well.

Cheers for reading, @ashtv.

Sort:  

Got the whole acid vibe Goin, nice one. Very well put together video by the end lookin forward to seeing how it looks when you're done!

Cheers! To be honest I never even considered the acid vibe.
My wife saw it and thought prodigy. Which is a compliment.

Hope you dig it when the video goes up :)

Have fun. I expect it takes a while to edit things together and tweak it to your satisfaction. Hope the band love it.

Yeah I think they loved the first version! Phew.

Is this them? I am a closet goth and could probably get into them. I will check out your video when you post it.

Yeah this is them. Although this song has a way more up beat, euphoric feel to it than the one I’m working on.
The one I’ve been shooting to is darker, moodier and more synth based. Great melodies though.
You probably will like it.
I’d recommend giving them a follow on the socials, they always appreciate people who appreciate their stuff.

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Continue, I will.

I read the comments and I agree with your wife it reminds me of Prodigy.

How long does it take you to edit, recut, colour, etc...?

Awesome. The whole edit, amend and colour process is usually 3 days tops on this of project. Fairly quick. I could do the whole thing in 2 days if I’m prepared and focussed enough, but generally another day editing (with time between views for perspective) does the trick.

Congratulations @ashtv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day