Late to the edit (over a year!)

in #hivefilm3 years ago

I’ve just finished editing a video project I shot over a year ago.. it’s good to have it finished but it struck me just how different things are now.

img_7779.heic

Back in October 2019 I filmed a live show from a local Ozzy Osbourne/Black Sabbath tribute band.
They’ve been going a very VERY long time as a band.

They simply wanted a short exciting live video designed to share with potential bookers for events and festivals etc.
So, over one year ago on an utterly freezing cold evening (not dissimilar to now) I joined them at a packed out local venue.
It was great fun in every single sense, to both shoot and party to.

img_7785.heic

The room was bustling with bodies and drunkards. Most were casually swaying, but some bouncing around to the loud thud of the rock show - how it should be. Boozy and sweaty. Everyone loved it.
They’re a fantastic live band.

img_7782.heic

However, nothing happened with the video immediately after filming..
The rushes were kept on a secure harddrive until the band recorded a live-studio audio track to cut to the video.
Which it turns out took about 11 months to sort out in the end, plus 2/3 months for me to get around to editing it properly again.

Hey ho, it wasn’t a very time sensitive video for them or me anyway :)

After that show we had no thoughts ahead as to what might happen in 2020, and perhaps we took things for granted. Something as simple as a show, eh?
Oh how I miss them.

img_7805.heic

It was interesting to cut this together - it felt like someone else’s footage for some reason.

img_7777.heic

I think the clips still looked pretty good though even though it was shot on my ‘old’ setup and it was a case of editing it to their music with some exciting titles.

img_7784.heic

I’ll share the final video shortly for those Ozzy enthusiasts! All aboard!

Cheers for reading, @ashtv

Sort:  

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Must feel good that it's finished anyway. Time feels utterly strange this year, there's no doubt about that :<)