Tackling live-video streaming on a new project

in #hivefilm3 years ago

I started on a new project recently.

img_7448.jpg

It’s two weeks of live streaming video content for an educational programme for a huge internet corporation (that everyone has heard of but I’m not allowed to mention in a social media post)

There are different studios in the UK that are running these shows and I’ve been drafted in pretty last minute to be a replacement for my pal who, although he was the one who rigged and setup the initial studio, has decided to move on from the project.

So I’m covering the last two weeks before Christmas! 😬

This really isn’t my skill set though...

img_7437.heic

My background is tradition shoot and cut video production, and I have practically no experience in a technical sense about running a full live multi-cam show without any support. I was just left to get on with it.

I had no idea about OBS software, or ATEM multi-camera control or any of that stuff.
It was pretty daunting.
With this project I have become a studio engineer, camera operator, the sound tech, the director (sort of), the runner - all these jobs rolled in to one.

img_7459.png

This project really put my abilities to the test, and as it turns out - I can do this.
I’m glad I didn’t give up on it.

I was honestly worried at the start.
I was about to walk away. It seemed so alien and a bit much. I have other work on too that needs my time and attention.. could I be bothered with all the stress of being out of my comfort zone?

But I knuckled down, memorised everything I needed to know on how to get the tech up and running. I started after only doing one quick run through show previously. I managed to do one totally on my own 5 days later. 🙃

img_7422.heic

I don’t often feel proud of the things I do, but for me that was a huge victory and it gave me the reminder that we really can do anything if we just overcome the initial panic and work hard.

This job is actually pretty straight forward; it’s essentially about, about discipline, good timekeeping and being prepared - if the tech fails then we just have to try our best to fix it.

Lastly, we have on 3 x lovely 4K Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Cameras!

img_7457.heic

I’ve learned an awful lot about these cameras lately and they’re very powerful and versatile.
In 2021 I might just dip my toes in to the world of Blackmagic. ✨

I hope everyone is well in Hive land, and I hope to be back post again after a bit of time off. Cheers for reading, as usual :)

Sort:  

Sounds like you made the right move sticking with it,

I mean think about it - Livestreaming is going to be a pretty useful skill set to have going forwards!

@tipu curate

You’re right. I didn’t even think of the future work from live-streaming..
Time will tell if more opportunities come from it and if I take them.

Cheers for the comment as ever!
Hope life is great out in Portugal dude!

Respect 😁👊

Cheers dude 😎

there are just to much buttons :)

😆 When I saw the setup that’s what I said

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.