Leasing other Blockchains Resources for HIVE

in #hivegames โ€ข 3 years ago

๐Ÿš€Hey ๐Ÿค‘Hey ๐Ÿ˜ŽHey!

How are you, peeps? Hopefully all well, even during these COVID prolonged and never-ending times. So far, being out on an isolated island has paid off quite a lot... is it a perk or a curse? Yeah... I can't go anywhere without having to consider isolation when returning back or possibly not even being able to return... but on the other side, being here is a heck of peaceful life! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sometimes is good to see both sides of the coin!

Spoiling an ๐Ÿ’กidea, maybe... ๐Ÿค”

Just been thinking about more reasons for people to get into HIVE lately and how to make those reasons also attached to a reason that would bring value first and then anything of what is usually the "This is the Way!" kind of reasons.

So, is there anyone already offering a service where you can delegate HIVE (or pay HIVE/HBD) to lease resources on other blockchains (where blockchains allow, like WAX/EOS for example)?

I can't find it if there is, and one of the f.ups of EOS for example is the extreme price of CPU cost for anyone to even give it a good try for a couple of months. Even businesses or startups would have difficulty on testing stuff on the main chain. WAX is going on the same path, plus all the other derivated chains for that matter. There are other Blockchains that will fall under the same bucket but on different scales. So, why not?

Is it an ๐Ÿค‘opportunity or a ๐Ÿ˜ˆmenace for HIVE?

Things have to be put into perspective, which is... delegation would need to generate a profit of course. And normal HIVE/HBD paid, would need to be balanced with an escrow of some kind for people to be (and feel) safe using it.

Focusing on the delegation option (which is the one I am going to offer here, as a trial), this can become a controversial situation because associated with the delegation on a central account, comes the usual fact that "what that account is doing" becomes more important and hence at stake from what the community perceives of it. Hence profit becomes dependent... on the other side, if used accordingly, it is of great value for both the community and the ones taking responsibility for that account.

I am going to give it a ๐Ÿคฏshot!

Please comment, disagree, agree! Feedback is going to be helpful for me and possibly others mining my idea/suggestion.

๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿ˜œ ๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿค‘ ๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿคฉ ๐Ÿ‘‡

WAX โ™จ๏ธCPU or ๐Ÿ•ธ๏ธNET ๐Ÿ’ธLease

Because I am a games guy, I obviously wanna empower that community. So, I am going to, for now, use the WAX blockchain as a test case.

wax_hive.png

Please be aware that your request might take a bit of time to be manually processed, especially because I might need to buy more WAX to satisfy your request. So, let's not (for now) go above 100 WAX of lease requests. To best suit, the purpose of not wasting your time, contact me first on Discord for the best timing on the delegations.

HIVE ๐ŸคDelegation "Price"

Only accepting these for now, for simplicity. So, HIVE is more or less 2x the price of WAX, so lets say I will offer (adjustable if needed over time, if HIVE or WAX change value) 50% discount on the price it would take you to buy directly WAX using HIVE.

Example

If HIVE is at 1$ and WAX at 0.5$, then for 100 WAX CPU delegation you will need to delegate to @forykw (me) 25$ worth in HIVE (in this example, 25 HIVE).

How to initiate

Send me a memo (encrypted if you wish) transfer of any price (I will return it upon confirmation) with the amount of WAX (CPU or NET, or both) and the respective account that will be receiving it, along with the account that will be doing the delegation of HIVE to @forykw.

I will then refund you with what you sent and reply back on the memo if I can proceed with the lease agreement and how much HIVE you need to delegate if you wish to go ahead with it.

How to adjust

Not that I expect to reach this phase, but if so, send me another memo, with the adjustment and I will reply back via memo again (same process as above).

How to cancel

At any time you wish to cancel the deal, just remove the delegation and let me know (until this automatic) and I will undelegate the WAX too, canceling the lease effectively.

Refunding periods

Note that on HIVE the delegation takes 7 days to return, and on WAX it takes 3 days only. So this is actually beneficial for HIVE and will protect (slightly) against bad users.

๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿ˜œ ๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿค‘ ๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ‘† ๐Ÿคฉ ๐Ÿ‘†

What are the potential benefits for HIVE?

This is what makes me spoil the idea mainly... because I know there are there already enough quality developers to forge something like this very quickly at a moderate time of implementation cost. I can guarantee I would be a user, even being the one to experiment with it... at least with EOS I would use if 100% sure!

Normally when someone wants to use or try something, they usually use what more stable to try it. Usually (in the past) FIAT! If we speak in terms of crypto, then these will be either stable coins or crypto that is very stable over time, like HIVE for example.

If allied to the above fact we join the factor people would not like to sell it for its valued price, because there are too many benefits to hold it, staking it (for extra powers) and then using them as appropriate, then this would bring for sure increased value for HIVE.

I want to tackle that, even if I am (here) focusing on the delegation part of it (because I already see something in the future I can't talk about it right now), this is not just the only benefit. If using payments, then the value is potentially translated into volume, because it will flow between re-investing it to provide more service capacity.

Either way, it will also unite more blockchains which is another big opportunity for ANY blockchain community. The more an effort is integrated nowadays, the more it benefits from social interactivity.

There you go!

Give it a try or not ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ, either way, this is just the beginning.


๐Ÿ–๏ธHIVE5's!

Have fun, good luck on all the gaming, and lots of teaching "how to play" to new players.

๐Ÿค Twitter - @forkyishere ๐Ÿ˜ˆ (@forykw dark side)

For #news about the #HIVE blockchain, and other stuff. I am following all users!

In addition, if you are looking for a nice place to either reach out, share or just have a great time, come along to @atexoras.pub gatherings. We welcome everyone on the HIVE blockchain.

๐Ÿ‘‰ @forykw is running ๐Ÿ˜Ž @atexoras.witness

Vote for Hive-Engine Witnesses here


๐Ÿ Hive Blockchain Games ๐ŸŽฎ

YearTitlePost link (๐Ÿ‘†4+โ„น๏ธnfo)
2021The ecosystem is expanding!
(credit @solymi)
2020The power of having fun!
(credit @doze)

๐Ÿ’ณ Cryptocurrency Cards

Crypto.comCrypteriumTenX (retired)Revolut (wen?)Wirex (fuckdup)

by @forykw

Sort: ย 

After Hive, WAX is my second choice but by knowing it is somewhat EOS clone I become skeptical .
But your project is good because couple of month ago, I was looking for WAX myself for these reason.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had the same exact problem hence the reason, and also because during this weekend I did a major come back on EOS/WAX to check how things were/are.

It's a big mess of tokens/contracts... lots of XiT all over the place and tones of death done on EOS tokens and that does cause a bit of bad image and complexity only the savvy ones will dare to adventure.

Either way, thanks for the feedback, let me know if you wanna some WAX delegated... I am doing some research/catch-up on EOS as well because it pisses me off that you need almost 10k EOS (50k USD) to move stuff around without asking anyone.

Just to think the amount of EOS I lost on some idiot stuff... ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™‚๏ธ either way... we learn at least.

Sounds like a good idea maybe ask @klye for some advice on how it might even look like

!PIZZA

I was summoned by taggin'?

What ya'll needs?

Just regarding the post Leasing other Blockchains Resources for HIVE
could that be doable within both your loan beta creation or even in the future something crossed between them.

Just thought it was a good idea and figured it was worth a look from a master

Well, that recalls me I wanted to test your thing too, so if you can fetch me that BETA code, I would love to test what you did already.

But in regards to my idea, I people would likely need to interact with two nodes APIs to do what I mentioned. And ultimately run the nodes being supported on the service, which is already a lot expensive all alone. So, I was wondering your thoughts would be about this.

Thanks @dadspardan for recalling me about Klye

Codes will be handed out or done away with entirely here soon.

I'm a month behind due to falling ill. So playing catch up now.

2 nodes? Should never be a need to contact 2 nodes unless you don't trust one and need to verify its output. :)

No, I mean 2 nodes because we (or rather I) are talking about two chains (HIVE and WAX in this case).

Ooooh! Oh sorry man. I made an assumption.

Aye, yeah that sounds about right. I know for the Hive Smart Chain app I'm working on I have to hook into HIVE RPC stuff.. Then if I want to do cross chain swaps I also have to set up an entry point / listen point on their chain as well.

I'm no pro software engineer by any means, but if you or your crew need a bit of help or need an extra set of eyes on something generally glad to help.

It's only me here... lol

But thanks for the offer and gesture of good will. I am usually the same. And rephrasing the last sentence in my side it would be something like this:

I'm NOT a software engineer (I am HPC Systems Engineer), but if you or your crew need a bit of help or need an extra set of eyes on something generally glad to help.

Connect

Trade


@forykw! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dadspardan.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/20)

Well I use to pay attention to WAX, but I don't think there is a way to lease out WAX right? Or is the staking to others function as a lease?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There is no lease function in WAX (or any EOS derivated blockchains), but on EOS there are many offering leasing services that automatically lend you (stake to your account) a bit of CPU or NET depending on what you pay (rent).

It might exist the same on WAX, not sure. But cross chains I never saw it, hence here the opportunity to join two of the "similar" blockchains and take advantage of the situation (in benefit of HIVE).

!ENGAGE 30

I have never really understood the benefits of the delegating, I did it 3 times and it only worked for me with 1, another thing is that I don't have much hive power to delegate.

There are a couple of factors to consider.

For example, check here https://hiveblocks.com/@rowell (you have 258 available to delegate, wich is the total powered up less the power you delegate). Then, depending on your current power (when you delegate), the available power to delegate might be less.

Example:

you have 258 HP available, but lets imagine you have your voting power at around 50%, this means you can only delegate up to 129 HP (258 x 50%). If you would like to use more, then what you need to do, is to wait for your voting power to restore to max (avoid voting for example, to let it replenish at max rate) and then when you reach 100% voting power, you will be able to delegate 258 HP.

Not sure if that helps you understand more, but please do ask more away.

!ENGAGE
!BEER
!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@rowell! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @forykw.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/20)


Hey @rowell, here is a little bit of BEER from @forykw for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Damn.. forgot to explain the benefits...

So, when you delegate HP, you are providing to the delegated account, that equivalent of HP, which effectively will give the other account, more Voting Power and Resource Credits.

Although, a couple of things are different from normally powered up HP.

  • Delegated HP is not possible to powered down by the other person (its effectively your HP even when delegated)
  • Undelegating HP takes 7 days to be restored (similar to power down time)
  • Delegated HP keeps accruing the normal inflation. So when you delegate 100 HP, if the inflation is 3% year, then after a year your delegation (if still up) will value 103 HP. When you undelegate (after a year for example) you will get 103 HP back, not 100 HP.
  • Delegated HP does not count towards voting for witnesses

Thank you very much for explaining me and for the tokens.
in my case I think that I should not delegate, since I would lose the benefits of having HP in me acount.

ย 3 years agoย (edited)ย 

Yep. Delegating reasons/examples:

  • When you are trying to help someone starting on HIVE (because the initial account might not have much HIVE to post a huge post or comment lots of times).
  • Because you want to fund another account with resource credits when trying to create a business account to launch a product/software/script that runs many times and hence requires RC (resource credits) in order to issue broadcasts (for normal posting, they usually not very demanding).

Until you are really sure why you want to delegate HIVE, the best is to just keep it for yourself and play around, curating, commenting, etc.

By the way, do you like games? if you do, have a look at my pinned post (blog section) on peakd. See if any of that broadens your horizon about what's on HIVE (not just that, but I don't want to scare you about how many things are around, and usually games are a pretty simple one to show people around).

Yes, I know some things you explained to me, I'm not really at zero knowledge, but there are many things that I don't know, recently I started playing splinterlands, it's entertaining and it's lucrative, it's great.
When I have time I review it, again I thank you for taking time to explain.

๐Ÿ˜ Ups... it's hard to sense what's the right level of detail. Splinterlands is quite fun... had my kids for a while to try it out, but then it was not enough "graphical" for them to get hooked. Which is good somehow... just wanted them to get a taste anyhow LOL

See you around.

you are one cool cat! have a !BEER

You are asking for !PIZZA with it... =)

Cheers mate. Busy weekend.

Connect

Trade


@eythorphoto! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @forykw.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

I like how you start your posts

Might have been luck this time =) inspiration is something hard to find and to provide towards others.

Being yourself helps too of course... but not always works for everyone else.

Cheers and keep the !ENGAGE 10


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Connect

Trade


@forykw! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!


Hey @forykw, here is a little bit of BEER from @networkallstar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Amazing good game. Play

??

Good

You obviously like games, so be sure to check my pinned post on peakd.

Congratulations @forykw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 73000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 74000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


Hey @forykw, here is a little bit of BEER from @eythorphoto for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @forykw! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Congratulations @forykw! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Completely forgot this month.

Huhu, next time will be the one ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘ Have a nice day @forykw!!!

I need to compensate for this RC increase... for sure.

LUV

Connect

Trade


@forykw, you've been given LUV from @networkallstar.

Learn about LUV at @LUVshares. (2/10)

Connect

Trade


@forykw! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @networkallstar.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)