You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EXODE goes crazy in content and announces Colonization in just a few days now!

in #hivegaming3 years ago (edited)

Wow, @autobodhi , we are so like-minded! I read Lord of the Rings since I was 10 and reread it 7 times in my youth, and read and appreciated the Wheel of Time when I was a young man.

I find that Shadow and Bone on Netflix makes me think of the Wheel of Time series... somehow! one actor there would make a perfect Lews Therin. :) but at least we'll enjoy Amazon's Wheel of Time at some point.

Also, I liked something in Frank Herbert's Dune, at the time (but the games may have influenced me too after :D ). There was something there triggering a lot of imagination

I switched to George Martin novels then, and after that, I think I haven't found "yet" the one major new series I will love. Many other authors seem to use "character tropes", we seem to see where they will get.

OK, no one asked for my life story here :D
Leaving... ;)

Sort:  

Yes definitely read both lotr and wot many times =) I had no idea amazon was coming out with a wheel of time series! thats crazy. I might have to reread it, its been probably 20 years...

Definitely dig dune, my favorite authors were Asimov and Heinlein, but I find there is a lot more variety in the scifi genre than fantasy. Though I haven't been reading nonfiction for a while now. I've gotten so boring ;)