Relief - June 1, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

in #hivegarden11 months ago

Living room cleaned up crop June 2023.jpg

On Thursday, I got ready to go to the Registry and brought the truck to the house. My general helper and I were going at 8:30 to get mulch hay from a neighbor. We spent the half hour before we left getting all the plant stuff into the living room from the office.

We headed over and when we got there I’d put the truck in the wrong spot. So I went to start it and the brand new, 5 day old starter wouldn’t engage. Sigh… It wasn’t a remanufactured one, they’d said brand new. It finally did start, but I left the truck running until I had it home and in front of where I needed it to be to load more hay.

New East - mock orange crop June 2023.jpg

New East - mock orange buds

So we headed straight for the Registry and the line was short. But when I got my turn, it turns out the form sent to me by the insurance company was missing its whole central information area. One can never make just 1 trip to the Registry.

New East - lovage flowers crop June 2023.jpg

New East - lovage flowers

So we went to finish the shopping and even though it was Thursday, they still didn’t have all of what I was looking for. But I was told I could order cases of the stuff I stock up on. So I did that for things I had room to store.

New South - blue flag iris crop June 2023.jpg

New South garden - blue flag iris

Back at the house I got the food put away and my general helper started cleaning heat mats to be put away. We had gotten them all done and had started moving stuff into the garden area of the cellar when my helper friend arrived.

Cellar cleaned up crop June 2023.jpg

We boxed up the lights, got all the shelving put away, and the cellar was cleaned up.

Garden area stuff put away crop June 2023.jpg

I finished getting the grills in the windows and then it was time for my general helper to leave. She managed to pack 3 of the 4 bales she took from what we had gotten in the morning into her Subaru.

Grapes - east one crop June 2023.jpg

Grapes - east end

My helper friend and I started moving plants back into windows. I had 3 upstairs I wanted to come back down. But when we were up there I wanted to move a chest into the bedroom to put plants on.

Spare bedroom crop June 2023.jpg

When Tom had been here on Wednesday, I’d asked which room he’d like his office in and he said the old office. So my helper and I started moving stuff out of there back into the bedroom, or more specifically, the closet.

Spare bedroom closet crop June 2023.jpg

That’s where most of the stuff had come from.

Old office cleaned up crop June 2023.jpg

So when it gets hot enough for the AC in the downstairs office, we will have to move Tom’s office up here. My helper friend ran the vacuum around the downstairs and we were finished for the day.

It’s a relief to have the downstairs back in order and to have finished the upstairs office project.

Temp 96F crop June 2023.jpg

The temps had been steadily climbing all day and by supper time this is where it stood, about 96F. It was about 76F in the house.

Woodshed - cutting metal roofing crop June 2023.jpg

The contractor arrived mid afternoon and started getting the metal ready to install.

Woodshed - roofing ready to go up crop June 2023.jpg

It seems to be taking a long time to get the metal on the roof; I hope he gets it done soon. There’s still siding to do.

It had gotten hot in the house, as it tends to around 5 or 6PM. So I was up late waiting for it to cool down enough to sleep.

On Friday, my general helper and I will be bringing lots of hay up to the garden while it’s still cool. My helper friend will be making the first butter of the year. My general helper will be learning what he does once we are done moving hay. Then we head back down to the Registry for another go round.

Sort:  

Hello lovely lady! 😊

Oh my, that's such a pain about them not sending you all the right information for your paperwork, and even worse, having to go back to the Registry office a second time. Hopefully, Lord willing, the second times the charm in this case. 😊

We had a hot day here as well, almost melted into a puddle every time I stepped outside, which I dislike intensely. I'd rather it be around 18-22 Celsius, but we were up at 27 Celsius and the humidity was heavy, which meant we had to watch and make sure everyone stayed hydrated and cool. My handsome husband even used the hose to mist water over the chickens and our bull to keep them cool and our dogs chose to nap in front of the fans. Today is a bit cooler, thankfully. We're sitting at a balmy 20 Celsius right now, but there is a beautiful breeze to help keep things comfortable, which I really appreciate at this stage of my life. Hot flashes are not fun at all when you're already melting from the heat and humidity, just saying, LOL! 😊

Okay, my tea is gone, time to get to work and get this house ready for the Sabbath. I'll chat with you again soon. 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

Make that 3 times, the insurance company did not put the correct date on the form. So I have to go back again next Tuesday when I have a driver. Not a happy camper right now.

That's just ridiculous. Why didn't the insurance company just fax the correct information directly to the Registry office fax machine and save you this headache and stress? That's what I made mine do when they messed up and gave me the wrong stuff. Heck, all insurance companies should be willing to fax directly to the Registry and save their clients the stress, just my opinion, of course. 😊

They won't even send it to my e-mail, make access the website. The Registry lady said just go to the library and print it out again. But I couldn't...

No wonder you were miffed, that is idiocy at its finest.