Two More and a Visit - September 21, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in #hivegarden2 years ago

West - set up crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On Wednesday morning I was on a roll. I’d finished the laundry, cleaned up the kitchen, and was outside by 7:45AM. I started with the West Herb as it was the worst.

West Herb - cleaned out crop Sept. 2022.jpg

First I tied up the tansy as it was fallen down everywhere. Then I did the marshmallow and finally the catmint. Then I could weed. From L – R:

Elecampane, lemon balm, tansy (in back), catmint, marshmallow, comfrey

West - finished crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Then I moved onto the West garden. There wasn’t much left in it. I got the last tray from the cold frame and planted a lot of Sweet William and snapdragons.

West - per. foxglove, ligularia, spearmint, sweet william crop Sept. 2022 .jpg

Perennials left from L – R: perennial foxglove, ligularia, spearmint. The Sweet William and snapdragons are across the front. Whatever was in the center pot died, I think.

Cold frame - last 2 plants crop Sept. 2022.jpg

There are 2 poor Sweet Williams left to plant in the North Corner garden when I get to it. The cold frame is empty!

Front pasture - growing back crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The front pasture was cut a week ago and has already grown at least 4”.

I finished about 11:00 and went in to sit down. Tom came to take the truck in for inspection and discovered the gas smell I had when I took it to the dump was a split gas line. He had to fix it before he could leave. The truck passed inspection fine.

Blue things crop Sept. 2022.jpg

While he was fixing the truck, I had a wonderful surprise. I was in my chair reading when I heard a happy chirping voice in the kitchen. I looked out the window and saw a Jeep backed into the driveway, but it wasn’t my friend with a Jeep’s car. So I went to see who was here.

It was my friend who had moved to Maine! She was back to clean out her house to put it up for sale. And she had loaded the Jeep to drop things off for me and my old carpenter who lives around the corner. We had a lovely visit though all too short. She had to get back and get more done.

I got these beautiful blue things for my blue collection, a couple puzzles, a couple scented candles, some odds and ends, AND! 2 new cameras!

New big camera crop Sept. 2022.jpg

They were both Fugis, a little Fine Pix A500 and this Fine Pix S3000. It came with a HD .45X wide angle lens with macro and a HD 2.0X super telephoto lens. I was disappointed to discover the resolution is the standard 72 pixels/inch. I really miss the 230 pixels/inch that my old, old Kodak had. Much better quality.

So I had a grand time learning how to use the basic camera and taking pics to compare to my crap Kodak. It even has a signal for when I’m too shaky! So maybe my photos will get better…

I haven’t tried out the little camera yet.

Lee weedwacking wood area crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My son went out and finally got the weedwacking done upfront. He still needs to do the yard and middle pasture.

I read until I went to bed at 8:00PM. Thursday my general helper is coming and it’s supposed to rain all day. So I think we will tackle the boxes in the office. That will be different! Hopefully I can discard a lot of stuff.

Sort:  

Lots of work on the herb garden done. Those blue things look very nice! Oh! Two cameras! I ought to have a friend like yours!lol
I need someone to help with weeding as well. They grow into dense bushes in rainy season.

What a great deal of work you got done, you must have been feeling terrific. What a great surprise from your friend and such nice gifts to recieve. Have fun learning your new cameras.

I've made it out the other side of all the anniversaries running the first 2 weeks of the month. So I am starting to perk up again, until the next one rolls around... So yes, I've had a very good week, so far.