We’re Really Planting! - May 30, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

in #hivegarden10 months ago

Big garden - mulch moved, amendment down crop May 2023.jpg

On Tuesday morning my general helper and I got started moving mulch to finish mulching the peas and to get the mulch off the rest of the garden. I put some amendment down on the areas that had been raked.

I’d had a bad night and had to deal with a mouse chewing the plastic of an electrical box. It didn’t much like the eucalyptus oil I put on the box. My brother will be picking up his favorite traps and we’ll see if we can reduce the population. I’d not heard mice since my tenant moved in last August with his pet snakes. They’ve been gone about 10 days now…

I was very tired at the start of the day and was soon asleep on the couch when everyone left.

Big garden - mulching done crop May 2023.jpg

All the mulch left from the winter in the garden only covered the pea rows at the very back and this much of the squashes area.

Big garden - raking done crop May 2023.jpg

My helper friend arrived and he finished the weeding and then raked the whole area. He also did all the broadforking on the rows to be planted.

Big garden - mulching done, ready to plant crop May 2023.jpg

Then my general helper and I set about planting the rows.

Big garden - rows planted crop May 2023.jpg

From the back were 3 rows of carrots with their boards to hold moisture until they sprout, 1 of spinach, and 1 of lacinato kale. The next row was parsley but I’d not gotten enough at the farmers’ market. I sent my helper friend to get some more but they were sold out. My general helper was going to a farmers’ market in the afternoon, so she said she’d see if there was some there.

I planted a row of beets and she planted the row of celery. That’s as far as we got before they had to leave. I set up the sprinkler to run in the evening.

Oh, and I planted the last fence of peas that I had forgotten to do. No mulching was done on the planted rows as we will have to bring bales from the barn. We’ll do that early on Thursday.

On Wednesday I’ve not got much planned as I need to take it easy. I’ll probably move furniture back into place and pick up the mess left from doing windows. Maybe pay bills, we’ll see.

Sort:  

Hello lovely lady! 😊

Well, you are at it again, doing more than I can even imagine getting done in a day, even with helpers. It is impressive. I wish I could maintain a level of energy that would allow me to get as much done as you do. I always feel like a bit of a slacker when I'm reading about how much you've done. Maybe if I was able to nap I'd be more energized between naps...perhaps something for me to work on, I'll add it to my list. LOL! 😊

Okay, my tea is half gone and I've got messages to reply to before I start my daily cleaning/baking, so that means I've got to say goodbye for now and chat with you again soon. 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊