Elden Ring - Boss Fight - Rennala, Queen of the Full Moon (5th Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

in #hivegc2 years ago

Elden Ring - Boss Fight - Rennala, Queen of the Full Moon (5th Attempt with Screenshots & Video)

elden-ring-button-03-1623460560664.jpeg
Image Source


Image Source

Here's some quick info on the game:

(Actual post is BELOW this intro info!)

[GAMEPLAY] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting.

Source

[STORY] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord.

Source

Today's post is about the Queen of the Full Moon herself, the boss of Raya Lucaria Academy -- the dark Hogwarts of Liurnia Lakes in Elden Ring on Playstation 4!

(If you don't have time to read through all the screenshots, I've posted a video link at the BOTTOM of the page with the entire boss fight.)


After getting my Tarnished character vaporized by Queen Rennala's 2nd boss form, I have returned to grab my fallen runes and to no longer waste anytime. I have a special surprise for this floating sad lady, her crawling clone children, and her strong 2nd form.


First off I start by destroying the clone also surrounded by yellow light -- they are generating the protective spell around their mother Rennala.


On my way to the 2nd barrier-generating clone I grab my 50k runes and dodge some flying books.


This is a funny shot because I don't think I've even hit the clone yet but it's already receiving damage -- probably because my sword strikes are so fast.


I take down number-three in the middle of it levitating books at me -- we are in a library but thankfully no one throws an entire shelf at me.


As soon as Queen Rennala falls crashing to the ground, her yellow protective shell shattering -- I summon a Dragon Rot Breath spell, my magical nuke.


The Rot Breath wipes out several of her clones and quickly eats up her life.


So potent in this spell that after casting a second time, Queen Rennala has lost half her health.


I run away while her clones recreate her yellow protective bubble.


Seeing one of the barrier-generators again I attack with my sword.


Two down again -- one more to go ... again. As you can see from Rennala's boss health bar, the rot effect continues to eat up her life.


While looking for the third, Rennala or the clones throw something white at me -- perhaps a podium of some kind?


Somehow it hits me, demolishing half my life and a nearby clone who gets vaporized!


I heal right away behind a bookshelf with still no idea at all what was thrown at me but thankfully Rennala's 1st form will be shortly defeated by the rot status effect.


Further preparing myself for her 2nd form, I fix my magic bar with a potion.


At this point I wasn't sure if the cut-scene would activate unless I'd defeated all the barrier-generating clones so I thought taking them out was a good idea.


Here's Rennala crawling on the ground after her 1st form is defeated.


Seeing her like this actually made me feel bad for her, especially the weird way she was talking about the amber-egg she was cradling.


I remember the first time seeing the black smoke twisting up into the air from the amber egg and thinking, "Okay, what the hell's happening now?"


And just when I thought that amber-egg's spirit was disappearing, it starts solidifying into a big dark ball of bad news.


Who the hell is Ranni? And how many children does Queen Rennala have exactly? I'm assuming Ranni's her natural child and not one of the weird clones.


From Ranni's dialogue, it sounds like she's summoned a copy of her mother Queen Rennala except from a time when she was more powerful? All I know is her 2nd form is crazy powerful but the fight stage is gorgeous -- battling on the surface of an endless expanse of water with a giant moon forever in the background.


Rennala's 2nd form or Prime-Rennala starts the battle by charging up to try blast me with some kind of magic kamehemeha move, luckily I've been killed by this before so I immediately start running diagonally left.


When her magic cannon finally fires, for a split-second I think I'm dead ...


... But then the camera changes and I can see myself again. I take this chance to summon my other secret weapon -- some ghost wolves to annoy the crap out of Prime-Rennala and distract her while I run from her magic.


It almost looks like she's fleeing into the air away from the attacking ghost wolves.


She literally turns into a small moon so I watch the wolves wait below it. Rather poetic seeing a bunch of wolves howling at a magic moon.


I see Rennala and try to tighten the circle I'm running around her but I narrow it too much and running side-by-side with the moon she made.


When it lands, I get caught in a large explosion that deletes half my life -- bad move on my part!


Once I've recollected myself, I cast a Dragon Rot Breath to do some massive lingering damage on Rennala.


Thinking the wolves will keep her busy, I run away to heal.


Unfortunately, my wolves don't do a good enough job and I get smashed by her magic kamehameha cannon, which I somehow survive.


It starts eating up my life but I manage to dodge-roll out of it with maybe 80% of my health vaporized.


I drink a health potion and watch her pelt my ghost wolves with more spells.


Magic potion.


Rot Breath.


Rennala's lost more her health so she starts releasing her full arsenal of magic -- miniature moon, magically spinning staff, and ice missiles.


While steering clear of her moon spell, I see her destroy one of my ghost wolves.


This time, the moon blast misses me but another one of my ghost wolves bites the dust.


I avenge my fallen wolves with one last Dragon Rot Breath spell.


I knew it! Ranni's her daughter!


I win Remembrance of the Full Moon Queen ...


... And Great Rune of the Unborn.

I expected more from Rennala but then again ... I wasn't able to defeat her in a single attempt so she did give me a little trouble.

Here's a Youtube video below of the full fight:

Sort:  

Oh yeah! Queen of the Full Moon. very pretty.

Yeah I was left super curious about why she hadn't ... well I don't want to spoil anything for people who haven't played lol ... but you know what I mean -- surprised she hadn't gone after that person that had wronged her, that she hadn't tried to get revenge somehow. Queen Rennala seemed like such a sad character, other than her creepy clone children, I felt bad about fighting a character who was obviously in a lot of pain.

Lol, Rennala crawling looks funny. Nice breakdown of the scenes there. I need to play this game, hopefully it releases on xbox game pass one day.

!PIZZA
!MEME

Thanks! Some of the character designs can be pretty odd in this game but it's been a hell of a lot of fun playing so far! Hope they release on Xbox soon too! The game seem pretty popular this summer so maybe they'll do a remastered or greatest-hits version for more consoles in the future!


Credit: tomakami
Earn Crypto for your Memes @ hiveme.me!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@captainquack22(3/5) tipped @shortshots (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

A battle between a witch and a half blood prince. Wolves weren’t my primary choice until I faced the people in the mountain tops of the giants.

Cant' wait to get to the mountain tops of the giants. The wolves aren't my favorite summon but I'm learning multiple enemies distract some foes longer -- but overall I should probably start leveling up ghost summons more.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @shortshots ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.