What Does Hive Mean To Me?

in #hiveimpact4 years ago

A05A6E56785544DE87EAF423DF156D344291800001D65670EC552.jpg

I was 2 months shy of my 3rd Steem birthday, when the hardfork happened and I was adopted to a new home. I’m not gonna sit here and bash the old home too much, as it did give me a lot of joy and the first time ever, a sense of belonging to a community. It wasn’t perfect, but as someone who did get more out it than gave it, in many sense, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like the place.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am not the most community orientated person ever, more of a lone wolf really. Or maybe a starving one that stays close to the pack but outside it, to try and get some scraps of meat they leave behind. Anyways…

As the price of Steem had been going down for over a year, the money mattered less, and the people more. Those who were still present, became closer and more meaningful. You knew they were there for the people, not for the money.

Then that community came under attack, our home ruined but the true power of like-minded individuals was revealed. Now we are here. And I’m proud the be included.

Hive is community, Hive is immense potential, Hive is a buzzing revolution, Hive is freedom


Hive is a hard fork baby, but everyone loves an underdog and this one came by like a storm and probably took quite a few people by surprise, even those who were optimistic about it. I don’t think the blockchain world had ever seen anything like this happen so successfully, and the price of Hive token already shows that, only after a week. People want Hive, and they want to be in the Hive, they want to get in with the cool freedom fighters.

The community in Hive is comprised of individuals who have the same core beliefs of decentralisation and freedom of speech. I think the hard fork showed many people’s true intentions, shook out the weak people who didn’t hold the same beliefs, making this new home a more united and strong one. The witnesses did an amazing job at getting rid of the baggage (ninja mined stake and steemit inc) that was holding back true development. This is a fresh start, with more freedom to create a new, better world for those who believe in it.

As for me personally, Hive is a new home where I can keep doing what I love, counting on having the freedom to share what I want, when I want and to own my own content. There is nobody who can tell me otherwise, no overlord who can take anything away from me, to tell me what I can or cannot post or say. I have a problem with authority, so having a true decentralised platform is very important to me. After learning about blockchain and decentralisation, I wouldn’t have it any other way anymore.

Sure it’s fun to post on Twitter or Instagram a bit too but the decentralised world is where the import things are and what I care about the most. I don’t get upset if my nipple gets censored of IG, I just laugh and put up the same picture on Hive, knowing I have the freedom to do so. I can also count on knowing that when I follow a person, I can actually see their content and interact, not having some shitty algorithm determine whether or not I might want to see it. I decide what I want to see, like and comment on. I have the power, and so does every single person here for themselves.

I’m not the most tech savvy person myself and I can’t even dream of the things other people here are actually making, I’m just excited to see and use the Dapps as they come. I’m so excited to see what developments happen inside Hive and how big it will get. I’m very optimistic about the growth and power of Hive and people in it.

Hive has the cool factor, it’s the rebel that has something to say and will prove how true decentralisation works. Everyone else, take notes!


This post it is to take part in @theycallmedan's writing initiative. Check it out and take part if you haven't yet.

Sort:  

Future is bright for the people in the space. <3
I'm just praying for it to arrive faster. :D

All good things take time, patience my friend, we are on the right track!

You are right. I'm sitting tight and just waiting for this wave to take me to the life we all deserve! <3 :)

great post!

@tipu curate

Thanks!

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 15/27)

Hive has the cool factor, it’s the rebel that has something to say and will prove how true decentralisation works. Everyone else, take notes!

Haha! Love the last few words.

Truly a great place to connect. <3

Glad to e-meet you there!

Hey, hi, nice to meet ya! I tried to put something meaningful in the words, which does not come naturally to me, I speak in pictures 😅

Hahah!

Oh please!

You have done a fantastic job though! 😅

Not having an algorithm choose what I get to see is a big part of it for me. I'm not great at community either, or even posting for that matter. I honestly just like to take photos, and it's nice to put them somewhere that others might appreciate them. But I like to be in control of that. It's honestly hard to go back once you've ventured into the decentralised world, and frankly I dont want to.

Algorithms irritate me SO_MUCH! They don't know what I want to see because it changes all day every day!

I just hate how I follow certain people because that is what I want to see, and then the stupid algorithm hides their posts from me. I hate it.

Hive on girl !! Great post :)

Don't have to tell me twice ;)