Doll House for Athena

in #hiveph4 years ago
Hello guys! How had you been? Well, if you throw me the same question I would tell you that I had been doing fine these past few days. I really just got so busy with some of the art projects that I made and of my birthday. I turned 27 last June 23 and I could not be more happier.

In consonance with the art projects that I made, I am going to show to you the dollhouse that my cousin and I made. She just really wanted to add few things inside her dollhouse but I think I made an overkill. Anyway, she liked the final output so I feel happy and fulfilled. I am also proud of us to come up with such project because Athena and I had been so bored at home. By the way, while typing, I am currently watching a webinar on Branding and I am liking it because I could apply it on this blog and on my future blogs as well.

Are you excited to see it guys? Well, I feel you. I am so excited to show it to you all! By the way, these are the materials used:

  • Old boxes (you can use whatever fancies you or your desirable size)
  • Cutter (to cut cardboards or any paper-based material)
  • Scissors (to cut colored papers)
  • Old Magazines or Colored Papers
  • Glue
  • Glue gun and glue sticks
  • Acrylic Paint and Watercolor brushes of your desired size
  • Latex or thick gloves (this is optional though and would be use so that you would avoid getting burned by the glue gun or the glue stick when using it)

Day One

Athena and I did not start with a blank canvas because Athena already prepared the materials and was able to construct the bases for her dollhouse. She decided to use two old boxes (one is bigger than the other) that she has been keeping. The bigger one is used as the first floor of her house while the smaller box was used as the second floor.

Athena also decided to fix the structure that she wants to pursue using her glue. As you can see, she painted the outer walls of her second.
In continuation, I painted the outdoor floor of the second floor with white acrylic paint, while she was making the roof tiles as I have instructed her. I told her to cut the old magazines that she has into certain segments and then told her to paste it on top of her roof so that it would look somewhat real. I find it very engaging for her to be part of the project that she wanted me to finish.

While making this project, to be honest with you all, I really have no definite interior and exterior to push through. Just like the projects that I had worked on with, I just like being spontaneous. Perhaps on my future project, I would consume more time in planning rather than my usual "planning- executing - planning - executing - planning - and changing of the structure".

After an hour of working, I was able to order food online via FoodPanda. Since Athena and I had been wanting to eat fries and drink milk tea. It was also snack time so our stomach has been looking for something to munch. We also got to talk random things and watch random tiktok videos while on break.

After adding some changes on her dollhouse, we decided to go outside the house and explored around to look some figs that we could use as a fence for the second floor. We also took some leaves from the coconut trees cause we can use the leaves and its stick later one. We did this because we ran out of barbecue sticks to use for this project.


Installing the fence was the hardest part for me as the glue gun kept hitting on my hand or I accidentally touch it or land it on my skin. It took me an hour to finish it as Athena was also helping me out on cutting the twigs on our desired measurement. For the meantime, so the paper used on the roof was glued to each other since I painted it with poster color so Athena took time on fixing it. I must say it pays a lot when you work with someone close to you although I could not trust Athena to work with the cutter and glue gun because although she is taller than me, she is still young.

As you can see, I tried to put a lounge area outside the house but on the later portion of our project I decided to remove it because it would consume a lot of time and effort. We also put dried leaves from the cover a portion of the box that serves as a the separator for the first and second floor.

Since we were able to pick a number of the leaves I made mention of above, I decided to use it as the tiles for this bedroom that Athena has created partitions before she told me to intervene.

We decided to cut it on uniform size so that it would look more realistic. And to attach it on the floor which is made out of card board, we used the glue gun and glue stick. Using the glue would consume a lot time because we need to wait for the glue to dry on both surfaces.

Although it does not look perfect, we both agreed that it looks realistic compared to using torn pages from the magazine as our flooring.
![0010.jpg]()
Since Athena and I would love to get more extra, we promised to each other that we would do our very best for this project. Despite the fact that putting so much effort on this would be tiring, we have thought that it would be very cool to give our best shot. It was then that I have thought to look for designs online and be more resourceful in looking for some stuff to use.

From time to time, Athena and I had been conceptualizing on what to do. Since the house is a two-storey building, we decided to put stairs connecting the first floor to the second floor. We use the only barbecue stick available as the railing for our stairs. Since we have no wood glue, we just used the stick glue instead. This item really is handy and useful.

Because Athena has few colored papers, cartolinas, and construction papers, I decide to use them. I also bought some paper cut outs when I visited them and decided to use it.

As you can see, I used the colored foil that Athena has set aside as the bathroom tiles. I cut them into small squares. We also did the same thing with the second floorts hall. We decided to cut brown cartolina into small squares. You could see that the squares are not cut perfectly but it was okay.

We then painted the bathroom walls with black acrylic. We could have opted for something lighter but then we do not want to make our

I decided to take a photo of our work before the day ended and this is how it looks like. Since there was a box of Ferrero Rocher, we used its thick foil plastic and turned it into a mini mirror for the room. As you can see, a wallpaper was put on the bedroom. That was one of the images I printed from Pinterest. I wanted to use it for my journal but then I decided to use it for our dreamy dollhouse.

The door was also covered with brown cartolina paper and painted it using white acrylic. Later, you would find out that it would be covered with something else. The rocks I put outside for the terrace on the other hand would be taken out as well including the white painting. You will understand why later.



Day Two
As you have observed, the things I made for this dollhouse are all handmade but later on you would observe that some of the furnitures that would be part of this dollhouse are downloaded online, particularly from the Japanese Paper Musuem website. If you are interested, they have a selection of paper crafts that you can work with while on quarantine ranging from paper houses and a lot more.

The table is made out of cartolina but I decided to reinforce it with barbeque stick I got from our house. I also made a small bed with yellow cartolina as its blanket. Meanwhile the pillows are made up of thread that I knitted. I made these few hours at home just because I was so eager to finish our art project as soon as possible. I really am just so excited to see our output.

Because I was able to cut white special paper a day ago, I told Athena to put them and arranged them just like how houses made of bricks would look like. While Athena was busy putting the tiles for the exterior of the second floor, I decided to push through with our first floor. I did not use pencil and ruler anymore, but proceeded in using cutter directly. The cutter has served my pencil. I was so careful as I might cut my hand or ruin the box.


A day ago, I told Athena to paint the first floor with black acrylic and so she did. It was not that perfect but it did not matter. I also cut a huge portion at the back so that the kitchen would be visible. I also made a marking where the stairs should be located. The front portion of the house would be a small living room and beside it is the staircase leading to the second floor. A huge portion of the first floor would be composed of kitchen and dining hall.

For the windows not to look dull, I decided to reinforce it with barbecue sticks cut into desirable sizes. I also began designing the living room with a television from Sylvannas and some cutouts from a music magazine. Meanwhile I added a fridge on the dining room/ kitchen, and a blue cutout from a magazine that would serve as a carpet.


I made a nook corner for the second floor. As you can see, There is a portion where there is a shelf. Since I wanted to put some books there, Athena handed me out small books from one of her favorite toys. A small camera has also been added. I also made a small chair made out of a twine I saw she was keeping, while its feet is madeup of barbecue stick cut into small but equal sizes.

On the other hand, Athena was so proud of her work, I as well was so proud of the exterior. It does not look fancy but has a homey vibe which we both liked.


Day Three

Before I went to Athena's house, I printed a couple of printable papercrafts from the website I mentioned above. You can also do the same thing if you want a cheaper but better looking dollhouse for you, your siblings, your kids, or anyone you know who would love it.

As you could see, I consumed a portion of the second floor and turned it into a vanity area. I decided to put a long table and on top of it are some beauty products I printed. I also added a room leading to the bedroom for the sake of privacy.

Although not seen, at the corner I added a thin plastic straw and it serves as the shower. I added tiles on the wall with a lighter color. I also used the sink that I found out on the website. Meanwhile the bowl has been Athena's toy from one of her store-bought dollhouses.

As you can see, I put some times on the wall but did not cover the entire wall. I painted the remaining portion with pink poster color paint. I added a cute table and laptop. The cut-outs that you can see it from a magazine I got from my brother.

And this is how the terrace looks like. I printed a signage and this object that serves as a cover for our window. I also included some pages that I saw online that would give a vibe that the house is located nearby a beach or seashore. The floor, intead of leaving it white, I covered it with some pages that I tored from a magazine.
I decided to add a nice vibe to this nook but adding a small toy plant. It was Athena's idea though. Cute book shelves has also been added.

Day Four

As days has passed by, Athena and I had been so excited that I had been printing furnitures I saw online and assembling them. Below, without descriptions, you could eventually point out all the changes that had been made. I swear, I was just so happy when Athena and I were finished with our baby project.

0027.jpg

0028.jpg

Did you like today's blog? If you do, please do not forget to upvote this post and share it to your friends and followers. Also, you can follow me for more artworks and other writings.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!


Gaibelga or Johanna Gail H. Tongco has been writing feature articles (her hobbies in particular) online since 2012. She enjoys teaching art to children and young adults. She has served as a young leader and volunteer of different youth organizations. She is also a licensed professional teacher.

Furthermore, she took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies, Masters in Public Administration, and Professional Education in two different universities in Cagayan de Oro City.

Proceeds from this post would be used on future projects such as buying of art materials for the writer and of the kids she is working with. Please do not make this flop. Thank you!
Sort:  

Wow, super creative. Ang tyaga ha... parang ako ang napagod dito. Hehe. But this is such a beautiful and artsy doll house. <3

Thank you po. ❤️