Sea of Clouds in Mount Pulag via Ambangeg Trail

in #hiveph4 years ago

mount pulag cover.png

When we talk about “sea of clouds”, perhaps the very first spot that Filipinos would think is Mt. Pulag. Dubbed as the “playground of the gods”, Mt. Pulag is Luzon’s highest peak with its summit above the clouds at 2,926 miles above sea level. The mountain is surrounded by the provinces of Benguet, Ifugao, and Nueva Vizcaya.

mount pulag trails map.png
Source: PinoyMountaineer

I’ve always wanted to stand on top of Mt. Pulag’s summit. But I always thought the experience would be too beautiful to be witnessed by myself. So, I told my best friend @namranna that I need to see the “sea of clouds” there and she has to come with me 🤣And so she did. She booked a flight along with our close friend, Lyngie. We’ve all been friends since 2011.

To make the most of their trip, we decided to go to Enchanted Kingdom before mountain trekking. You can check Ann's post for our “prequel” to this trip. Unfortunately, she hasn’t written the continuation of that post yet. So, I’ll take it from here. Haha! Anyway, Ann found a travel organizer on Facebook - her name is Rhej Diaz. This was our itinerary:

Itinerary provided by travel organizer


🌞 DAY 1

Registration & Orientation

Mt. Pulag is a national park and a protected area. It is home to a variety of plant and wildlife species. Thus, anyone going up the mountain must be registered with the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR). The day of our climb was on a long weekend, so perhaps that’s the reason why a lot of people were queueing for the orientation. So, the first day was really just allocated for this purpose. And for settling ourselves comfortably before the climb.

I’m not sure how a DIY trip for this would be pulled off. Tourists were called in groups with the travel organizer representing them. We waited for almost half a day in there. The orientation was around 30 minutes which includes a video presentation, an overview of the trails, cautionary reminders, and addressing questions.

There are 4 trails that will lead you to Mt. Pulag’s summit. The most famous ones are via Ambangeg trail and via Akiki trail. The Ambangeg trail--the one we took--is the easiest one suited for beginners. On the other hand, Akiki trail--my ultimate goal-- is the hardest one suited for the more experienced hikers. It takes them more than a day before they reach the summit.

They reminded us to respect everything we see in Mt. Pulag. We’re not allowed to take a piss anywhere; there are makeshift restrooms for that in the camps. The mountain is mystical and revered especially by the locals. It’s believed that the spirits of their ancestors are in the forests. We were told to follow the local guides that will accompany us so as not to get lost. Apparently, there are cases where people get lost for days in the mountain!

Getting Ourselves Comfortable in Banban Homestay

ezgif.comresize.gif

After the orientation, we rode topload on the way to our accommodations in Banban homestay. This is very common in the Mountain Province. You’ll usually see foreigners sit on top of the jeepney's roof along with the bags. I wanted to do this during my solo birthday trip to Sagada, but lost confidence cause I was by myself. This time, I got to do it with friends!

IMG_0118.JPG IMG_0101.JPG
IMG_0083.JPG IMG_0071.JPG

We took a few pictures around the calming provincial landscapes. Then, we called it an early night to get ready for tomorrow’s climb.


🌞 DAY 2

We knew that climbing Mt. Pulag and witnessing the sea of clouds wasn’t guaranteed. This is a natural phenomenon and we are just observers. If it happens, then great. If we’re only going to see fog, then we’ll have a reason to come back. But fortunately, when we woke up and peeked at the skyline, the clouds looked promising. The locals told us there’s a high chance we’ll see what we went there for. What a great morning!

We ate just enough hot porridge to warm our insides because dear Lord was it cold! We prepared layers of clothing (I wore 3 on top of my undergarments) and even brought extra jackets if the going gets tough. We emptied our bladders as much as we could because the bathroom facilities are not so stellar up there in the camps. We collected our essentials in one backpack to travel light; we just took turns carrying it.

With our headlamps ready, the trek starts.

Camp 1

The way to Camp 1 was quite a party because there were a lot of trekkers. We passed by the mossy forests that were wet from mildew. It was a warm-up trek with not many slopes. We just walked mostly on the wide trail. We took a slight rest in Camp 1 and started eating some of our trail food 😅

Camp 2

The area going to and around Camp 2 is already surrounded by grasslands. The terrain started to get uneven and the slopes were going steeper. It was tolerable for me, but it was quite challenging for Lyngie. So, we had to slow down a bit for her.

The viewing area for the sea of clouds is near Camp 2. So when daybreak was starting to show, we hurried our pace in hopes of getting there before the Sun would make its grand entrance. The slopes went even steeper all the way to the viewing area, but I could already make out the clearing. In the words of Miley Cyrus,

I can almost see it. That dream I’m dreaming.

I was so excited I told my friends I have to go ahead to the top. And voila, there it is, the sea of clouds!

20190224_061526.jpg

We were just right on time because the sun wasn’t peeking yet. There was still enough time for people to prepare their equipment and for us to find the right spot. When the Sun’s rays started to peek through the clouds, we were all holding our breath, cameras ready to capture this unforgettable moment. As the Sun slowly rose up and greeted us with warm caresses to our awe-stricken faces, I think I heard choirs of angels singing in my head.


 
Unbelievable.
What a sight to behold.

I’m almost certain I’ve seen paradise.

tiny specks.png

Many thoughts crossed my mind at that moment. Back in the city, I wake up, look at the time on my phone, and go about my daily routine. Without so much as an appreciation that the Sun rose again. This happens every day, but we don’t get to witness it because we, lowly beings, are busy down the city hustling. While we’re stressing over our work and going about our daily routine, this natural phenomenon never fails to happen: the sun always rises above the clouds.

It’s such a humbling and thought-provoking experience. We’re truly just tiny specks of dust in this vast universe. No words are enough to describe God’s work of art right before my eyes.

The Summit

After watching the sunrise, the group had a choice if we were to finish the climb to the summit. If we opted ourselves out, we could wait at Camp 2. Guess what? I’m not going anywhere but up! Let’s make the most of this experience! Lyngie was hesitant to go to the summit, but we encouraged her. It’s gonna be worth it, I know. We’ll just have to go at our own pace.

The trek to the summit offered a lot of opportunities for picturesque landscapes. Being the frustrated model that I was lol, I took Instagram-worthy pictures.

Mountain Photo Collage pulag.png

At some point in the journey, I could already see the summit which pumped me up. The slope was steep and long but I was eager to finish it in one go. I can’t wait to be on top! I asked my friends if I could go ahead (yet again) because I just can’t wait any longer! We’ll just have to regroup at the top. Although the summit was crowded, it was not that spacious so surely we’d see each other there.

With one deep breath and a lot of juicy excitement, I kept climbing and climbing and climbing. Almost oblivious to my harsh loud breaths. I barely gave notice to the pain in my thighs as I continued climbing because my eyes were just glued to the summit. It’s right there...Then, finally, I’m at the top - 2,926 miles above sea level.

I saw the wooden sign that marks Mt. Pulag’s summit. I finally took a seat and caught my breath properly. Man, I would climb Mt. Pulag again and again because the view is too spectacular. There’s no way I could get bored of this view and the feel of the cold fresh wind. After a few minutes, we finally saw each other at the top and took a picture with our trophy - the summit sign.

The Descent of Friendship

There’s a very funny story during our descent. We thought we lost Lyngie to the forest! Lyngie’s energy was running low already, thanks to peer pressure 😅 She had to stop every now and then on the way down. Ann and I decided to go first and trusted her with the local guide. We’re just going to meet up at Camp 1.

We waited for her in Camp 1, until it took so long that it started to worry us. There’s still no sight of her. We decided to go the way back up even if my ankle hurts because I sprained it on the way down. But another local guide who’s sweeping the area for tourists said the last ones have already descended. We tried calling or texting her, but there’s no signal. There’s no choice but to hope Lyngie has somehow slipped past us unknowingly. Not lost forever to the forest and serve as just one of the scare stories in this small town.

True enough, when we arrived at the homestay, she’s all fed and cleaned up already! Meanwhile, here we were still sweaty, hungry, sore, and worried. I’m confused about whether to feel relieved or frustrated when we saw Lyngie. In the end, we just laughed it off and told our own stories.

What a mystical place you really are, Mt. Pulag.

LRM_EXPORT_178034161132811_20190609_200330444.jpeg

✨END✨


This is my entry to the Hive PH Top Philippine Vacation Spots Challenge

 


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers, and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.
Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!

Sort:  

Enjoy your time

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Shared in Twitter:

Kananing oi! Huhu! Nag Pulag sad unta mi pag last May kung wala pa ang Covid

Hoy i invite myself bii hahahaha bagag nawng. I wanna climb Pulag again and again ❤️

Next time. Akiki Trail unta mi ato. Sayanga lagi

Cge haa. Kuyog ko, kay way makig uban nako sa Akiki lol.

Gorabells. Magplan ta.

Congratulations @kayceeports2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators

Stunning views & top notch report. That deserves some...

@tipu curate 2

:)

Thank you! 🤩

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #924.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you always @pinmapple 🥰

You're welcome always @kayceeports2020👍🙂

Ang hirap talunin sa contest nito! Haha
Good work and good luck, @kayceeports2020!

Thank you! Yours was amazing too, I left a comment 😉

I'm not a traveler gyud sis kay madala ra gyud ko sa kahig, but reading your posts make me very excited to try it out for myself as well! Kanus-a pa?

Why, you're a joy to travel with man sis! I'll post our Boracay trip here? Lol the Bora nights 😂🤭