Re-introduction Post! ♥

in #hiveph3 years ago (edited)

Hey, everyone! I haven’t been active in a long time but my friend has convinced me to come back! Despite being around for awhile now, I figured I should make a new introduction post :>


2014, 2018, 2020

01 01 v2 v3.png

My name is kothy, I’m a 20 year old game art student. I started taking interest in drawing waayy back when I was in grade school and I’ve only started getting serious about it recently. All it has been was a hobby until I saw the course Game Art and Design. Despite not knowing whether I would get in the university that offers the course, I had already started getting serious months before. I loved playing games, and I loved drawing, this course felt the most fitting for me. Despite being unsure of the career I’d be having when I take this course, I gambled and enrolled in it hehe I just pray to God it actually works out for me because my other option would be a streamer and I am NOT very good with games and I don’t think that would be a very interesting content to watch :>

As most artists have, I also developed my love for drawing through watching anime! I’d look up youtube videos on how to draw certain anime characters and I’d follow it as closely as I can. One day, we had lost internet connection and I wasn’t able to play my games (back then I’d only play Dota 2 hihi) so I started to fool around MS Paint. I’d end up making a cute character using a mouse and the curve tool and whenever I’d show my parents they’d be super delighted!

08.png


My first digital drawing ♥

22.jpg

As my mom saw my interest in digital drawing, she decided to surprise me with a drawing tablet on Christmas of 2014! I started being more interested in digital drawing as I already had the means to actually draw. It used to be just a hobby before. I’d draw whenever I feel like drawing and as I have quite the addiction to playing video games, it wasn’t very often hehe


image.png

But as I started my art blog, I actually had a driving force because it was necessary that I posted regularly. It was also thanks to the same platform that I got to meet a lot of people who really helped me along the way. Not only with my drawing skills but also with my life problems because at some point it was only my art blog that was keeping me going. All the cheese aside, here are my first few posts!

After awhile, I started actually considering drawing as a career and that’s when I decided to get serious, to get better. I practiced a lot of techniques, watched a lot of tutorials and after awhile I got used to lineless art! Here are some of my pieces that I’m most proud of! As I’ve explored game art, I’ve become obsessed with Riot art splashes. It is just. Amazing. I’m still sooo far from that level like miles away but I like to think I’m slowly creeping my way towards it :>


Years later, I still love drawing and still have the passion to keep improving :> And I'm not sure if I've said it enough but I have so many people keeping me determined to pursue art and I'm forever grateful :> I am still working on a lot of drawings and I hope you guys look forward to it because I will be posting them! I would like to post them individually rather than in one go so I can go in details on how it came to :>


For now, I can share the stuff I'm working on right now:

This is Childe and Lumine from the game Genshin Impact :>
chilumi wip5.png

I wanted to take a quick break from the ChildexLumine piece and did a quick attempt to make this background (also from Genshin Impact) :>
ning bg.png


That's about it!

If you wish to have an amazing companion through your drawing journey, feel free to join our discord! It's full of amazing artists, both new and old, who are willing to share their experiences. I learned a lot from them, I hope you will too n_n

https://discord.gg/C9PsHV6


Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.

All images were made by @kothy
All rights reserved

Sort:  

Welcome back, Kothy! I missed your art.

Also, glad to see I'm not the only one from the Geshin Impact fandom around here 😂

Thank you! ♥ Glad to be back hehe

Genshin Impact is gold mine! The aesthetic is just too much :> You can take a screenshot at any point of the game and make it a wallpaper 😆