Tripling Down on Hive Power Up Day!

in #hivepud4 years ago
I've had plans for a couple weeks to get my first taste of #HivePUD...

I wanted my first time to be special, and originally planned on doubling my HP. For once though, the universe wasn't completely against me, and I got a great deal by buying in today! I did have a bit of trouble with the whole ordeal, but adversity only makes the end result sweeter, right?

pudoct2020.png

Buying HIVE with fiat isn't exactly the easiest thing to do.

I was having a lot of trouble buying in this morning. I'm pretty sure there's no place I can just buy HIVE directly with a debit card, so I wanted to buy Litecoin to swap for HIVE with @blocktrades. Something about my debit card just wasn't having it, and I kept getting processing errors. I don't think Bank of America wants people buying crypto with their cards...

No bigs. Where there's a will, there's a way.

I know that I can buy crypto through Coinbase with Paypal, and despite that not being my favored route for a number of reasons, I guess I'll have to eat the fees on this one. Still, HIVE is sitting around $0.15 when I bought in, so I'm still winning. However, this means I have to leave my house to deposit cash into my Paypal account. This means an $2.50 ATM withdrawal fee, and a $3.95 deposit fee at the Dollar General down the street. 🤦‍♂

Think about the sweet deal, Sweeney. Wu Sah

Okay. So I deposited $150 at the store, then bought 3.1 Litecoin for $145. Trading it for HIVE was super quick and smooth as always thanks again to @blocktrades, and within a few minutes, I finally converted my fiat to HIVE.

image.png

I got 923 HIVE for that $145!

Like I said at the start of this post, I originally planned on at least doubling up. My current Hive Power is still only a shamefully meager 343.582, so I knew it wouldn't be too hard to do. With what I got, though, now I'm tripling my current Hive Power!

image.png

image.png

In over 3 years, my Steem Power never hit 1,000.

image.png

The HIVE logo will be tattooed over/into these very soon...

I've always used STEEM/HIVE as money, and have withdrawn a very large majority of my post earnings over those years. I've never been one to save money, no less invest money, and Steemit never pushed me over that line despite it having such an affect on my life that I felt it deserved a permanent spot on my hands to look at while I type... Hive is different, and we have a real opportunity here to make this platform everything we once envisioned and more.

I believe in the power of HIVE, and for the first time in my life, I'm determined to save as much money for the future as I can. This will be the first time I've invested so much directly into buying and staking HIVE, and I'm ready to start putting in more than I'm taking out. I know 1,000HP isn't HUGE or anything in the grand scheme, but I'm honestly proud of myself for this accomplishment, however small anyone else may think it is. This is my first big step toward being a Dolphin, and I'm not going to hold my breath or anything, but it would be amazing if I were in a position to be able to double or triple down again next month! I'll just have to play that by ear 😅

I'm so happy to be able to take part in Power Up Day!

With rest of the HIVE I got, I'm going to pump up my @dcitygame to make this little stack grow and contribute to next month's PUD! If you're not playing dCity yet, you're truly missing out!

Thanks so much for reading!

If this PUD post made your jingles tingle as much as it did mine, and you enjoy my writing style, thrust into that upvote button, then follow me for more beautifully entertaining content 😉 Speaking of, I have to shamelessly shill myself for just one second. 😂

If increasing the volume and/or quality of your content is something you could use help with, or need someone to write an original article that you'll own the rights to, click the banner below and check out my writing services!

ScriptShopBanner.png

ThatSweeneyBanner.png

Sort:  

Congrats on powering up.

Thanks a lot! Life has thrown me around pretty bad these last few years, but I'm finally starting to get back on my feet and be able to put something toward the future.

!ENGAGE 20

That is great. The chaos will continue to come. You can't prevent it, but you can choose how you will react to it. Keep it up!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations! I have a love-hate relationship with PayPal and was so annoyed yesterday when a client paid an invoice that way rather than Transferwise...because of the fee issue...anyhow, moving along...

I did hit 1k on that other blockchain and wrote a SPUD post about it. The majority of the Hive in my wallet has been generated on the blockchain through posts, comments and votes. I have won the odd contest and more recently, benefitted from a delegation and a gift. I delegate to redfish as part of #HivePUD because not only does it help, but I like the notion of paying it forward.

Glad you joined in. Hope.to see you next time!

Getting tattoos is a real commitment and maybe a bit of a risk in the volatile world of crypto, but I admire your dedication. It does need to be easier to buy HIVE. I keep hoping Wirex (@communitymanager) will add it, but it needs to get more prominent and used by more people. I've bought a lot via Blocktrades using various crypto I've acquired. Hope to see you as a dolphin in the near future.

!BEER

The biggest reason for getting the tattoo isn't so much the longevity of STEEM itself, but rather the "movement" for lack of a better word, it caused. I don't and never will regret getting these tattoos, and don't plan to outright cover them with the Hive logo. They will remain a symbol of the where this whole thing started.

Now that I know this is how I'll have to deposit my fiat, it's not a huge deal, and I plan to start making little buy ins here and there whenever I've got a few extra dollars. I'll hit dolphin in no time 😅

The biggest reason for getting the tattoo isn't so much the longevity of STEEM itself, but rather the "movement" for lack of a better word, it caused... They will remain a symbol of the where this whole thing started.

While I just wear a bucket hat rather than having the logo inked on my skin, that's exactly how I feel about Steem as well.

Hive may technically be a fork, but with the community moving across, it's just a natural progression of Steem.


Also, follow me back on Twitter so I can slide into your DMs about your copywriting.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

1k is huge and if everybody here did that it would take a lot off the exchanges.
Growing your account is great and adds up faster than you think when you power up.

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Yeah man! Huge power up and congratulations on getting to the 4 figure club! That will make a big difference to your curation and your account will grow a lot faster. Awesome!

Congratulations @thatsweeneyguy! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 500 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 4 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!