You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TODAY IS ONE YEAR SINCE WE LEFT EUROPE TO MAKE AUSTRALIA OUR NEW HOME! and WE GOT OUR MSP T-SHIRTS!

in #home6 years ago

Hey Millers!!

It's so good to see and meet you all.

It must be hard to have Jack far away and for so long. I'm hoping the house sells soon.

I read your comment to @teamaustralia about the kids in grade 5-6 learning things here they learned in Croatia in grade 3.

It was exactly the same for me back in 1989. We moved to Australia when I was 8 years old and I found they were teaching things I already knew except for the English.

Learning English is much easier when you speak it all the time. I can imagine the kids already taking on the accent 😊 because of their interaction at school.

Can I suggest maybe having English only days at home where everyone speaks English for the day? It might be helpful ❤

Thank you for sharing this post Sylvia. You brought back memories of what it was like when we first came here too.

Ps. I love those shirts! Well done Millers!

Sort:  

Thank you. Everyday it gets harder. The youngest son is 5 years old and doesn't
understand why Dad doesn't come. Every day the same question "Will Dad Come"? We speak English constantly, if they tell us something in our language I just say, "What, I don't understand what language it is." The girls are now well, they have received a couple of spelling awards, and the youngest still mixes the words. Thanks for the suggestion and nice words. I'm happy to meet you.