Easy Homemade Salsa!!! ~ #makeitdontbuyit

in #homemade4 years ago

The wife, who is 8 months preggo right now, was absolutely craving some chips and salsa last night. The only problem was, we didn't have any chips....or salsa. So me being the amazing husband I am, said I would drive down to the store and get some ;)

IMG_8673.jpg

My go to chips are Tostitos, the circle kind. The scoops are good too, but the circle ones I just like better for whatever reason. So I grabbed a bag of those and went looking for a good fresh salsa. I was instructed not to get a cheap glass jar off the shelf, but the fresh stuff, which just so happens to be like 3 times more expensive that the jarred stuff. 5 bucks for a small little plastic container of tomatoes, onions, and cilantro??? Yeah, no. I'll make it myself. Fresher, cheaper, and anything you make yourself has to taste better, right??? I figured so.

This salsa is super easy to make with just a few ingredients. You can get by without all the exact stuff I'm using, but this is my go to.

I usually prefer on the vine tomatoes or even Roma's, they cut really well without the juice gushing out...but we had some left over grape tomatoes that were starting to shrivel up, so I decided to use those instead of letting them go to waste.

IMG_8663.jpg

This was a rather small batch, so I used just half of a white onion.

IMG_8664.jpg

Cilantro is really key here. It adds so much depth and flavor to this salsa. It just isn't the same without it.

IMG_8665.jpg

IMG_8666.jpg

After the main ingredients are cut and in the bowl, throw in a heavy handed sprinkle of salt, and then drizzle with olive oil, and lastly a few splashes of vinegar. In this case, tarragon vinegar, yum!

IMG_8668.jpg

IMG_8667.jpg

IMG_8670.jpg

IMG_8669.jpg

Mix it all up, and finally, most importantly, hit it with half a lime. Without the lime it will be way to vinegary. The last two times, including last night, I forgot to hit it with lime and after the wife tasted it she gave me this look like I did something bad on purpose. "You forgot the lime again!!!", my bad.

BOOM! LIME!

IMG_8671.jpg

Now that's what I'm talkin' bout!

IMG_8672.jpg

Delish!!! You know what goes really well with this salsa? Or any salsa for that matter? A delectably fresh and tasty IPA. Say, perhaps, a Troll Way made by Insight Brewery right here in Minneapolis.

IMG_8676.jpg

IMG_8677.jpg

IMG_8678.jpg

Citrus IPA with 7% ABV. Tasty, smooth, not overly hoppy, with just enough citrus and good flavor to cover any over bearing alcohol taste. This one might be my new favorite. For $12.99 a 12 pack, it's tough to beat for an IPA. I highly recommend it if you haven't had it.

The wife was satisfied as was I. A delicious home made salsa and a good beer to wash down the saltiness of the chips, talk about a match made in heaven.

Let me know if you decide to give this salsa recipe a try. Or if you happen to sample this wonderful beer.

Thanks for reading and Hive on!

Sort:  

You should put a little bit of cumin in it too. love the bear idea though

That IS a good idea! I will definitely try that next time. It's good the way it is, but I can see that adding another element for sure, thanks!

Cumin will bring a whole new element to salsa. it's like putting salt on something

Yes! Loved your post and so glad to see it. That salsa looks amazing and I hope your wife will remember this for years to come. Thanks for sharing

hahaha, thanks so much. I doubt this quick grocery run will seep into her memory bank, but with this post, it has stuck in mine. So I will for sure be reminding her of this trip when I need to play that card, lol!

Thanks for reading and engaging!!!

Insight also makes a very strange seasonal beer, Crazy Aunt. Summer only so already getting hard to find. This year at least, only available from Total Wine.

Really different, it’s a gin and tonic beer. Very much a personal choice, you’ll either love it or hate it — there’s no middle ground. I had an immediate negative reaction on my first sip but decided to finish the beer. After drinking the first, rated it as passable. After two, I liked it.

But who knows, you might not get that far. Some people can’t stand it. Not at all like any beer I’ve ever had. Initially I was even a bit skeptical that it was beer.

Hey bud, thanks for the tip! I'm a TW fan, have the rewards # and everything ;) I'll keep my eye out for it next time I am there. I'm not a gin fan, let alone gin with anything, especially tonic...but I'll give it a go. I'll let you know how it goes!

And with a name like crazy aunt, it has to be one way...either you like it, or you don't.

Just went to load up and asked and was told they only had weird uncle or something like that. Bummer.

Yeah, had my last Crazy Aunt of the season a few nights ago. Tried the Rowdy Uncle once, not at all to my liking.

There’s a reason that the Crazy Aunt sells out but the Rowdy Uncle doesn’t.

Good taste?

Very nice! I really like Roma tomatoes for most of the stuff I make too. They are good without tasting too tomatoey. I love using cilantro. I have never thought to add oil to my salsa before.

I just got a tip from one of my regulars that there is a pick your own tomato farm like 15 minutes from my house, and get this....50 cents a pound! I just bought some Roma's the other day from the grocery store and they were 2 bucks a pound, holy cow!

The oil really smooths out all the flavors. Gives it a nice glisten, and all the juices seem to coagulate better together with the oil. It seems odd, oil & water and all that, but it just works :)

I will for sure have to try that next time I make some. My cousin has a farm and he lets us come and pick all the corn we want. You better take advantage of that tomato place! I see a lot of canning in your future!

Wow, looks delish. Thanks for sharing. Full upvote :)

@robertandrew, thanks bud! Back on that GRIND!!! Lol, good to hear from you man. I appreciate the vote and your time and attention. Keep up the hustle my man!

Oh man love your salsa, you inspired me to make a batch. I have everything I need here on the farm just gotta go clip some cilantro and pick a few tomatoes. AND I won’t forget get the lime😃
Nice post!

That's what I like to hear @farm-mom! Excited to hear (read) what you think about it! Must be nice to just walk out back and grab food off the vines, eh? I'll take some pics too :) Glad you won't forget the lime like me, lol.