Farm to Table ~ Harvesting a Goat on an Organic Farm in Mexico ~ #goatballsactuallytasteprettygood

in #homestead3 years ago

Well this one is definitely not what you would call usual content from me. But I had the opportunity to join along with my buddy Tom, and visit his friend Doug's organic farm, off the beaten path, here in Mexico.

goat tn.png

But this was no apple picking kinda day. No sir-e.

There were a bunch of goats in the pen, and one had our name written all over it. It was time to thin the herd and bring Doug some much needed sustenance and some cash.

When you live this kind of lifestyle, your options are to deal and work with what you have. In Doug's case, that means selling his fruits, veggies, and his goats.

Me and Tom got to lend him a hand and got to experience what living off the land is really all about.

If you've ever thought about homesteading or trying to live off the land, think again. Unless you are ready for a challenge. It takes hard work and lots of know how and knowledge.

Doug could read his land like a book. It was really cool to hear his stories, his upbringing, and how he came to live this life.

I wish I could have shared the whole days worth of video, but I had to condense the video down to something watchable.

I hope you'll check it out!

So?!?!

Could you live like Doug?!

Do you already live like Doug? If so, what part of the world? and what obstacles do you face that Doug might not?

Thanks so much for reading & watching.

Hive on y'all!

hive banner.jpeg

Sort:  

Totally cool. So will you be including goat on the menu when you open your restaurant?
Talking about balls, not the ones you ate, but yours.
Having the balls to pick up and leave all of the madness behind sure has provided you with an adventure of a lifetime.
So many things that you are enjoying now, with your family, just wouldn't have occurred if you stayed put.
You've got big ones and I totally admire your sense of adventure.
You and your lovely family deserve nothing but complete happiness in whatever road you decide to travel.
Life is an adventure, but the adventure you have chosen to take is totally out of the ordinary.
Good luck with it all.

So will you be including goat on the menu when you open your restaurant?

Ehhhhh, I doubt it, hahaha. If someone requests it, then maybe I can give ole Doug a call and he can hook me up, but I don't think my clientele is going to be going bonkers for goat.

You've got big ones and I totally admire your sense of adventure.

I laugh every time someone says that, because I literally have (TMI) larger than normal balls. It's just something that I was born with, lol. It's actually pretty uncomfortable in certain situations like riding bitch in the back of a car, but I've lived with it my whole life so I'm kinda used to it.

Life is an adventure, right? An ongoing book, being written every day, without ever knowing when the end will be the last words to it. Seen and heard to many regrets from people over the years, just gotta do it.

Much love @thebigsweed. Now swallow your fear of planes, throw back some Jack D, smoke a J, and hop on a plane with @farm-mom and get your arse down here! lol.

Have I ever mentioned that you're also a funny dude?
Throw back some Jack D, smoke a J, who the heck would need a plane to fly?

If you can fly off of that, then save the airfare money and start flappin' bud!!!