FLYING SQUIRRELS ON THE HOMESTEAD!!!

in #homestead3 years ago

A CRAZY RUCKUS

Last night as Katie and I relaxed in the living room, with the front door open, we heard some crazy noises. It sounded like little baby raccoons screwing around.

We decided to investigate, and quickly upon leaving the front door we saw our cat, Prince, bouncing around and acting crazy twenty feet from the front door.

KIMG7409.JPG

UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION

We discovered that it had a small squirrel that it was playing with. We got a small bowl and caught it to investigate it because it did not look like a regular squirrel.

Looking at it it appeared to have flaps like a sugar glider or a flying squirrel. But living here my whole life, I never had any idea that we had flying squirrels. So I still wasn't sure what to think.

When I got up in the morning, I traveled the short distance it takes to get to service and looked it up. And sure enough flying squirrels live in Illinois where I live!!!

We let him go last night because it's the right thing to do and because I'm hoping that he will help to increase the population by having some babies with his girlfriend. But we didn't release him before we got a picture so that I could share with you all!

KIMG7547.JPG

He was the cutest thing ever, and we enjoyed our short time with him.



All pictures are my own, taking with my Kyocera Duraforce Pro 2.