HYDROELECTRIC UPDATE, SNAPPING TURTLE VISITOR, AND OUR TRACTOR COMES HOME!!!

in #homestead3 years ago

I THINK IT'S GOING TO WORK

KIMG7630.JPG

In a recent update I shared the beginning journey of turning a Hoverboard into a hydroelectric generator. I have worked a little more on it and am proud to announce we were able to get an idea of how much amperage it will be able to make.

THE TEST

To accomplish this, I drilled a small hole in the exact center of the outer hub.

KIMG7633.JPG

Then I put a screw into it and using a cordless drill I was able to spin the assembly really quickly.

KIMG7634.JPG

Then I hooked the motor up the the rectifier board and connected it to the charge controller. The results were pretty good...

KIMG7636.JPG

36 Volts, at 2 amps...not bad. And if i can get both motors from the board hooked up and running, I can double the amperage. I am wondering if i can hook them up in series and double the Voltage as well? I will be testing that, hopefully in the next days.

A SNAPPING TURTLE IN THE GARDEN!!!

Was it because she was looking for something to eat? Or possibly just passing through?...NOPE!!!

KIMG7639.JPG

So what was she up to? Well, she must think that our garden is an awesome hatchery, because she was busy laying her eggs!!!

KIMG7638.JPG

We didn't get to see her lay her eggs as we came by as she was busy burying the eggs. In about 80 or 90 days, the eggs will hatch. I hope we will get to see it happening!!!

KIMG7640.JPG

OUR TRACTOR COMES TO THE HOMESTEAD!!!

A few months ago I was able to buy an old Masey Ferguson using some of my Tezos. And today she got to come home!

KIMG7646.JPG

We got her loaded up on my buddy Matt's trailer and my son @evans-adventures got to snapping pictures.

KIMG7645.JPG


KIMG7643.JPG


KIMG7644.JPG

After the photo shoot, we got moving down the highway. And it went well... except for the seat blowing off and having to retrieve it.🤣😂

Upon arrival at the homestead, we unloaded her and gave her her first trip around the field...well, Evan did anyway, as he couldn't wait to drive it. Thank you bubba for being so awesome!!!

KIMG7651.JPG


Thanks everyone for swinging through and for all the support and love that is shared!!! You all are the best and keep us going!!!!🤗🤗




*All pictures are my own taken with my Kyocera Duraforce Pro 2.
Sort:  

How was it? Did it run well? You have another tool and I'm happy for you my friend. I really do enjoy working in lands and growing animals.

You have a very useful tool, I'm glad.
Best of all was the turtle, I hope we get to see the eggs. Regards