MORE HOMESTEAD HYDROELECTRIC TESTING

in #homestead3 years ago

TEST RUN WITH A BIKE

Lately I've been experimenting with using a couple of motors from a hoverboard to to make electricity. I am hopeful I will be able to incorporate them into a hydroelectric setup to help power our cabin.

KIMG7634.JPG

Before going through all the work to modify our spring and build everything for a hydro wheel I wanted to see what type of outfit I could get from these motors.

I began by building a simple frame to mount an old used bike in.

KIMG7671.JPG


KIMG7674.JPG


On the same board, I then built a spot to mount the motor to. I used a piece of the hoverboard, the same piece that held the wheel before, to hold the wheel in place now.

KIMG7678.JPG

I screwed everything in place, and hooked the wiring up to the rectifier board, and then into the charge controller. I got the bike mounted and contacting the wheel. When it was done it looked like this...

KIMG7680.JPG

A couple test spins using our hands revealed that it was outputting voltage, but we couldn't spend it fast enough to produce any average. So I had @evans-adventures jump on the bike and spin it with his legs.

KIMG7682.JPG

We got amperage this time, but just a little(0.1 Amps). So i got on the bike and after a couple tries, I was able to produce 36 volts and 3 Amps of current...but it took a lot of effort. However, I consider this a big victory, and now no that using it and the other motor from the hoverboard, I should be able to produce about 30 amps of voltage to the batteries after the charge controller. This is extremely exciting!

Stay tuned as I hope to start working on getting these motors set up in the spring to run 24 hours a day.