Knotilus Chickens ~ Welcome Home Baby Chicks

in #homestead2 years ago (edited)

Hi there!

Say... Which came first, the chickens or the coop? 😂
Answer? The baby chicks!

I put in an order with a breeder months ago for some fancy purebred chicks and haven’t completed the outside coop as of yet. It’s ok, since the chicks are so little they won’t need the outside coop for a while yet anyway.

The breeder called me when I was on my way to get them saying there was a problem with one of the chicks. One had been trapped inside her egg and was helped to get out. If you know anything about chickens you know this is a bad sign from the start. Generally being “helped” out of the egg means either the breeder wanted to speed up the process so that the chicks are all hatching in relatively the same time, or the chick has something wrong and could be a lot of trouble.

Knowing full well that this chick would be “culled” otherwise, I chose to take her at a discounted price and try and help her survive as best I could.

The breeder seemed honest, was kind, and really wanted to do all she could to give advice, and every option to make things right with me, including offering me a different chick once a new batch hatched, but my order was for two sexed Ameraucana hens and these two were all she had at the time, I was on my way and was already set on getting these two regardless. Maybe even more so knowing Sophia would probably not live to see another day if I didn’t take her.

So I present to you, Dorothy and little Sophia!

This is them on their way home when I first got them.

CA1DB607-CCBC-4FCB-A738-770FE3ED5589.jpeg

EFEB946A-9267-4ACA-9170-A61618C5A1A9.jpeg

From the start Sophia had wry neck, which is when the neck of the bird is turned or twisted. In Sophia’s case, it was just a slight tilt, and she was eating and drinking normally. She was relatively the same size as the other chicks so the wry neck was overlooked by the breeder until I was on the way to get her.

09FF61E8-3B69-4BDE-8413-3E8B981970AE.jpeg

I set the chicks up in a cat carrier to start, with a heat panel under them so they were cozy and warm.

The chicks were hatched on a Thursday/Friday and I picked them up on Monday so they were 3-4 days old when I got them.
Just teeny tiny babies!

I’m not advocating or criticizing chicken breeding. I did choose to purchase this time, but I think chickens being raised with a proper flock and a momma hen is definitely best and will be hesitant to get day/week old chicks in the future.

Plus only having two was not ideal. Generally chicks bunch together for warmth, or have a momma hen on top of them, so it was a little more difficult keeping them at optimal temperatures.

Sophia began to have more issues as the days went on including slightly splayed legs, which is when their legs are further apart then they should be, and some kind of weird spasm/seizure episodes that were quite worrisome. She was having some problems with one of her ears, she scratched so much on one side she cut herself open. For a while she had little interest in drinking water. It was a stressful couple weeks!

8C3E37CC-8861-4595-B9A2-E7D2976D1740.jpeg

7D9C604A-9916-4FF0-8A52-8C5DDEFB4128.jpeg

I sought advice from many sources and did everything I could to help Sophia and while I really thought we might lose her at several different times, I’m happy to say she’s kept on going and most of her issues are totally resolved!

I understand that most farmers and breeders would have culled her long ago. That some would think me foolish not just for accepting a wry neck chick, but for the effort given to her to help her survive. However, to me, she’s special, she’s worth it, and she has value. She’s become more important as I get to know her and both these chicks are very much part of the family already.

Dorothy is such a good big sister. She has been teaching Sophia how to be a chicken, doing all the chicken things and has been very gentle with her little sis. She is so independent and curious!

93046236-632B-44DA-AC7C-67E06A8697F8.jpeg

I call her Dorothy Explorothy because it suits her so well! She is adventurous, happy, good natured and very healthy.

I changed their set up a few times as they grew, from a cat carrier to a cardboard pen, to a small chicken house which is what they’re in now. They have toys, get treats and tons of attention!
Soon I’ll set them up in the greenhouse and they can acclimate to get ready to live outside.

8ECF9F44-35D5-4FB2-9EF1-42AEE41F18FC.jpeg

On a day when I thought we would probably have to say goodbye to Sophia, after she had taken a serious turn for the worse the day and night previous, I set them up outside since it was a sunny warm day. The wind was still brisk so I made every effort to keep it off my babes.

I figured if she was going to die or have to be euthanized, she at least deserved to enjoy the grass and sun before she left this earth.

CFC5B9B8-16E3-40EA-B9AB-400601381389.jpeg

It seemed to really help, because Sophia made a drastic recovery after that day, and has been getting stronger ever since!

She’s still half the size of her sister, but has continued to grow steadily in spite of her very rough start.

C735E40D-162C-4577-8581-9BC76DBCA753.jpeg

0C8893EB-B299-4EA3-B55B-4BC272C601E1.jpeg

I had over 5000 views on an Instagram reel I posted, and it’s no wonder, little Sophia is such a sweet and gentle soul, she melts my heart!

Check the link for what is possibly the cutest baby chick video ever!

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CddM4ZdoS9t/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Anyway, stay tuned for more updates on Dorothy and Sophia, and the building of their big girl coop in the next few weeks!

E67F614E-968D-4C63-8374-57233E12913F.jpeg

Dorothy!

4E2E7203-E9C8-4ADD-928C-96742EA4F3F9.jpeg

66BF324F-5AB3-4F78-9448-BB116FC3E7BE.jpeg

And little Sophia!

85A4E474-13A7-438E-AF88-1A87C93759F8.jpeg

9E52D06D-4302-4442-A9F4-49ACA09D8543.jpeg

Thanks for checking this out! Look for the hashtag #KnotilusChickens or #DorothyAndSophia for more!

Much love!
💕

The shop is officially open!
If you’re interested in helping a tiny business grow, pick out an item! ❤️

https://www.knotiluscreations.com

For more of my stuff click my linktree!

https://linktr.ee/KnotilusCreations

#KnotilusChickens #Chickens #DorothyAndSophia #BabyChicks
#Pets #PetChickens #Chicks
#KnotilusCreations #ThePaintingNook #Art #Garden #Homestead #Homesteading
#Artist #Create #Blogger #NewfoundlandArtist #Blog #Macrame #Art #Create #DIY #MakeYourOwn #TheNeoHippy #Bloggery #HandmadeWithLove #MadeInCanada #Artist #Painter #Jewellery #HandMade #Original #GoodMorning #Shop #SmallBusiness #ShopLocal #Handmade #ShopSmall #Steemit #Hive #HiveBlog #Bloggery #Patreon #Newfoundland
#ThePaintingNook #Painter #Artist #NewfoundlandArt #NewfoundlandArtist #Landscape #LandscapeArt #AcrylicPainter #Acrylics
#KnotilusCreations #Creating #Photography #Nature #NaturePhotography #Homesteading #Homesteader #Steemit #HiveBlog #Hive #Patreon #Crypto #Bloggery #LifestyleBlog #LifestyleBlogger #Art