Sort:  

Kind of envy you right now, for having sauerkraut already. I live it and we used to make some every year but our cabbages are not there yet.

What we have now is sommer cabbage, not good for sauerkraut. Those will ripe later, in September, October.

I'd recommend using horseradish. It's excellent for sauerkraut. You just cleaning it, cry a little bit as it's going to kill your eyes but worth it. 🙂

I also prefer the fall cabbages for sauerkraut, but I need to grow radish and napa cabbage in fall, so I just buy the ones for making sauerkraut.

Mine came up a little later than usual this spring, we had weird weather.

Horseradish sounds amazing. It's not really popular here except with fake wasabi, so I would have to really look for it.

Hopefully tomorrow I can post a garden update, I'll show you how big 😁 our cabbages are.

I'm sure they are growing well. The weather wasn't stable enough here.

It wasn't stable here either, but when is as nothing is as it should be anymore.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @k-banti and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

♡~ Thank You ~♡

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That's an awful lot of sauerkraut!! They will last a whole year?

Btw, you got a duplicate paragraph on your post

I'll try to make it last the entire year, but I will need discipline, haha.

Thanks for pointing that out. I tried to move it because it's a little weird where it was. I've moved a few things around now. This post has no logic, haha.

blame it on the sauerkraut

Impressive!!! Believe it or not, I have never made nor consumed sauerkraut! I have absolutely NO idea what it tastes like, but have a sneaky suspicion that I would really like it!

As for your garden.... greeeeen with envy here!!!

!tip

Thanks :)

I think you should try. It tastes sauer if made properly and I don't even add any acids. That's natural fermentation for ya.

I need to do some work in my garden, but it's been rainy so I don't spend long there.

It seems simple enough... and I would like to experience it first hand. Perhaps I should buy a small bottle for reference when I finish, so I know what it is SUPPOSED to taste like lol.

This side of the world has been pretty much the same... cold and wet... MEH!

Yeah, grab a small jar of the store stuff first so you can have a reference.

We are in monsoon season, but opposite of cold.

🎁 Hi @abitcoinskeptic! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I love Sauerkraut :)
Can you send me some? 😇

I should get into selling fermented foods. I have a ton of experience now.
But, if I ship it from here, the Koreans working at the post office will probably steal it, haha.

That looks like something I would like.

!tip

It's very delicious 😋

White/green cabbage makes the better sauerkraut something I am the only one in the family who enjoys it, so making is not an option I buy a bottle which I enjoy along with other pickles.

Well done on not only growing your own, but harvesting and preserving for future use!

!tip

Thanks. I'm also the only one who enjoys it in my home. More for me, haha.

I like lots of pickled foods.

Ahhh I love it! Yummm😍

I think more posts about making your own sauerkraut are necessary!! Sometimes they serve as reminders for those who want the nudge to make it. I love it with caraway seeds. Mum also does a red cabbage and apple one, and it's really nice with fennel too.

I hope more people start making their own food. It's important to know more about how our food is made.

I find the red one too sweet. I made a red cabbages and apple one last year, but it wasn't fermented, it was cooked.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank You Kindly!

This looks great and easy to prepare. Not sure I can get some of the ingredients around here, otherwise, I would have loved to try it out. I still think the salt is too much but that might just be me being skeptical.

I probably put in a little more salt than necessary. If I make it in winter, I use less. Also, if vinegar is added or it is eaten quickly, not as much salt is needed. Personally, I just like salt.

You don't need to apologize for not providing an exact recipe. It's an ongoing experiment in culinary exploration. You share how much salt you use per cabbage.

You also share the place you buy dill. I just made cucumber pickles and onion pickles. My mother-in-law grows a lot of vegetables and sends them to us. I used salt, italian seasoning and pepper corns and of course vinegar and a couple more spices. I think I added a little sugar. They are tasty but lack dill.

I will check out that iherb place when we run low. When costco first opened in Seoul we got a membership and bought a ton of stuff we didn't need. We didn't have our two boys back then. Now I find everything I want online. There was a time before internet shopping and before Costco and even before Lotte Mart. There was always namdaemoon but we didn't go there much. We used to buy what we wanted when visited the US and load up our suitcases with stuff I liked to eat from America. I can never see me doing that again.

Thanks for sharing your cabbages. I think I'm the only one in our house who will eat sauerkraut though. But yeah maybe they will learn.

Enjoy

Haha, I don't recommend anyone uses as much salt as I. In fact, if you eat it sooner or put it in the fridge soon, this is unnecessary.

To be honest, I bought the dill package in Canada at Walmart or one of the Canadian grocery stores. It's not really helpful. However, iherb is great because they deliver to Korea for free if you order like 50$ and they always have deals. They sell cosmetics and food so that's easy. In fact, they may have dill.

Costco is great. I do like shopping there actually. In fact, one big purchase on discount and it usually pays for the membership outright. Emart Traders is alright, too, but that can all be ordered online.

I remember going to those 'foreigner shops' in the big markets in Seoul. There was one near Shinchon I liked, and of course, Itaewon was easy mode. I even used to have a friend who worked at the US embassy and would get me stuff at the PX on Itaewon Base (I didn't even have to sign in when I was with him), and I was friends with soldiers who could help, too. Now there are a few global marts scattered around the countryside and of course, online is perfect.

Sauerkraut is basically baechu kimchi without the sugar. I call it yang baechu kimchi when I want to convince korean-minded folk to eat it.

Cool. A few years ago I wanted to take a red cross class on the base but lost my military connections.

I don't care about that much anymore. I get red cross training at our school now.

If I had to do it over I would have made more effort to keep my states drivers liscence up to date and keep a US bank account open. Everything was done with paper, pen and stamps. Today it's electronic and a whole lot easier.

Enjoy your weekend. I'll get out this morning before it gets too hot.

I think next time you go to the US, you should try to open a bank account and especially an investing account to work on 401k or whatever. I think as long as you are still filing US taxes (got that covid money), it's possible. Fortunately, I have close relatives who work in banks and as accountants in Canada, so it's easy for me.

I don't really know anyone well who lives on base anymore. Maybe I should reconnect with them. When I was doing scuba diving training, I had to take a CPR First AID class. I did it on base.
I was training with army medics and medical doctors who had just gotten back from doing missions in the deserts of the middle-east. Let's just say they aren't gentle when practicing and many have done it in real-life circumstances. Doing the CPR practice with them really built up a sweat and having it performed on you (practice) was quite nerve-wracking. They were talking about how many ribs they broke when doing it for real and saying things like the chances of survival increase if you break their sternum.
Alternatively, when I worked in a public school in Korea, I got a CPR/First aid certificate. We watched a 30-minute video and only several out of the hundred or so people getting their certificate went up on stage and hovered over dummies. They were doing what looked more like a Buddhist ritual than anything. After 5 minutes, we all clapped and got our certificates a week later. Actually, there was a lot of clapping and complaining about how it was necessary.
Both of these were considered renewal courses. I don't think I have to clarify which training was better. I hope the ones you do were better than what I did (I can't imagine it would be worse, lol). I highly recommend doing one training with the army if you get the chance. It's also cool to meet those people. I did it down in Osan where it was mostly airbase officers and not young army guys.

@abitcoinskeptic seriously it is looking very awesome , and cabbage is my favourite vegitable. But I have seen your cabbage size is very big I was like 😮 . We have small size cabbage here in India. But it's is looking very yummy 😋.

I think cabbage doesn't grow as well in hot weather. It was actually a little smaller here because it got really hot in early (31C) June which is not common.