First Frost of the Season ❄️ - Got Egg (Plant) on my Face! 🍆

in #homesteading3 years ago (edited)

Yesterday marked our first frost which I worked to prepare for alas it was not enough for our eggplant. 😔

first frost.gif

Even so, our plants have yielded some fruit but could have probably matured a bit more had I learned what I know now. The mistake was thinking that a light fabric covering was sufficient. Had I coupled that with a plastic covering, the plants may have fared better. It was a loss but not a TOTAL LOSS. Especially because we learned something!


img_0.5887422605367943.jpg
The fabric covering I had used

A few bullet points from this experience:

  • Use both plastic and fabric covering on frost sensitive plants
  • Using plastic covering on ground plant seemed ineffective (banana tree) while covering in potted plants seemed to work (spare one eggplant)
  • Found plastic covering on ginger and Carolina Reaper came loose but seemed to survive, thankfully.
  • Everything I placed in our Wally World greenhouse survived! It may be cheap and blows away in the slightest wind but sure gets the job done in a pinch!

img_0.9636334283766009.jpg

Here's the link if interested. Not terrible for $79 but if you had the right material could probably put together something much more sturdy with PVC pipe.

Gardman Green 75 in. H x 49 in. W Walk-In Greenhouse


Anyways, I am glad that I was able to save most of our plants. This homesteading / gardening business can be a lot of work but it's great to become more self-sufficient.

Thanks for checking out my post!

Sort:  

Thinking we gonna make either eggplant pizza or eggplant parmesan. 😋

Any other suggestions?