A Very Busy Day - April 13, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

New East - mock orange planted crop April 2021.jpg

On Tuesday it was warm enough early so I got out there and started planting. The first thing was to get the mock orange into the New East garden.

New South - hollyhocks planted crop April 2021.jpg

Then I got the 2 hollyhocks into the New South garden under the roundtop window.

New South - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

Then I started planting pansies, these are the New South garden. I didn’t put too many here as they aren’t fond of full sun in summer.

New South - 2 weeks old crop April 2021.jpg

I put in some stepping stones next. This is the New South garden at 2 weeks old. All those plants that were tiny green or sticks are growing.

New West - part planted crop April 2021.jpg

This is the New West garden and outside of bulbs, I’ve not figured out what to plant here. I dug up more white iris and put that along the foundation. Beyond it are giant allium.

I got another pot of bulbs out of the Area #1. It was labeled chiondoxa sardensis but the foliage looks an awful lot like wood hyacinth. There had been nothing at the end of the daffodils, so I put 2 clumps in. Behind them went pansies. This garden got compost last year, so none on it. In the back, under a window I put the scented pink dianthus.

Old South - new part planted crop April 2021.jpg

In the new part of the South garden I finally got the hens & chicks out of the windowbox. I had a tiny sedum in a pot and planted that too. And a few pansies went in. This garden also had compost last year.

South - grape hyacinths and hollyhocks crop April 2021.jpg

The survivors in the South garden:
Top, l – r: 3 wood hyacinths, a possible crocus, grape hyacinth
Bottom, l- r: hollyhock, 2 wood hyacinth, grape hyacinth, hollyhock, wood hyacinth

I you look carefully on the left side you will see a mint plant, I’ve forgotten if it is peppermint or chocolate mint.

East of Steps - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

I put a few pansies in the East of Steps garden.

West of Steps - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

And a few more in the West of Steps garden.

New East - 8 days old crop April 2021.jpg

I put 3 pansies in the New East garden. It is 8 days old and look what has grown!

Back Porch - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

I put a lot of pansies in the Back Porch garden as it is east facing. I also set a package of sweet peas, the scented kind, to soak and will plant those on Wednesday.

East Shed - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

Several more pansies went into the East Shed garden. It’s really starting to fill in now.

Old North - pansies planted crop April 2021.jpg

I put several pansies in the Old North garden. The bloodroot has started to flower. It was just tips when I worked on it on Sunday.

The New North got the remaining bulbs from that mystery pot.

South Herb - violets crop April 2021.jpg

The South Herb garden has quite a few violets growing in it under the Russian tarragon.

Lesser celandine crop April 2021.jpg

Out behind the woodshed the lesser celandine is making a bright show.

First Dandelions crop April 2021.jpg

The first dandelions opened up on Tuesday also.

Cold frame set up crop April 2021.jpg

Next I cleaned out the cold frames and set one up. I had the carpenter make a couple minor repairs to them. Then I put the herbs and vegetables I’d bought inside.

My son had arrived by then and was splitting wood. Then he moved onto clearing the north side fence of the front pasture.

Clean screens by the dozens crop April 2021.jpg

I set to washing well over a couple dozen screens as it had gotten warm enough to be wet. (I always get wet.) This isn’t all of them, just the smaller ones. They had to be ready for window washing on Friday.

I was exhausted by the time I finished this. (Ya think?)

Wednesday my intern is here with her sister and we are cleaning out haylofts in a local barn for the mulch hay. I had the mechanic take the plow off the truck yesterday, a sure way to make sure we get snow on the weekend…

That ought to do me in for Wednesday….

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 6000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow! That’s a lot of work but your garden is looking very nice! Flowers are going to make a good show soon!