Another Garden Cleaned Out - April 9, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Old North - before crop April 2021.jpg

This Old North garden got a little attention last year. It was hit by the construction and my helper friend and I had put the edging back around it. I may have cleaned out some of the old plant mess. But there was a lot of roofing and nails in this still. As it is on the north side of the house, not much had come up very much yet.

Old North - after1 crop April 2021.jpg

I cleaned it out and at the bottom of the photo there had been an old white gas tank from 2002 on. That’s when we got the gas cook stove. The lily of the valley from the next garden had crept in around the base of the tank. So I put a piece of edging in to discourage it.

Old North - after 2 crop April 2021.jpg

On the left, there had always been lily of the valley under the downspout. So I dug up the creeping ones and put them into that area. Next to the downspout is the only remaining bit of lesser celandine.

I had a marker indicating I’d planted American ginger but there was no sign of it. In front it looked like some of the astible had survived. In the center, there was a large mat of bloodroot coming up.

In front of the stone by the stake, Sweet William had survived. Down behind the stake is a tiny feverfew. Next to that is the marshmallow. In front of these 2, I found something coming up but the marker was gone. That was all I found.

I went looking for plants for this low light garden. Many that had been here had gone into the New East garden. I found the pots of hybrid spiderwort and brought 1 of those over. It’s on the far right.

Then I remembered the plants from the New North garden I’d planted behind the woodshed, and that made me remember what the other plant was. It was the red trillium from the New North garden and it looked to be doing very well. I would leave it and bring the other plants to this garden.

West Shed - compost on crop April 2021.jpg

Just as I’d figured that out, the carpenter came out. He had 20 minutes left and I’d asked him to bring wheelbarrows full of compost around the house for me. So we started doing that. We did the West Shed garden first as it was easiest.

East Shed - compost on crop April 2021.jpg

Then we did the East Shed garden.

New East - compost on crop April 2021.jpg

The New East was next. I had gotten the FlowerTone down in the first 2 gardens but not this one. We have rain coming on Sunday but I didn’t have time to put it down in this garden if I wanted the carpenter’s help moving compost. I will have to put it down on top on Saturday.

Back Porch garden - compost on crop April 2021.jpg

I also got the little Back Porch garden done.

North Corner - before crop April 2021.jpg

I went back to what I’d been doing at the Old North garden but was too tired to finish. So Saturday I will finish planting that garden, perhaps get compost on it, and then tackle this adjoining North Corner garden. I probably won’t finish this, just get it enough cleaned out so I can plant more bulbs.

Sort:  

Good Morning @goldrenoakfarm, you have been busy, wow. The gardens are looking good.
There's so much to do in the Spring as far as clean up. I started just a few days ago working my perennial flowers beds. My daffodils are starting to bloom , clipped a few to brighten up my kitchen.
Such a gorgeous yellow color.
Try not to over do it, as I always seem to, we call it over farming. @thebigsweed and I try to remind each other of not doing that. When you come in at the end of the day and your arms and back ache, you know you have over farmed.
Can't help myself, there's just so much to do. But I love it!!! I guess I am glutton for those aches and pain.🙄

Me too!

Ahh, exciting, I love all your border gardens. Can't wait to see all the plants coming up!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!