Around the Farm - April 17, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Stuck window crop April 2021.jpg

It was going to be too cold to do the outside work on the windows. So I decided to finish the inside work and leave the outside ones until a later date when it was warm in the mornings.

We started with these 2 windows and the one on the right came out fine. But the left one wouldn’t even go up. So the carpenter will have to fix it on Monday.

Trashed office crop April 2021.jpg

We made another record and got 12 windows, 4 of them big ones, done on Saturday. The house looks like a tornado hit it, but the windows are clean and I have screens for when it gets hot. I did excavate my husband's chair and put my computer table back together. Important things, you see…

Rhododendron at barn1 crop April 2021.jpg

I could see this rhododendron from the house and it reminded me I had not gotten photos of my little peach tree’s flowers. So I got this photo of this shrub. It was a wedding present in 1987 when we got married. This is one of 2 and has done really well here.

Rhododendron at barn2 crop April 2021.jpg

This is the other one, about 10’ away to the west. It is a lot less protected and has also had to deal with snow coming off the roof in large amounts. The other shrub had the bay window roof and the shelter roof to break up the snow coming off. I will have to get one of the guys to cut this tree down. It’s grown a lot in the 2 years I’ve not been able to stay on top of things.

Flowering tree crop April 2021.jpg

When I was up at the barn, I noticed a flowering tree out behind the barn when I went to take a picture of the back 40. Not sure what it is, my husband would have known…

Back 40 crop April 2021.jpg

This is the back 40. I see the deer out here several times a week, either in the morning or at night. Once we saw them at lunch time.

Dennis crop1 crop April 2021.jpg

This is Dennis the Girl, one of the barn cats. She was curled up by the dead lawnmower. She was still there in the evening when I went up to do chores.

Little Trees - Contender peach flowers1 crop April 2021.jpg

So, little peach tree’s flowers. It’s a Contender peach and is the first of the little trees to flower this year.

Little Trees - Contender peach flowers2 crop April 2021.jpg

The flowers seem to have survived the low temps and snow just fine.

New Herb - Row 1, wormwood crop April 2021.jpg

I walked down the row of little trees to see how they were coming along, and then around the New Herb garden.

The woad I planted 2 years ago has gone crazy, huge foliage already, but not interesting so no photo. But I was delighted to see the expensive little Artemisia pontica (Roman Wormwood) had survived and thrived in Row 1. It has several little ones off the sides.

New Herb - Row 2, heartsease crop April 2021.jpg

There were several places that heartsease had come up, usually in the walkways. This one was Row 2.

South Herb - flowering almond crop April 2021.jpg

As I went by the South Herb garden, I saw 1 or 2 of the flowers had opened.

South Herb - flowering almond buds crop April 2021.jpg

So I took a close up, as well as the camera would let me.

East lilacs - buds crop April 2021.jpg

It looks like the East lilacs will be flowering by May 9th, our anniversary….

House from barn crop April 2021.jpg

This is from the parking area, looking across the middle pasture.

House and yard in early spring1 crop March 2016.jpg

This was March 2016. It looks a lot different with all the trees gone now and the addition. Sometimes I wish we’d never started this project, left things as they were, kept life as it was….

Sort:  

I absolutely love those wooden floors. Are they maple? The peach tree's flowers are gorgeous just as those Roman Wormwood. There doesn't seem to be much of a difference between 2016 and today except for the additional structure. It still looks homey to me. You shouldn't think that. It's what he wanted and at least before he said goodbye he got to work in the changes. I'm sure he was happy with that.

The floors are soft pine.

The big difference is there are no trees, except fruit by the garden. We had a LOT of trees, very big ones, taken down in 2019 for the construction.

Some days, I'm not sure it's what he wanted, or what I wanted...

The house is getting into very cozy atmosphere! Lovely spring flowers.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!